August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nelumbo

by Darklotus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as a small flame with the ability to illuminate the area brightly for only 10 seconds total. Find your way to the end of the maze before running out of time.
Fall off the path at your own demise.

Levels are randomly generated.

Started the idea very late, so not a huge amount of detail is in place, first LD I've managed to get something submitted though.

UI Could do with allot of work, and the game could do with a menu plus a way to choose which maze to spawn as well as access to the maze generator properties.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#612Innovation2.88
#706Audio2.25
#735Graphics2.59
#752Theme2.94
#841Overall2.76
#890Fun2.50
#981Mood2.07
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Good job with the random level generation, its a fun game even though I am terrible at it

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Nice game. Appropriate music also and it seems like a very good random level generator.

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:12am

game crashed after I died the second time. :/

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Nice game!

mollymus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:07am

I like the idea and the execution, but unfortunately the game killed my browser, and my PC, when I died the second time:< Still came back to try it some more though, so thats a good sign!^_^

xel says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:05am

Great concept. Love that the levels are randomly generated. My browser crashed after a few restarts as well.

Darklotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:51am

AH your right guys, bit of a bug occurs after a few resets, not everything is being unloaded on reset. Thanks for the bug reports and the kind words. Means a lot.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Nice job! I've seen similar ideas several times, but never with randomly generated levels.

Also, if it's supposed to function as a memory game (i.e. - see the level, then navigate it in the dark), then I think it might work better if the camera were stationary rather than following the player. With the camera moving it's very hard to tell how far or fast you are moving

truiton says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:56pm

The game crashed after my second death. Altough the randomly generated level is a nice idea ^^

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Hmm, idea is very good and quite similar to the main theme of my game :) But you should repair the bug, when I died 2nd time, UWP has crashed and my browser had a very big memory leak :) Check it! I want to play your game, so I will try come back here when you fix it :)

doonay21 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Nice game! I enjoyed playing it so much :) Good job!

Mizzinx says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Really cool and quirky game, with great atmosphere and minimalist aesthetic.

I think what I enjoyed most was illuminating the entire screen by holding down space; even though it's a really simple scene, the few seconds spent watching darkness subside felt really awesome.

I think the biggest flaw is how quickly the light disappears when you let go of space. It's so jarring, especially when compared to the smoothness in the movement and illumination mechanics. I really do think this was a missed opportunity, because seeing the light fade away slowly would probably be as cool as watching it flare up.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]