August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Seconds To Space

by Arcana - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game description: The Insects have found Earth again. This time, earth's prepared for the invasion and has the ability to launch a ship with their top Captain to space in ten seconds.

Move with WSAD, aim with the mouse, shoot with Left Shift or Space (and quite possibly the Mouse Button works now too since it was a minor fix). Select your weapon type with 1 or 2. (Oddly enough, you'll notice that your shots go faster the farther away the mouse is from the player). (There's a secret weapon 3 but I didn't really test it so effects are random!)

Yes, the game ends (it's not unlimited waves) but I haven't actually succeeded at it so it's kind of untested. Hope it works.

Background:

This is my second Ludum Dare entry!

I, again, decided to compete last minute and said, "I'm going to devote three hours to this because I'm really busy." So it turns out that about 15 or so hours later I'm submitting what I have, in its immature, unpolished glory, because I was travelling and couldn't put the full 48 hours to this.

As much as I would have wanted to make the gameplay more interesting, I was unfortunately very time-limited, so it's unfortunately rather sparse gameplay wise. I spent most of my time on assets this time around (made all of the artwork and all of the music and sound effects). However, I learned a lot about assets and style and about what things need to be done for game-making in the future.

I uploaded a Mac OS X app bundle here and a Windows bundle, but I really haven't tested anything as much as I would have liked so there might be problems. Please let me know if there are any issues!

Stealth update: I found out that enemy spawning wasn't working properly (I had my greater and less-than signs messed up!) so I fixed that up. There was also a problem with the game's "Retry? (Y/N)" prompt so I fixed that up too.

After a few days report: I think I'm probably most proud of the music (I like the game loop the best). I'm also reasonably happy with the artwork (quantity, not quality!). I'm not an artist and doing so many pictures in such a tiny amount of time for me is a pretty big thing. I spent a lot of time on the assets.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#225Audio3.14
#491Humor2.33
#521Graphics2.94
#863Mood2.32
#943Overall2.63
#960Fun2.39
#1162Innovation1.83
#1178Theme1.67

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Not particularly on topic :)

Nice little game. I would've preferred fire on the mouse button instead of shift.

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:42am

Really like the unique art style in the opening story. I agree, it would have been nice to have gun 1 on left mouse button and gun 2 on right mouse button. I think my high score was 158.

Arcana says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:44pm

I do apologize for the mouse button thing. I didn't test with a mouse and was using the laptop trackpad, so it didn't even occur to me (as it's impossible to hold and move with the trackpad!)

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:46am

simple yet very fun :D

ramoncb says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:55am

I like the game!

maybe a option to shoot with the mouse would give the game a more fast pace
(sorry my bad english xD)

Malactus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:33am

Gets pretty challenging after 15 seconds. Quick yes,
Unfortunately I do not see it particularly on theme, except at the start, which feels a bit restrictive as you do cant really do anything in those 10 seconds :P

I like the style of the watercolor styled background, and the music and sounds are decent

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:41am

Awesome concept to use combat for for music!
The enemies are spawning very close to me even in the center of the map, though. I am afraid of moving around because an enemy would spawn right next to me and instantly kill me.
The cutscene system looks great, and the main game's art style is very very good.
Definitely top marks for audio! Great job!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:02am

I liked the handrawn unique art a lot. But was a little disappointed in the gameplay :/

koe415 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:48am

The sound design is awesome on this game. From the small things like the keyboard strokes when you hit an insect to that great main menu theme, it's very solid all around. The game itself is pretty difficult after the first few seconds. I think removing the random spawning right next to the player would help ease the difficulty. Otherwise, very impressive what was accomplished in only a few hours!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:00am

I am guessing the use of the theme is the rocket launch in the intro. Game is kind of interesting but enemies spawning very close to you make it difficult to play for long. Like the music.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Its simplistic, but great fun!
I totally love the doodly art style to it.

Great job!

Arcana says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Yeah I would have liked to put more "theme" into it. Initially I wanted to make your shots and the music fit into a 10-second loop, but I wasn't able to figure out how to make the timings tight enough so that they would synchronize properly.

Sorry about the enemies spawning. I was aware of this on submission but didn't have time to fix it.

loxo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:30pm

I like the art style, the music and the sound effects. But the game fits the theme only vaguely.

berkano says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Refreshing to see some hand-drawn (painted?) gfx and nice music!

Kharza says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Love the cute intro!

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:48am

Fun and easy to get into, and the art style is good, but as others have said, your usage of theme was cursory at best.

AidanAK47 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:44pm

The random spawning in the middle of the screen really killed it for me. It makes the game more about luck than anything else. Also having the enemies disappear when you hit them is pretty unsatisfying. It would be preferable if there was a small explosion or something. It makes it look better and feels better.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 2:37am

Cute little game with good audio too it, the sound effects mix with the music rather well. Though the enemies usually spawn too close to the center usually resulting in them ramming me with no time to react. Best I got was about 530 points or so.

-AlucardX60

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]