August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Dragon Feeder

by Wertle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a simple physics game. Place objects on the screen to help guide food to the baby dragon. You can only place one object per second, though! There are 5 levels.

Don't forget: right click an object to rotate it

Made with Construct 2

Known bugs:
- In the replay, sometimes the objects won't all show up.
- If you try to rotate an object over the tool bar, it may get stuck. Retry the level or move it back to the toolbar and grab a different object
- If you run out of time in a level but the ball somehow still gets to the dragon afterwards, it will count as a success

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#35Theme4.00
#75Fun3.66
#112Innovation3.72
#122Humor3.31
#186Mood3.30
#212Overall3.45
#302Audio2.98
#446Graphics3.06

Comments

Jhelle says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Loved the adorable dragon and gameplay. Also a very interesting take on the theme. Good job :)

garygreen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:56am

Nice game. I liked the way you interpreted the theme and the dragon is a great little character too. :-)

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Pretty nice game! Loving the dragon's expressions! :D

Liz England says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38pm

This game is absolutely adorable! I love that you turned the countdown timer into more turn-based game rather than a twitch-based one.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:28am

Really fun, reminds me of The Incredible Machine =D

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:00am

What does a dragon eat? Fun game!

LoneStranger says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:02am

Perfect. I love the idea. It's a unique mechanic. Love the graphic style. Had a few bugs, but they're forgivable.

devi ever says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:49am

Super cool. I really love this idea. Would be cool to see it expanded with some better graphics and polish. :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:52am

Cute game, I like the mechanics. Feel like the Incredible Machines gameplay. Great work!

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:10am

Very cute. You get points for humor!

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:43am

THAT.WAS.AWESOME.
First, this dragon is the cutest thing since cute.
Second, the music is catchy as hell.
Third, the sound make it perfect.
Fourth, I hate your level three.

Anyway, you've done an amazing job here. One of my favourite so far. Keep going !

andreyin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:17pm

That's a great concept! Works pretty nicely. IMO you should think about turning this into a full-fledged game!

Also there's a way to rotate the objects by clicking them in certain points in C2, here's an example .capx
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2383513/linkedOUT/PhysicsGame.capx

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:17pm

This game is fantastic :) I played it through 5 times doing different things each time.

andreyin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Oh, I also found a bug; if I keep dragging the objects out of the bar using both the left and right mouse buttons, I can select as many objects as I want before going forward.

Cheers!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:49pm

This is one of the most interesting games I've played so far, really enjoyed it!

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Thanks for the comments all!

@andreyin - thanks for the tips, I definitely want to work more on this and wanted to figure out a good way to do rotation for touch interface. Will check out your .capx once I update Construct to the latest version ;)

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:22pm

the dragon animations are wonderful. there's a few bugs but this is a fun game, good stuff.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:15pm

That was excellent! I really like these styles of games, and this was a particularly clever one. Additionally the graphics and sound are adorable.

There is a bug at level 3. If I click to skip the demonstration, it just hangs and I have to reset the level. This was obviously frustrating to no end.

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Pretty neat. I ran into a few bugs... mostly when trying to skip the level's demo. I still beat it and enjoyed it. Nice idea, and cool dragon.

I hope you keep working on it.

Drachlen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:48am

I really love physics games like these, and your use of the theme is really great! I'd love to play this on mobile/tablet! Good work

blackhornet says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:14am

Well done.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:57am

Very fun puzzles! Very cute art, loved it!

JasonG says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:19am

Theme is done in excellent fashion. Really wish I thought of something like this for the theme as opposed to a continuous clock. Great use of the theme outside of the obvious.

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:35pm

It was very nice, just not my type of game :) Still, grading it high for innovation, extra cuteness points and efforts to fit the theme.

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:40pm

The hand-drawn/MS-Paint feel of everything was really cool. The gameplay reminded me a lot of the Incredible Machine games. Definitely a fun entry.

Sephiroth87 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Really cute graphics :)

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:58am

Lovely game! The dragon is so cute. The puzzles were interesting and fun.

M.O.U says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Good game! the art need some work, but the game work perfect and have a very good gameplay!

canvapps says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Interesting concept! I liked the dragon's expressions and how you guide the food indirectly to the lovely dragon. Would be nice to see this game with polished graphics and physics :)

asc3nsion says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:44am

This is a fun game but the controls are kind of slow.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Found the game sort of hard, love the dragon, its sooo cute! I featured it in my LD27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/FJWNdgd85u0

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:43am

The controls really killed it, they were unresponsive and frequently got stuck. At one point I had to restart because the play button was stuck disabled.

Ossi says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:22am

Interesting use of the theme and a really cute premise with the dragon. I wish some of the art reflected the art style of the dragon though. Well done!

savethejets1 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:00am

Really like the graphics; Simple but effective.

The dragon sad-face is priceless

Soundless_dev says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 6:56am

this is literally the glitchiest game evar but
THE DRAGON IS SO FRIGGIN CUTE I CAN'T EVEN HANDLE IT:3
you should do a post compo version and polish this. The concept was awesome and I still can't get over the dragon's adorableness.

smash ball says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:03pm

My ball magically flew around in the wind level, and just happened to go to the dragon. I really enjoyed the game.

DuFF says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Great idea and good execution. Can definitely see this as a bigger game.

Keith Evans says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:53pm

I love the cute little dragon. Nice Game :)

justi says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Lovely dragon character, good idea wit adding elements and simulating dynamics. Game is interesting but little hard. In some cases rotating not work properly, will be nice if added element could be moved in next seconds (steps).

loxo says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Nice physics puzzle game, a mix of the incredible machine and cut the rope. I like the hand drawn dragon, but would like to see this game with some more polished graphics.

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:10am

Really nice game but it still seems a bit glitchy.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]