August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Clocktower

by Colorvade - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Survive against random events that occur every 10 seconds in a clocktower arena. Rather than the world becoming progressively more difficult, the player's abilities slowly dwindle as their curse grows stronger.

If the above link isn't working, or you'd prefer to play on Dropbox, you can play it here:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/24294238/The%20Clocktower.swf

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#28Graphics4.25
#39Overall3.91
#47Fun3.79
#52Audio3.63
#66Mood3.67
#82Theme3.80
#418Innovation3.15
#563Humor2.22

Comments

Laddo D says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:18am

Beautiful art!

JQCoding says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:37am

Cool game and good take on the theme.

AlvaroH says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:37am

Very good game!! Like the graphics too and the arcade feel.

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40am

Really nice game! Survived 20 rounds my first try. Player had a bit too much momentum (and weak acceleration) for my tastes though.

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:45am

Neat graphics and idea is ok

Symmeteer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:46am

That was tricky but actually pretty cool. I lasted 14 rounds. Everything was very smooth and complete - and great graphics/sound.

vitou3d says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:48am

I survived level 22. Anyway, absolutely stunning art in 48 hours. Love the gameplay, theme, and audio as well. Brilliant

targaciej says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:31am

This is great!

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:32am

Getting late here, so words are failing. Liked this game! Random is certain random! Cursed! =)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:32am

The graphics are really nice and the game has quite a bit of replayability. This is a really nice use of the theme. It has a good amount of difficulty as well.

HeroesGrave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:32am

Fun!

Finally a fun game.

HoWseR says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:37am

Cool art and the sound was really good to, the music was kind of different for this type of game, but it set the mood really well so good job on that. When i realized that each round was random I got an even better impression

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:19am

The screenshot has me sold already. And the game does not disappoint. Terrific graphics. Fun gameplay. Super music. Great!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Wow, really enjoyed playing this! Game keeps interesting and varied, and more challenging as your powers are taken away. Great polish too!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Nice graphics made it to level 6.

Kingroka says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Nice graphics and very fun gameplay.

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:10am

Beautiful. Love the clock tower and the whole mood.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:47am

Great work dude, really nice graphics, all fit together perfectly, love the clock.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:49am

Nice take on the survival genre. The difficulty escalated in a good way and I loved the clock! It really set a nice surreal mood. Solid game! :)

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:14am

Enjoyed it =)

kantieno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:30pm

I really liked the art and music, gameplay was a tad lacking but overall I enjoyed it.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:02pm

That was pretty fun. I felt like there could have been bit more various random events, but otherwise this was really nice arcade game.

goyal says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:43am

Nice game. Controls are kinda different than what most games usually have. Took a little bit of time to get used too.

syawqy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:04am

need more gun variation

canvapps says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:32pm

this one is quite dynamic! I really love the set of behaviours you have defined. It is a really nice scheme that you weapons get worse and your enemies stronger as the curse grow up.
One of the best ones I've seen at the moment :)

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:26pm

beautiful art. the gameplay works really well though i would like to be able to jump with the up-arrow instead of Z.

BNeutral says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:57am

I like it~

Capro says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:53am

Great game, very polished. Good job! :)

dudsen says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Super good. Some extra work and tweaking and it would be even better!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]