August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Love Your Pets

by DaanVanYperen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

When a Captains dream of playing fetch is crushed by Xenomorphs in the bulkheads of the SCC-Benjamin, and a deadly darkness descending every 10 seconds due to a failing generator, there is only one thing left for him to do: make the rescue quota and get the hell off this boat!

=== TIP: AVOID THE VENTS WHEN IT GOES DARK ===

I didn't quite manage to finish and polish as much as I would've liked, but it was entertaining to make nonetheless. I hope you enjoy playing it!

Controls: awsd, e for throw ball/interact, space to progress dialog, r to restart level (only available during loss conditions).

Required: Java 6+, OpenGL. Tested on Windows only, might work on other platforms as well.

Post compo version under construction. !! Please use the LD27 version for rating !! Like to see something in the post competition version? Leave a note!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#92Graphics3.91
#186Mood3.30
#248Humor2.86
#289Innovation3.35
#296Overall3.33
#479Theme3.26
#592Fun2.88
#911Audio1.57

Comments

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50am

The graphics were good for their style and had a uniform theme. I was not a fan of the control scheme, the twisting screen was a bit difficult to manage, and I got caught on edges frequently. It was well put together given the time constraint, though it was very short and little content. I couldn't get past the plasma doors in the end level so I was unable to explore that extra content. Having it open a link to your site at the end is bad form in my opinion as well.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53am

You're right on the bad form, I'll remove the link. Was intented to lead to a victory screen and a post competition download but haven't had time to create the page yet.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

Link has been removed.

Hindsight makes the concept too broad for 48 hours. I ended up having only about an hour for the levels, and missed some of the core mechanics and polish needed to make the concept shine. But that's Ludum, you roll with the punches! I'll have to save it for the post competition version.

I love how the graphics turned out though. I'm happy with the end result overall.

Anyone struggling with the plasma doors, you can use the ball to send your crew to their deaths on them and trigger a blackout, giving you a second to run through while the panels recharge.

lurkingshadow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:19am

Graphics where a bit nauseating with all that spinning but other then that it was a neat little game with cool graphics. Keep it up :3

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33am

Great idea. I like the story/concept, I just wish it were a bit easier interface-wise. Things seem to hilight only when in a small angle from in front of you. Alternatively, make turning around start slowly and accelerate the longer you keep it pressed, so you can actually do precise movement. I like the game despite struggling with the controls.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:58am

I appreciate the tips! planning to get it all in a post competition version. Please keep them coming!

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Love the level graphics, as others have said, controls are an issue, would love to see a post-comp version with improved controls :)

justicegames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Nice

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Best looking game I've played so far. Great job! There are definitely some rough edges such as the controls and the way the camera handles, but I don't really think that takes much away from the overall experience. I'll definitely be keeping an eye out for the post-compo version. Great job!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Your graphics are awesome as usual, but this game confuses me. How's determined who dies? Why does the escape pod do nothing if I send a crew member to it (it looks as if the crew member is stuck next to it most of the time). How am I supposed to finish the first room?

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Thanks! I hope I can resolve the gameplay issues in the post compo version.

Each grate has one Xenomorph in it. Xenomorphs will start hunting upon crewmembers passing their grate (you can see the grate getting damaged just a tiny bit). During the next blackout they will attempt to devour a nearby crewmember. They always prefer a crewmember over the captain, since the captain never showers, so when passing areas with grates, either time your move or have sufficient crewmembers to protect yourself from death.

Also, aliens will stay close to their grate, and when they've been fed they will not hunt again until one blackout has passed.

The escape pod not working is a bug, not sure what triggers it. Best way to deal with it until the post compo version is restarting the game.

To finish the first room: follow the tutorial, then wait in the back near the couches for the next blackout to avoid being eaten, run up to the two crew members, highlight them and 'e' to get them to follow you, wait in a safe spot for a new blackout, then run to the escape pods. Highlight one of the pods and press 'e' to order your crew on the pod. After that you can use the second pod for yourself.

Also, there /is/ a way to rescue your pet, and level three has Steve hidden somewhere.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:48pm

I agree with the previous commentators about the spinning screen...nice but not very intuitive. The lights flickering are very disturbing too...but in the end, it gaves a good disturbing atmosphere.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Nice One :D

5outh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:16am

The game bugged out on me a little bit, it kept flickering after my dog died?

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:17am

No I got it and now I rated. Thanks for explaining :)
I think the feedback loop needs some love :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29pm

@5outh: Unless you mean it stays permanently flickering, The tutorial explains there is a permanent generator failure, making it shut down every 10 seconds. One scared Ensign is watching over it, restarting it every time while he still can.

@timtipgames: thanks for rating :) if you have any ideas about the post compo version drop me a line ;)

nthird says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Really liked to concept and great use of the compo theme. Really clever mechanic and I like the psuedo escort mission but you only have to save some of them aspect. It was nice being able to sacrifice some crew to survive, good twist.

I found the controls challenging which cut into my enjoyment of it. Seems like there is a small bug where it won't let you walk forward right away in a level, you seem to have to turn first.

The xenomorphs only coming from grates was not clear to me, seemed like sometimes someone would die and sometimes not, might make it more explicit in the instructions. Or maybe I just missed it :D

The graphics were really good but I struggled a little to tell what some stuff was. I tried to get a plant to follow me more than once.

Really good start overall, I'm looking forward to seeing what it can turn into if you do some post compo work.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:34pm

@nthird: Thanks for the compliments! Not alerting player to the grate threat in any WAY shape or form was a big oopsy om my behalf. I knew the actors are not clearly identifiable but that the plants look like crew-members, that's just makes my day XD.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Great graphics! But it's hard to play game rotating world. The eyes get easily tired. Great job though.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:59pm

I rather enjoyed it. The concept was pretty funny and the style was good. Would have liked some sound though.

TammiLion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Great game! Nice graphics, controls are a bit rough but I'll take it ^^ Didn't really get the grates concept, how far do you have to stand away from them?

Just Tom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Beautiful game, loved the style and the mood. Audio, even just sound effects would have made the ambience pure gold, definitely something for post Dare.

Gameplay was tight, but the spinning camera can be disorientating and wall vents are difficult to see. That being said, the theme incorporation was absolutely brilliant, I really loved what you did with this game. Very unique. The tutorial was inspired, the power rebooting was both cool to look and and thrilling to experience, waiting to see if you (or your crew) had survived. Would love to see more of this.

Taiters says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Cool game. I found the turning a bit tricky at times but well done overall!

deepnight says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:05pm

The collisions a bit frustrating and you spend much time stuck in walls and corners. Anyway, the game is good and I especially like the things like electric walls that turn off during shutdowns. Good job :)

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Amazing graphics, and fun game play. but sometimes the crew got stuck on walls :( and maybe the camera could use to spin a little slower

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:34am

Hey, DaanVanYperen. Awesome game! Also a massive thank you for fixing my game. I really appreciate it.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:51pm

No game left behind!

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Yea, this has a great atmosphere & nice art style. I like the idea of the screen but you need to not make it linear. Give it acceleration and make it catch up to where it should be, of course this is going to mess with the controls as they are. At the moment I actually felt nauseated from it after playing for a bit.

Sound will absolutely make this game killer too.

HD408 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Level 3 takes too long to load, but the game is not bad overall. Would instantly become better if it had sounds or music (if you're not a composer, generated music is also a good choice, if it suits the game; same goes for sounds).

Zammy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Nice one! More feedback and tutorial explanations could be useful. I died several times without knowing the cause, which I understood eventually, but it was a bit frustrating.
Great idea though! The blackouts and the flashing creates an atmosphere one can dive in. Only the sound was missing to make the flow :) Keep up the good work and of course make a post-compo version!

rezoner says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:40am

WSAD + Mouse. I really enjoyed the atmosphere - felt like Sanitarium... and of course lovely graphics. Disturbing - didn't zen this time (:

klianc09 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:05am

The screen rotates a bit too fast, making it hard to navigate. The atmosphere is great, and I loved how you can throw a ball for your crew-members.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:19pm

@klianc09 First one to mention the ball. The ball mechanic was a great way to control the doggy, so I kept it for the crew as well as a joke. XD

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Despite the rotation of the screen give me a headache (I think speed rotation have to be progressive), I think the game is really cool and I love graphics. :)
The game is very polished but it needs sound!! :)

deammer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:07pm

This might be one of my favorite LD games! Great atmosphere and humor, and an original idea. I think the rotating camera is a bit too much, i'd go with something like Teleglitch for instance, but apart from that, it's pretty great :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:18pm

I'll try a very tiny camera tilting effect instead, it should give the same look without driving the players crazy in the process.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Oh that's actually really nice!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:28am

Really good effects in this game, the ambiance is nicely captured. I had trouble initially figuring out how the mechanics in this game work. Despite the fun little intro :P

I love the dark humor in this game, I had a good laugh! Good twist (not the camera)!

loxo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:02am

I like the style, but the font is a bit too blurry. I tried it successfully on Mac OS X. Sound effects would have been great! I think that's the only missing thing. Overall a good game.

GaTechGrad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:30am

I liked the pet saving concept. The stroyline was good as well. The controls seemed a little bit too sensitive when turning. It was also sort of hard to tell what exactly was a vent, since my pets kept dying.

graytest says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:30am

I liked the concept and graphics, but the controls were really annoying. Got stuck on corners constantly. Something like Hotline Miami would have been better in my opinion. It was also hard to know exactly where I could be without getting killed.

Mlle Eole says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Nice idea and good style. :)

Actually nthird said all the thoughts i had in mind ! :p

Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:14pm

good game, but they maybe are too much text, it's disturtbing.

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:48am

Not a bad one, shame you didn't get more time on it. Would have really benefited from some sound in particular given the setting. Liked the setting, graphics were nice, story was good/funny, gameplay seemed like it could have shone with a few more mechanics. Like others have said controls could use a bit of work, was hard to control basic movement around corners. Grates could also stand out as a hazard a bit more somehow. Might be worth going for Jam next time because it looks like you have some great ideas here that might be a little beyond the scope of 48 hours. Still, what you do have is pretty nice.

superfoonly says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:45pm

That was really cool. I like the graphics, and I can see the gameplay and levels becoming quite deep if you had more time to make more levels. I agree on the others about the sensitivity of the rotation, improving it would help make the character more easily controllable, but I like the way that the world rotates around the character visually. Its different from most other games. I also suggest making it clear which side of the character is the front, since sometimes I thought I was facing a crew member but it turned out I was 180 degrees opposite

cardboard says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:06am

I love the graphics. Audio would have helped the atmosphere of the game immensely. The world spinning around the player and the game mechanics are neat. Pretty short, but fun nevertheless!

blackotus says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Great graphics and nice mood!
The controls are pretty inventive, too.

Nice entry!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:08am

fluffee... D:
Awesome concept!
Myself or the crew gets stuck on the wall sometimes and couldn't move.
But this game is just too awesome!
I really want to try the post compo but the link is 403 forbidden right now.
I'll check back again later!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 11:38am

Oopsy! Post compo version should be available for download now.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:08am

Nice game, I like the pet idea. Controls were a bit difficult with all the world rotating around though :)

emveyh says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Great game and art style. I like the rotating camera and the explanation of the gameplay mechanics by playing fetch with your dog :)

Jedi says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:25am

I hated having the screen flash out every ten seconds and I didn't even realize until I came back here that it had anything to do with the game - I just figured aliens kill you after a certain amount of time.

Where this game shines the most is in its innovation, humor and mood. I love the idea of leading animals by throwing a ball! I didn't get far enough to need to use it though; I might come back and check out the postcompo later.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]