August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Basketeerz

by Jhelle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pick up the ball and fling it into the basket. Get as many points in 10 seconds in each of the 9 levels. You can only pick that ball up when it's in the shaded area. Good luck!

This time I tried to use Construct instead of AS3. The events got messy very quick but its very easy to use and enjoyable to prototype in. Which makes it great for Ludum Dares.

The game should run best in Chrome (But also works on my Android phone, veryyy slowly).

Controls:
Left mouse Button: Pick up the ball
Right mouse button: Toggle sound
Middle mouse button: Disable music

Hope you enjoy the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#393Fun3.11
#419Graphics3.11
#428Overall3.18
#495Audio2.67
#662Mood2.59
#668Humor2.05
#702Innovation2.77
#786Theme2.91

Comments

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:45am

really fun game, good physics. A highscore would have been great

hungyg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48am

Fun game, the controls were a bit wonky but very enjoyable nonetheless! Great job! :)

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48am

Great take on skeeball and other skill shot games. The physics were satisfying, but I felt that sometimes I didn't have enough space to launch the ball properly.

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:49am

Simple and nice :)

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50am

That was pretty entertaining :) I wish you could reset the ball, so it wont take so long time for him to come back

Terrabyte says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50am

It's a nice little game. I particularly like the graphics, and the music is quite catchy too.

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03am

Fun game. :)

One thing though: my score disappears when I reach more than 9 points. ^^ Guess it's a font issue ... I'm on Linux and my score number looks like some fallback standard font.

Oh and the background music seems to be played twice simultaneously when you play a second round w/o reloading the page.

DiaboloHunter says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37am

I really liked the game. Nice physics and graphics!

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Very nice game. I scored 10 points on my first try, but after that it went downhill lol. I really enjoyed it. A high score would have been awesome.

Very good game!

Nitrodeus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:34pm

nice game :) physics are great, graphics too.
Nice job !

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:03pm

This is fun. Nice work!

Wertle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:03pm

I like how the game started with a traditional basketball hoop setup that one would expect, then evolved into wackier and wackier arrangements. Very clean art, nice job!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Greatly done, man. The graphics are really high-quality. +getting those physics must have been a real challenge :)

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Thanks for all the kind words and feedback guys!

@sirtetris actually missed that one, thanks for the heads up

@comrad_gremlin that was actually pretty easy to setup in construct, without that I wouldn't have been able to make it in a weekend :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26pm

A nice addition to physics puzzles!

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:37am

I played this on Android, and like you said, it was pretty slow. I actually liked it once I got the hang of it, and could see playing a version of this after the jam. Nice work.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:57pm

interesting game, though in one level I apparently through the ball hard enough for it to disappear, then on the later stages there were lots of areas where the ball would easily just get stuck and I had to just wait a while for the countdown to finish. It's an interesting take on a mini golf sort of game.

tigerj says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:40am

for a compo it's really impressive. It felt like box2d almost. great work with the physics.

I'd get sfxr/audacity and get some sound involved. a little noise can go a long way for the experience.

nice work and a real creative concept. I like it a lot.

uwap says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Final score: 7. Sometimes the ball just disappeared when moving the mouse too fast. But it's a nice and simple game anyways.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:31am

Fun way to make use of basket ball. Like these simplistic but entertaining games!

MrBlade says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:27am

Nice work! It is a bit difficult to get the ball in the basket, but it is reasonable level of difficulty. Okay sounds, nice graphics. I feel like the ball falls A BIT slow, making it hard to get off more than one or two shots on most of the levels. Keep it up. 6/10.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]