August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Surge

by Solifuge - Jam Entry

Controls:
Mouse + Click


Overview:
A Puzzle RPG set aboard an Orbital Research Station which, over the next 10 Seconds, will be destroyed by a mysterious Spacetime Disaster. Luckily, the player (the Station Janitor) has somehow been unstuck in time by the disaster, and can use their newfound powers to try and prevent it!

...if, of course, they can figure out what went wrong, and how to fix it. A lot can go wrong in 10 seconds!


Gameplay and Hints:
If you feel like cheating, here are the solutions for each room: http://imgur.com/a/ZPtkJ

1) Wire Puzzles: With the forcefields sealed, the player must rotate wires to route Charged Tachyons across the ship. Connecting the wires to the bottom node opens the forcefield to the next room, and unsticks it in time so it remains open. Connecting them to the top node passes the charge to the next room. Click on the Time Surge to resume time, and test your solution!

2) Once time resumes, other obstacles will stand in the player's way. You can thwart them by using items found around the ship. Some wire puzzles may need special Fuse Items to be placed in item slots in order to complete them too. Computer consoles contain further tips. Good luck!


Credits:
Hitchh1k3r: Lead programmer - http://hitchh1k3rsguide.com/
Naali: Director, assistant programmer, puzzle design
Solifuge: Art, game design, puzzle design - http://mrsolifuge.deviantart.com/
Tlynn: Writing, themeing, puzzle transcription
Willfor: Music - http://willfor.bandcamp.com/

Special Thanks:
MysticStv: Puzzle transcription, and snarky commentary
Mrs. Hik3r: Puzzle transcription, and nap-enforcement
LWJGL, and Java in general. Thanks for being a thing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#6Theme(Jam)4.12
#17Overall(Jam)3.96
#21Audio(Jam)3.92
#45Innovation(Jam)3.75
#50Fun(Jam)3.62
#57Graphics(Jam)4.23
#57Mood(Jam)3.67
#87Humor(Jam)3.37

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:04am

Great graphics, nice music ! Love the puzzling gameplay. Good job !

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:25am

Very cool pixel art graphics and interesting idea integrated with contest theme. But game since too hard for me, some hints could help.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:05am

There are some hints in the Computer Consoles, and others in the Gameplay Guide section of the above post too. Hopefully that helps!

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:02pm

I really enjoyed this!
I like the mix of more straightforward pipe dream puzzles and silly adventure game puzzles. The final puzzle was quite tricky once I realized I needed to open the door (wasted a few runs confused when routing power to the time device didn't work)

Traveling between rooms got pretty tedious as the game went on. I wish I could've just jumped instantly to the room I wanted (time is stopped, no need to be realistic). Watching the guy run while time was moving was fine, but given how much backtracking I had to do during puzzle time, waiting for room transitions became irritating.

Still, an excellent and very complete game! Super good looking and sounding, and funny, too!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Great game! Loved the graphics, gameplay and well...everything.

fdevant says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:20am

Nice!
Too hard for me too! It was hard to understand what tiles were available at every point and so very hard to plan ahead, but fun!

hitchh1k3r says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:11am

Okay the applet is done. I forgot what all I had to do to get it to work last time, but I finally remembered... Link should point here: http://hitchh1k3rsguide.com/projects/ld27/

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:29am

Best game with a hugging robot so far! Great mood, took me awhile to figure it out.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:48am

My only complaint is backtracking was annoyingly slow. But everything else was perfect! I'm still trying to get through these, puzzles and I have to say I'm quite impressed. A solid, complete feeling game. Amazing job!

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:52am

The best game I've played so far. Great work

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:25am

Absolutely fantastic! As a question, is there more than one ending, as it seems there could have been one more thing I could have done in the last room.

Yngar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:29am

Aagh the ending!! This was wonderful, by far it was the most time I have spent playing a jam game. The puzzle design was very well done. Being able to instantly jump between rooms would help a lot, it was frustrating to run all the way back, activate the sequence and realize I had forgotten one thing and had to do it all over again. Also it would be nice to be able to swap an item in the hand with one on the shelf instead of having to go to another room to find a place to set something down.
Still this game was incredible, I am very impressed and had a lot of fun with it.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:29pm

great game -- adding it to my ld27 favorites

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Took a minute or two to realize what I had to do and could do but after that I really enjoyed it and the puzzle where a nice challenge to keep you going.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:34am

enjoyed this! really liked the art too =)

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:05am

Really unique game. I like that you made a puzzler/point & click for your entry. Graphics and music A+

Zathalos says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

Awesome game. It had great art and music. It was also pretty challenging. Good job.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:25am

I'm really glad that I downloaded this. Real great game! I need to bookmark you.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:06am

Nice. It crashed on me a couple times (thankfully near the beginning) on Mac, and the piece of chicken entirely disappeared (thankfully, it was only that), but otherwise it played fine, was challenging, and quite enjoyable. I liked it.

mklee says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:23am

Wow! This is definitely one of the most impressive games I've seen from this LD. I really like the way the rooms build on top of each other and there's some super clever moments. Great job with the puzzle design, I can't imagine doing all of this in 72 hours!

koe415 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:49am

Haha this game is great. I'm loving the atmosphere and exploring the ship's cast of characters. The detail in the logs is awesome. Music was top notch and all the art was extremely polished. This is one of my favorite LD games! Thanks for the experience! My favorite bit: Hugging robot just wants something to hug..

My only nitpicking grip is that the puzzles were kind of hit and miss. As I tried different combinations for some of the puzzles when my first guess didn't work, I had to watch the janitor run slow (walk fast?) through the rooms multiple times. If anything, I would say to speed up his travels up after the initial try.

Very well done guys! Keep up the awesome games!

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:58am

yo I'm too dumb to be good at this but I love the presentation; pixels and music and setting all work really well together.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:16am

Good stuff indeed, some ingenious puzzles and mechanics. A lot can happen in ten seconds!

Capro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:42am

This kept me playing till the end. Awesome.

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:58am

Excellent overall, though I agree that the constant running back and forth gets tedious. Also, I don't know if you intended it, but I found an alternate (and much easier) solution to the final Pipe Dream: (spoilers, obviously) http://www.perfectlydarien.com/personal/altsolution.png

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:01am

I was falling asleep by the time I got to designing the Fuse Puzzle. That was unintentional as heck, but good work!

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:15am

Excellent! My only criticism is having to run through each room to solve some of the puzzles and reactivate the core. But you knew that already, I guess~

Ossi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:02am

Amazing graphics great mechanic and fitting music! It was a pretty tough game, but very satisfying to finally make it to the next room. Great use of the theme!

bassarisse says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:17am

I got bored from going back and forth, but the rest is awesome!

ramoncb says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:35am

incredible game!
well polished and very complex and fun, congratulations! =)

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:42am

Amazing project. Really enjoyed the puzzles and music.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:32pm

good job

tigerj says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:35am

that music is epic and the puzzles were fun.

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:37am

That is some expert music! awesome game, just got a bit annoyed with having to run to each room after clearing one, not too big a deal.
The hugging robot tho!

reheated says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:41am

Spectacular. Excellent puzzles, adventure game aspect, music and art. Couldn't stop playing.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Amazing game. Like others have said the backtracking is a bit of a pain but pretty much every other element of the game (graphics, sounds, story, puzzles) is really well done. Very polished and very good work!

naali says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:05am

I was trying to push for a Jefferies tube mechanic so that you could move between rooms but we ran out of time.

BNeutral says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:33am

I generally don't like puzzle games, but this one was quite nice. The walking around got a bit boring though.

vrld says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:49am

Interesting and fun concept. Combining the two layers of puzzles adds a lot to either "sub"-gerne. The only complaint is that it takes too long to try out if a solution works (i.e. doing something, going back to the reactor, seeing that it didn't work, go to the room again, ...). Especially in later rooms (mess hall, sciency room), a shortcut would have been nice. Nonetheless, great game!

Pol says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:55am

I tried to have the chef eating the cobaye's eye, but she wouldn't :(
Neat game btw.

psychomonster says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:52pm

5/4/5/5/5/4/4/4 Great!

manuq says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Congrats to the whole team, you came with a very solid game!

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:27pm

One of the best executions of the theme so far. The puzzles were pretty tough, walking back and forth and walking back to the beginning could have been made a bit faster/easier. The music is the best and best suited I have heard in LD27. The time reversal mechanic is a pleasure every time even though it means you "failed" the puzzle. Extremely high marks for this game!

gamepopper says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Brilliant puzzle game, if I didn't have to sleep for work, I'd play this to the end!

urth says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Solid game!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:10pm

The puzzles were icredibly fun but following the main character was really boring.

Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:17am

Solid entry. I enjoyed the point and click puzzles. The narratives text is very interesting but the closeness of the lines makes it difficult to read.

infernet89 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Very nice game! The audio was fantastic, too bad the puzzles were so damn hard and clueless (like the hugger in second room, for example), and you need to wait for the characters slowly walk to the room before actually have the possibility to solve it.
But, for 72 hours it's an amazing work! You'll be in top places for sure.

Terrabyte says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Fantastic game! I hope that you make a post-compo version with even more levels!

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Supafine design! Love the pixels. Got kinda blinded by them!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]