August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Second Defense

by Super Hamster - Jam Entry

Ten Second Defense is a tower defense game that is very fun. There is a 10 second time game in between waves on normal mode and a once every 10 seconds shooting tower. Try to beat the game. Due to not having enough time, levels weren't properly made and some enemies too but hopefully we can fix that quickly. All feedback is welcome and the more the better. Stuff like towers should be cheaper, less powerful, enemies are too hard would be very nice to know.

To clarify where the theme comes in, it comes in the break time between waves. So as soon as the whole wave comes out, the timer begins. And there is a 10 second pause.(Different modes have different pauses). Also, there is the godly tower that only shoots once every 10 seconds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#435Fun(Jam)2.55
#456Humor(Jam)1.70
#512Audio(Jam)1.41
#533Mood(Jam)2.00
#556Overall(Jam)2.49
#567Theme(Jam)2.19
#577Graphics(Jam)2.00
#582Innovation(Jam)2.05

Comments

epicchewy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:42am

this game is awesome!

imef says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Nice little tower defence. I'm not sore where the 10 seconds come in (length a wave?).

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Fun tower defense game :D

olafurw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:15am

Not sure where the 10 seconds come it. The colors are very off putting but the general mechanics work pretty fine.

ghostmaple says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:01am

Nice. I like the spastic way the basic enemies run around. A little tough to get started, and could use a countdown or warning when the game/wave starts.

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:23am

Thanks you ghostmaple. I plan on making an extended version of this game so I will put your feedback on my list of stuff to do. :O

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:16am

Nicely implemented tower defense game. Is it only me or are the enemies way too fast? Even on EZ and when I build a slow cannon first, I don't have enough time to place more towers before the game is over.

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:18am

ZYXer, or anybody else, are you talking about the time before there are enemies or when there actually are enemies and they move too fast?

dumasflo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:02am

Not very original but nice job anyway :)
PS: "Time for dinner :)" haha x)

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:59am

I had a hard time clearing out all of the enemies at first, but I suck at tower defense. I had more success when I stared using the cannon that slows them down. Cool project.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:52am

Contrast on the tower selection screen was bad. I had a lot of difficulty reading the costs and what they were.

There is no initial setup time :( It starts so fast!
The 50$ towers never seemed to be able tok ill much of anything, even if I placed a lot.

Interesting concept, but could use some more balancing/polish

phi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:22am

Not very intuitive. And quite hard. I think I'm doing it wrong. I just like to nuke everything.

A little bit clearer information about what's going on would be nice.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:37am

Nice the tower defense game :)

Laelien says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Good game overall ! The difficulty is a little unbalanced, it's difficult to get it started, but once it's done, you're basically unstoppable. The game's currently playing on its own in here, and enemies can't get past the first turn. Plus the colors are a little... say... aggressive.
But very good job overall !

Laelien says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Twenty minutes later, the whole map is covered in Godly Towers :D

Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:49am

Great tower defense!
The base health doesn't seem to be displaying most of the time, though.

wally2069 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Enemies both spawn and move way too fast. Although I understand they travel the paths in about ten seconds, it was not very fun to try to keep up with them.

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:18am

Nice Game, but I had a lot of trouble in the first levels. At the beginning it is very hard, and you don't understand what's going on. The game even don't tell you when you lost, it just starts over again. After many tries I found out that the Ring tower is the way to go. It is cheap and some kind of overpowered. Once I setup my towers there is no real challange anymore. All waves are killed automatically whithout anything for me to do. At level 2.13 the game crashed.
Keep on balancing the game to make it even more fun!

AlexFili says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Seems like a fairly enjoyable Tower Defense game. The way the creeps move is quite cool and I like the variety of things you can build. Overall a pretty good game

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:35pm

It just goes to show that you don't need suave pixels to make a good game.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:16am

Very fun but hard tower defense game, great job! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]