August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Last words

by frankbsad - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about the last 10 seconds of peoples lives.

You're over seeing executions and are tasked with recording their last words.

There's no sound, I didn't get as much time to work on this as I wanted to but oh well.

I recommend you play the windows version, the web one runs a little slow for some reason.

Made in gamemaker.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Mood4.08
#28Theme4.03
#42Innovation3.95
#158Graphics3.66
#289Overall3.34
#592Humor2.18
#890Fun2.50
#982Audio1.24
#1129Coolness49%

Comments

Zeno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:27am

It "crashed" after I exited. Doesn't really matter I guess, but thought I'd let you know.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29am

It crashed on me the first time through (web version), but I refreshed and it worked, just thought I'd let you know. Anyway, I really liked this entry. The aesthetics were awesome.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32am

The concept and art are excellent here. I love the concept and the level of detail. You usage of my personal sense of responsibility as a motivator is the kind of thing that I want to see more of.

I do really wish that the last words were sound though. Since it was literally impossible for me to interpret what was being said, I didn't feel as responsible for getting it wrong as I would have. The information has to be somewhere, just difficult to the point where most people won't get it.

(BTW, you may want to look at my last LD game: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=22819)

zzForrest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33am

This game is extremely innovative. Innovative, but not fun. Not fun at all. This game is just way too hard. I basically ended up just frantically typing random letters for 10 seconds. Nice execution of the theme, it makes a very good mood, but audio is no where to be found. Overall 3/5.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38am

I'm giving you a 3 for humor because of the spaghetti man. (Nothing else was humorous)

I would have played more if the restart buttons worked.

Definitely a cool idea, and it seems like you can keep typing after the 10 seconds are up, so it's not totally frantic.

isharacomix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56am

This was pretty brilliant. Not particularly fun as a "game", but as a piece of interactive art, it's stellar! Great interpretation of the theme, and excellent retro-style graphics! :)

FatBasic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30am

Well done!

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:13am

Very cool, I mainly tried to fit obscenities in the blanks!

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Fun concept - if something dark can be fun at all. Awesome graphics.

Mnemusyne says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Very unique, excellent job with your ideaguying.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02pm

I enjoyed it! for the mood and concept, not for trying to get more accuracy though. It's much more fun to write random stuff in the log :3
It would have been hilarious if instead of an accuracy percentage, you display the notebook with all the stuff the player typed at the end!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:16am

You really had a good job setting the mood. Was very eerie. Interesting concept!

syradinegames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:12am

The mood is dark and fitting. If we had a radio, why didn't we just record the audio and play it back later? Anyways, memory games remind me how bad mine is. Good entry

frankbsad says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:20pm

haha I didn't think of that.

PixelRebirth says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:53am

Cool idea and intriguing game. An atmospheric success!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Great concept, I think that more feedbacks would help the player (for example, I wasn't sure that my sentence has been submitted).

supermaximo93 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Really interesting concept. I liked the art style - I think it really helped with the overall mood. I would have really liked to see how my sentences compared with what was actually said, although that would probably take away from the (for lack of a better word) authenticity of the game

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:12am

Sets the mood real well, and interesting concept. Nice. :)

blackotus says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:30pm

I really like the concept of this game!
The graphics are great and add a lot to the mood of the game.
Nice use of the theme as well.

Great entry!

lulzfish_4 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:11am

@syradinegames: Because of the government bureaucracy. A radio would put a hard-working American out of their job.

Pierrec says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:17am

Memory games are never very fun (in my opinion) but you managed to make it interesting! I love the dark setting, and the last words idea. The first time I played the game, I didn't read the help, and didn't know I had to write down anything, so I just pressed space sometimes, to make the guys believe I was taking some notes, I don't know why. It was weird ^^

Capro says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Fantastic concept, I love it. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]