August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SpeedRoid

by Psifour - Jam Entry

Fast-paced asteroid-esque game written in Java. Your ships basic parameters (speed, firepower, firerate, and spread) will change every 10 seconds.

Controls:
W - Up
A - Left
S - Down
D - Right

Mouse - Aim
Left Mouse Button - Fire

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#171Theme(Jam)3.37
#374Overall(Jam)2.93
#430Audio(Jam)2.28
#434Innovation(Jam)2.59
#459Mood(Jam)2.43
#480Graphics(Jam)2.59
#500Fun(Jam)2.37
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:42am

Nice job guys, liked what you did with the 10 second theme

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Good job, not that bad at all. :)

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Great work people!

RSUGameDev says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:19pm

I like it. It definitely gives an interesting twist on the theme. Good job guys

Croze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:55pm

I liked the game a lot, but after you lose the credits take so long I just had to x out and re open every time, definitely add a skip key or something, other than that part the game was great!

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Could never last that long but i liked the spread on the best, build works on linux too so thank you for that

DissidentDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:09pm

You got the basic control mechanics and physics of this genre down, so good job on that. However, I found it pretty absurdly difficult with like 30 things flying at me 3 seconds in.

Psifour says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:24pm

@Croze
There is a menu button on the credits screen. Perhaps naming it 'Back' would have been more intuitive.
@Rabbits...
No worries, Java makes it easy to support most desktop environments with minimal fuss.
@DissidentDan
Sounds like you had a spot of bad luck with the UFO wave :D One of the others had the same issue and gets a UFO wave super early every time (I usually don't see one til 30+ seconds in).

@All Others
Thank you for your kind words :D

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:52pm

I enjoyed the concept, but I only managed to last until a change a few times. I'm not sure if that's because I suck or I got unlucky with the random generation though.

onzephyr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:38am

Really liked the idea. The random nature of it made some games super difficult. It was hit or miss if I lasted past the first batch of enemies. Otherwise very enjoyable, and executed well.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:53am

Like everyone else said.. really neat idea on the theme. Had fun with it.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:18am

fun

Psifour says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:49am

All the feedback has been really great. Due to our use of LibGDX a port to Android (and iOS) would be a simple matter of fixing a few small things, is that something that you would download and play? Also development will probably continue until we fix a few things, like smooth out the difficulty (we artificially increased the difficulty at the last minute as one of our play testers racked up 10k+ points).

Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:07am

Very hard but fun. I really liked it. If you put it on droid, and posted on my LibGDX (to remind me and be added to my list [I have a thread in showcase about recording android games for youtube]) I'd tottally do it!!! I featured it in my video compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nOZnQrkIteE

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:53am

Nice job! Its so fast! but it works

interesting 10 second implementation of ship change.

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:22pm

It's fast-paced and too much random - this plays funny, but not for very long. Can lose the game suddenly - that's frustrating. Cool sprites, anyway.

Psifour says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:55pm

@Jupiter_Hadley
I have a droid build that I am working on right now, but do to lack of optimization it won't run on low-end devices at all.

@namrog84
Thanks for the feedback. For me personally the word 'fast' is one of the highest compliments you could pay our game. I really was hoping for a frenetic chaotic asteroids-esque game, and judging from feedback we hit that mark relatively well.

@HD408
I see what you mean. I come from a school of thought that death is not a bad thing in games. I will happily die repeatedly just to learn the move set of an obscure mini-boss in a game. I think our biggest failing was that we didn't include a way for more casual players to enjoy a bite of the pie without committing to a full slice (and all the deaths that entails). I will pass along your comment about the sprites to Drake as he will be glad to hear positive feedback about them.

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Asteroids move fast!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]