August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

When He Left

by wine - Jam Entry

There is a disaster in this place. Disease.
When you hear the call for help - find a sign and jump to the sky.
There will be a blue crystal - focus on it to destroy.
And one person life will be saved.

But do not leave the land unattended.
Even at ten seconds. This is enough to let the world perish.
But... you may be interested in what will happen.

WASD - fly to find who need a help
SPACE - up/down
MOUSE - hover your mouse on disease-crystal in the sky
(they appear somewhere above the help sign) to destroy it.
But if it's too late, it will self-destruct.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#20Graphics(Jam)4.56
#29Mood(Jam)3.94
#44Audio(Jam)3.71
#160Innovation(Jam)3.29
#227Overall(Jam)3.25
#279Theme(Jam)3.11
#426Humor(Jam)1.84
#506Fun(Jam)2.33

Comments

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:05pm

A little tricky to play - I wasn't entirely clear on how to save people. but it's a very beautiful and slick game. I'd love to play this with a bit more work on a tutorial or something, because it was relaxing just to fly around in.

lesterpig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Ahem... Beautiful game but ... has crashed by browser. I didn't understand the concept.

Monoquartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Two words: "Beautiful game"

HauntedSoul says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Loved the look and sound of it! The game part could use a bit more work and it would make a pretty awesome experience.
Also I have a problem with the controls not being aligned to the camera but a small detail :)

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Amazing game! Took a while to figure out how it all exactly works but once I did it seems really cool. Definitely a very beautiful game and the sound really helps set the mood really well. Awesome job!

Friday says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Beautiful, but i cant save people.

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Took a while to figure out how to find the crystals.

Very cool apocalypse effect.

entrusC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Playing god is obviously not so easy. I think I might be responsible for setting off the apocalypse ... Still: great game! I really like the visuals in combination with the depth of field filter.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Strange gameplay, but very fun to play and interact with things. I would love to see more with this concept. ;)

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Gorgeous. Really stunning visually, but i didn't get it. Is this a game? I couldn't click anything, and suddenly it was over...

jromeem says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:13pm

took me a while to start saving people but I got it! this is really good! the music and visuals are amazing!

lambomang says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49am

Nice game! It's definitely one of the prettiest ones I've seen. The actual game part of it feels a bit lacking though.

Spiderhund says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:04am

Nice game! I absolutly love the graphical style, it has a really nice atmosphere.

I do not like the camera controls though. I don't know if you intended for them to be that way but I had a hard time navigating around and reaching the "disease-crystals" on time, especially since you have to hover over them for awhile before they are destroyed.

Still this is a game I would love to play more of if more development is done on it.
Great job!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:29am

A really gorgeous bit of landscape. Can you spin around?

mboaj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:56am

I like the idea even if it kinds of make me sad :) so not much humor or fun. But the theme music is very nice. I agree with mtrc, it is tricky to play. Did you try a top-down view?

MidCry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:08am

Nice idea
but hard to find how i can save peaple

wine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:47am

Like @entrusC says "Playing god is obviously not so easy.
I think I might be responsible for setting off the apocalypse ... "
It's hard to save everyone, huh? ) Even if you are God

Thanks for the feedback! It means a lot to me.

So... yeah. Most of the time spent on the creation of visual and audio parts of the game. Atmosphere.
Therefore the game mechanics is very lame. Criticism is justified,
still have much to learn )

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:10pm

I love the enviroment

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Nice work with graphics and color!

Game was a bit difficult to figure out, though. In fact I still have no idea what is going on.

Vaughn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Design and aesthetics are top notch as everybody has echoed; however, also like most others, I couldn't figure out the crystals at first. Brilliant effects and audio work as well, especially on the failure condition - really great stuff!

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Beautiful idea, but I could not save anybody. Look and feel is just awesome. :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Pleases the eye very much. Hard to understand though. The crystals were difficult to locate. But the relaxing atmosphere and the nice ambient track made it an enjoyable experience. Great work :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Yeah, those were some tricky crystals to find. Neat concept once you do, though. Love the visuals and sound!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Tthis game has the best concept among all the other entries I've played, but it's not just the concept. It is visually stunning and sonorly captivating. The story is heart breaking and even just the title "When he Left" has a lot of emotional impact.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:43pm

This game took awhile to get into and was a bit tricky but it looks beautiful and has an amazing concept behind it. The audio is very nice as well.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:48pm

A beautiful game with nice audio and mood, but gameplay wise it's.. weird. I did manage to figure it out and rescued a few people, but the controls could be aligned better to the camera.

Pol says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:18pm

The graphics and sounds are really neat, the end in particular was stunning !

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:23pm

I would've like to have some sort of mouse looking so that I could find people easier, but very nice game with excellent ambiance :)

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Really appealing visual style, amazing work. The music was very fitting too! Only problem is that there wasn't any progression in the gameplay, and it was never difficult. Losing had a really cool effect though.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Crazy and atmospheric game, graphics and game play are awesome!

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Top marks for graphics, it's gorgeous! Gameplay wise I found it hard to understand what to do, and got frustrated by my inability to move around faster.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:26am

osx versión doesn't open in mountain lion

zkenshin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:30am

Really gorgeous game. :)

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:23pm

I was a bit lot at the start but I like the mood of the game.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:30pm

good job

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:18am

Love the look and idea of this game, however I really wish we could have turned around instead of having to go backwards :P I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WX5erHA1DPE

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]