August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sacrebleu!

by Liz England - Jam Entry

Dis game iz zee story of a duel in France. Zee challenger iz wounded and, unable to finish, callz upon hiz second to fight for hiz honour. Eet iz a fiction of zee interactive sort, no? You must play eet all to see zee ending, oui. Bon appetite!

Zee team apologizez to zee French, zee 'istorianz, and zee French, again, for zee inaccuracees in dis game.

Credits:
Writing by Liz England
Art by Erich Meyr
Created in Twine
Download includes the Twine source file

If the game is too small or too large on your screen, most browsers have a hotkey to zoom in or out. CRTL+ or CTRL- often works for this.

Please do not use your browser's refresh or back buttons. It may cause minor, mostly cosmetic, errors.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#18Humor(Jam)4.00
#63Theme(Jam)3.65
#124Mood(Jam)3.38
#125Innovation(Jam)3.39
#158Overall(Jam)3.41
#191Fun(Jam)3.17
#255Graphics(Jam)3.42
#470Audio(Jam)1.95

Comments

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35pm

great fun, and really good writing and programming! it gets a little repetitive over time, but i still had a good time with all the duels.

i ran into an error, however. in Zee Charcutier's fight, when he either waves the sausages or attacks i choosed to attack but got the other one. it seems you've mixed up the links, because when i tried it again and choose the sausages i attacked.

Wertle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:53pm

The writing is hilarious! I love the interpretation of the theme as well.

Liz England says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:37am

withoutpillow - thanks for the catch, all fixed now. And thanks for playing!

madk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:46am

Ha, those dudes are awesome. I love what you've done with the theme! One of my favorite entries by far.

"Gentlemen," zee Courtesan sayz, "I charge for zee viewing!" A dozen coinz fly into zee cloearing.

Zee baguette hitz zee villain's side! If eet were a rapier, zee villain would be awash in blood. But eet iz not. Eet iz a baguette.

"Estoy aburrido y quiero luchar. Es simple, no?" Zee Monsieur doez not understand. Zee Spaniard iz impatient to fight.

Zee Marquis goez into a defenseeve stance! He wavez hiz sword slowly, dramatically in front of him and movez hiz feet like a danze. But dis iz no danze, dis iz a duel. Zee Marquis lookz silly.

Oh dear god, my sides.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:03am

The writing is hilarious but also a bit tiring over time. I really like the overall graphic look and feel of the game and the point that you actually catche the eye with the interpretation of "10 seconds"!

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Adored your interpretation of the theme. Also, as someone who has just recently started using Twine, holy crap that is some awesome work with the interface. Super-impressed. Had a blast playing it.

TomSmizzle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Oh this is brilliant. I keep belly laughing at the writing.

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Great entry. The Spaniard's story is the best!

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Zut alors! Smartly written and plotted, this must have been a lot of fun to write and that enjoyment is infectious - I had a blast reading it.

blackotus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Good writing and a great way to use the theme avoiding any relation with the time units!

It does get a little repetitive, but the writing makes up for it. Also, reading with a french accent is almost a feature ;P

Nice job!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Great writing. Also the first game Ive played of its kind so far. Good job! :D

motty says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:28am

Perfectly executed silliness.

Tiniest of tiny quibbles - with that much reading being a key part of the game the font of the body text combined with the exaggerated French accent becomes tiring to read after a while.

But overall, really great stuff (and I didn't know you could mess with the look of Twine games quite *that* much.. wow :) *plots, schemes, etc*)

Liz England says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:44am

Yeah, the length - of each passage as well as the whole thing together - is a pretty valid criticism, as well as repetitiveness. There's a lot I'd change about it - I think I'll write a postmortem in a couple days - but it's a big improvement over previous Twine projects of mine.

motty, Twine is just a glorified web page generator with an intuitive interface for the hyperlinks. So the look of a Twine game can be completely modified the same way you'd modify a website. I could make it look like (not act like) Twitter or Gmail if I were so inclined :)

Gremlin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Best use of theme. Ever.

odeckers says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Funny, but gets a little repetitive

jujule says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Great writing, great graphic design. But in my opinion, zee bastard should be drinking Cognac.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:23am

Great use of twine and graphics. I like it and gets me inspired!

pereubu says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:34am

omfg, dis is zee best text game I ever played.
awesome writing, this kind of ideas need a full game to be develloped D:

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Wish it had some actual gameplay, as opposed to excellent writing, but, on the other hand, it did have excellent writing! Please make more games.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:13am

oh god the accent is brilliant

dylanwolf says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:03am

I like the different take on "10 seconds." The concept is really funny, though the amount of text in parody French accent is a bit tough to get through.

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Really well written, very funny. Great portrait art too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]