August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bring The Things

by Lizzip - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I didn't have as much time as I would have liked to finish this, so spent about 8-10 hours on it overall.

Note: May only work in Chrome

How To Play:
There is a shape embedded in each exit door. Bring the matching shape from the room to the door to exit.
Click the shape to pick it up, click the door once you have the shape to open the door.

Controls:
Left Click - Pick up shape/Open door
WASD - Movement
Space - Jump

Made using PlayCanvas (playcanvas.com)
Twitter: @LizzipFish

EDIT: Removed the music from the game as I forgot you can't have open source stuff you didn't make

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#734Audio2.21
#791Humor1.86
#851Theme2.82
#867Innovation2.53
#890Fun2.50
#966Overall2.59
#1004Graphics2.12
#1021Mood1.93

Comments

HoWseR says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48am

It was a bit confusing when you got into another room, other than that just fine

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:49am

The level needing the cyan triangle is evil! Fun game idea though :)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:49am

Music is the strong side of this game :)

RandomM00 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:49am

Only a black window for me.
32 bit Windows XP, using Chrome.

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50am

Liked the concept, somehow a 3d hiddenobject game would be a great idea. Hope you make a high def version of this without the short timer :p.

ps. music you didn't make isn't allowed for the non jammers

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:53am

A very simple, yet challenging puzzle game, as you progress through the game.
There's one thing though: Since this was submitted for the combo, I'm pretty sure you aren't allowed to use third party stuff. The music (As you also write yourself) was not made by you.
Apart from that - A nice game.

rephus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:55am

Score: 807, the game will be more fun if the door and the key are random. Anyway, I like the confusion in the third level.

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:28am

Removed the music from the game. Thanks for reminding me about that guys. I forgot that rule :(

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Game get's stuck on loading

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:31pm

How do you get through the yellow door after opening the first one?

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Nice idea. It got very hard a bit too quickly for me (maybe that's just me!). Good fun!

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Linus: You should just have to click on the door

Apologies for those it doesn't load for - the engine is still in beta

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37pm

The yellow door confused me a little bit at first. Fun game, that teal shape room was rage inducing though. Since it is such a simple game graphically, even a little bit of ambient noise or a ticking timer would have helped it a bit. Great job nonetheless!

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Cool little idea - works fine in firefox too... "F5 to restart" he he.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Fun idea and well put together. The timer was a bit frustrating though!

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:42am

I liked the concept of the game, a randomized mode would have been cool too! :)

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Yay! I completed! Will they finally accept me at Mensa now?

Very simple gameplay, dangerously close to the uninteresting, but some humorous level design saved it :)

Koltiman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Nice little game, good job!

Dotanukii says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Cool concept, could sue some polish. the room with all the blue shapes made me laugh.

nthird says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Interesting concept. The 3D objects and the ability to knock them around added some challenge. Made navigation and running about part of the game in addition to the puzzle solving too. I personally ran into a couple bugs. The mouse disabling that canvasapps did was necessary to turn fully around but didn't always trigger. So a few times on playing through again I was unable to even move as it seemed to be waiting for the mouse turn off.

Move the time limit up a little and make the shapes a bit less intuitive and I think you really have something here. I think part of the fun could be trying to match which 3D object fits perfectly in the 2D keyhole. Its an interesting twist and I hope you keep working on it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]