August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Seconds to Meltdown

by cerberus98 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

w00! Made it!

My first every Ludum Dare competition is behind me. I'm actually sad that's it over, but I'm happy beyond words that I did it.

Anyway, the code is: https://github.com/Cerberus98/ludum_dare_10seconds

Only compiled on OSX 10.8, though it should be functional against 10.7. I'll work on getting a Linux version up later.

Anyway, good luck, hope you enjoy it, and I'm sorry that I did in C++ rather than something that was easy to stage in a browser ;-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1845Coolness14%

Comments

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Is there a Windows version? I really want to play this!

nek says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:51pm

I don't think publishing sources with the compilation docs counts as posting the finished game. It's totally inaccessible to me and most of the people who take part in LD.

But screenshot looks good. I'll be waiting for the OS X version to play and rate.
Good luck with making it happen.

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Yeah, I just downloaded the OS X version, I was expecting a binary! I'll try and see if I can get it compiled later but a binary upload would really help people play your game :)

cerberus98 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Noted. Sorry for the problems, guys. I wasn't sure; people in the OSX and Linux worlds sometimes don't like getting binaries from people they don't know ;-) I'll see what i can throw together today.

cerberus98 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Alright, the binary is in the repo now, along with the content I generated. On OSX, you'll have to open a terminal, go to the source directory, and type:

./bin/10seconds

And that should get you going. I'll see if I can figure out something better later today after work.

mpath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Really difficult, but nice.

cerberus98 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Alright, the OSX link is updated with a binary that also contains the content. Had to make some changes to the code to get it to path correctly, but as far as I'm concerned, that's porting. No new features were added!

cerberus98 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Bah, SFML isn't statically linked in. I'll try again in a bit

cerberus98 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:58pm

The above package works fine if you're willing to install SFML first. Let me know if you'd like me to cobble together a fully statically linked binary instead.

cerberus98 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05am

Ok, bundled mac app now in play. Everything should just *work*

Let me know if you have any problems.

roaet says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:51pm

I really like this. Level 7 is hard. :(

cerberus98 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Yeah, the difficulty ramp is way too steep. I ran out of time to balance the levels. In retrospect, I probably would have made 7 the last level. Ah well :-)

domrein says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:03am

Level 7 is too hard! :P The platforming is pretty punishing too. Good job though. This is a complete experience and not a bad little game.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:54am

Any chance for a windows version?

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:57am

I really love what I'm seeing in the screenshots! I hope a windows version happens :)

nek says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Thanks for the OS X version! Played and rated.

deepnight says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:28pm

I would really like to try this one too :) (windows)

cerberus98 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:52am

Not sure I'll have time to it to Windows. I'll might give it a shot, but I haven't done any Windows dev in *years*

Malactus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:29am

Aww. OS/X only :<

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:30am

Pretty good! The jumping physics are pretty unique and the instant restart eases the pain of the high difficulty. I'd prefer if the camera were centered on the player since I felt pretty nearsighted, and the blind leaps of faith on the final level are just mean, but I did finish :)

cerberus98 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:34am

hah! FWIW, the blind leaps of faith are actually a bug. The camera is supposed to track but sometimes it just... doesn't ^_^

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Nice, very terry-cavanaugh-ish feel ;)

Jason says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Nice job! I think the difficulty could have ramped up a little quicker and more of an arc. It goes from pretty easy to all the sudden hard on level 7. But works well otherwise! Like the animated character too.

udo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Simple and fun :)

Jason says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Kept playing this after my post and have gotten up to level 10. Actually finding the difficulty really addictive! :)

Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:44am

Good job on your first LD game! I liked how the level kept changing, vs being an entirely new level each time. Interesting idea. Should work on the jump physics and timing a little bit. It was fun as it was fast paced and kept moving.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]