August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Seconds of Night

by MinionStudios - Jam Entry

Our entry into the LD27 Jam "Ten Seconds"-

TEN SECONDS OF NIGHT
Minion Studios

A game in which you become a werewolf at night! Protect the other villagers by not being near them when night falls... but there are other ways to prevent their death. Can you find out how to save your village from YOURSELF?

WASD to walk
Mouse to look around
right-click or space to use items

-Our goals on this one were a bit too lofty and the gameplay is a bit broken- but we had lots of fun! Run around and try to keep the wolf from killing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#225Innovation(Jam)3.12
#232Graphics(Jam)3.50
#306Humor(Jam)2.36
#364Mood(Jam)2.69
#409Audio(Jam)2.42
#438Theme(Jam)2.79
#504Overall(Jam)2.62
#539Fun(Jam)2.21

Comments

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:00am

Interesting idea, but game looks "damp". Villagers just stay and look at floor. Wick integration with theme.
But, not bad job.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:06am

The web unity player doesn't work : Failed to load. The Windows version works. Very nice graphic, smooth controls. The werewolf theme is interesting, great work guys !

Zerot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Nice idea, but the execution left some to be desired. Villagers don't move or run away, goal of the game is really unclear(no instructions in the game).

With some more polish and those things fixed it can be quite a nice "puzzle" game.

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Cool! but a sad ending. I liked it!

anjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:08pm

The web player worked for me. Very cool idea! I've seen one other similar game (with Jekyll and Hyde instead of werewolves) for this LD, but I like this one better.

michail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33pm

The werewolf's behavior seems to be quite random: sometimes it can run to the village from the deep forest, but sometimes it stays in the village at night and doesn't attack anyone. Also I didn't figure out what should I do in this game. Not as good as your last entry, but the graphics are still awesome :)

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Everything ties nicely together with other aspects of the game. Controls and game flow are smooth as butter. Nice work!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Thanks for the feedback! The idea was a bit to large for us to bring the game play and AI together perfectly in time, but we thank you for rating it!

The idea was to have several methods of preventing your werewolf-self from killing villagers. You could progress through the woods where a huntsman would try to kill the werewolf. Eventually, the player would be able to reach a witch with a cure in the mountains. Endgame would be to get cured and save the village. Perhaps we will finish it for a nice post-comp game.

Oxydam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:04pm

A very good idea but in game it's hard to understand our possibilities.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Very nice idea, please keep on the work has potential

DanielSnd says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Didn't quite get what I was supposed to do. Was I trying not to kill villagers? Gathering Items? The werewolf thing seems so arbitrary, I'm walking around trying to figure out what to do in the game and boom, I'm a werewolf and I don't control anything anymore.
When I was walking around and seeing people talking about a werewolf I thought I was going to have to discover which one of them was the werewolf, which I was kinda excited about, then I realized it was me xD

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:13pm

The werewolf idea is awesome!! But the gameplay needs a little polish, I just stand behind trees and when becoming the werewolf, it stucked and never attack villagers. I think this game has some potential :)

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Everyone is dead now. Too bad I can't cure the werewolf.
Good job.

eckcz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28pm

I loved the graphics!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Very cool idea - I ended up dying for the greater good, I guess ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46pm

It is not clear what to do, but it does not matter! Wolf is especially cool!

timujin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Everyone knows that hemlock cures lycantropy...

Nice try, civilian. Lold so hard from such creative way to deal with an enemy.

timujin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Game is really not ready and not playable. But oh how I lold from that hemlock thing.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Nice idea. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Wow really cool, I went wandering into the forest and was in for an unexpected suprise! cleared the village in no time but really love the love of this game!

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Very interesting idea!

raoz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:08pm

ervion: Sleaky graphics and nice idea, althought the gameplay is rather confusing

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:26pm

making a 3d game in a short period of time is difficult, so grats on taking the challenge! the game concept works, but obviously some of the anims and ai could do with further polish =] damn ai, damn it to hell :P

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:52am

Really creative interpretation of the theme, I had a lot of fun with this one. I'd really like to see where you could go with this given a little more time, there's the start of a really cool, interesting game there.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:39am

Very nice idea, but probably too ambitious for such a short time. Gameplay was hard to grasp and kind of "mechanical". But do expand on this!

caranha says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Hey, that is a really neat idea. Too bad that you didn't have time to polish the game. The player would get stuck in corners way to frequently, and the werewolf behavior was a bit too erratic.

I would love to see sound effects when the villagers died. Things like "aaah" and "uurgh" :-)

Also, once a villager (I think?) gave me wolfsbane and I died, but the death screen went away too quickly and I couldn't read anything :-(

Thanks for the game, and here is a playthrough video:
http://youtu.be/_PX4Fr6uZkM

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Thanks for the comments and thanks for rating! We plan on a Post-compo version soon... we'll put it together the way it was intended. Thanks for the video play-through, caranha!

Croze says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Game felt really broken, but good idea, graphics were outrageous!

nixeldev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Ace how much you fit in in the time, had fun :)

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:53am

Good job. I think it'll make a good finished game. Did I win?

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:02am

It was really difficult to read the texts and/or interact with things. It's still however a nice RPG-like puzzle experience. For the little time LD gives there's some seriously nice 3D animation and modelling work here. Kudos!

Vaalen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:32pm

The game is nice but there's not a lof of things to do. And game goals are unclear.

Really good job on the graphics however !

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:13pm

good job

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Good idea, but it need to be more polished, and you have to add some feedback (for example before the night).

mutilator says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:23am

I thought the graphics were really good and the concept of the game is a good one that could be very fun. The villagers just sat there looking at the ground. There is a lot of potential for this game because there is so much you could do, but as of right now I didn't find it much fun. I would like to see what happens with the game when more time is put into it since this was a short competition.

acro says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:55pm

OK, without reading ur description (I tend to play first and ask questions later) I rather enjoyed this - had no idea what was going to happen, but this is a *great* idea and a fun and clever mechanic. One thing, though. My Skyrim character is a werewolf, and I like playing as one! So, how come I get game over for successfully killing everyone? Surely that's the goal? Or was I meant to get myself caught? This could be really something special with just a bit more expansion on the gameplay ideas. I quite like the dinky toy-town look of things, too.

zkenshin says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Really liked the art. :) As you have mentioned, could have used more time and fixes, but well done.

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:17pm

There isn't much to do as I figured out after I've died due to poison and murdered everyone in village. But overall feeling is good, graphics is nice, so missing additional story/content is the only weakness. And I didn't hear any sounds, that's maybe another :-)

joekinglake says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Great game, impressive for the time! Good job!

01rafael says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:12pm

pretty nice game, but nothing about theme (10sec)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]