August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Z-Z-ZEN

by Badger - Jam Entry

You'r zen monk. Everything is dust There is only one REAL goal - to Learn the ZEN...
Keep your attention in the center of your mind. And don't sleep

Control for player 1:
UpArrow - Up
DawnArrow - Down
LeftArrow - Left
RightArrow - Right

Control for player 2:
NumPad8 - Up
NumPad5 - Down
NumPad4 - Left
NumPad6 - Right

For skip movie push space

If you don't control second player please push NumLoock

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#105Humor(Jam)3.21
#133Graphics(Jam)3.85
#279Audio(Jam)2.88
#370Mood(Jam)2.68
#375Innovation(Jam)2.77
#421Overall(Jam)2.81
#464Theme(Jam)2.69
#491Fun(Jam)2.38
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45am

Nice graphics, excellent animation and simple gameplay. Good Job~

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:58am

What makes me go to sleep?

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:00am

It seems to activate 2 player all the time, yet I can't control the second player :/ Needs to be fixed. Liked the humor though.

chippers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:04am

Loved the graphics and sound design, although i didn't really understand the game. I kept dieing in like 1 second. I assumed "Keep your attention in the center of your mind" meant that you were meant to stay in the middle of the screen? but that didnt seem to do anything else. But i really did enjoy the graphics and the audio, good job!

CrossBread says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:04am

Like the graphics, sound, and comedic timing. In 1 player mode, is was a little confusing to understand which player was receiving punishment or a point. Maybe using a special color in the monk model to distinguish between the player and NPC ,omk could help?

CrossBread says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:06am

I think the goal is to find the hidden "hot spot" where the image you are moving becomes clear.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:07am

Seems to be 2 player mode no matter what you choose. As the second player can't be controlled (at least I didn't find out how) he always falls asleep.
I guess the message is: You can't control others and one alone can never reach satori? :)

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:10am

I like the graphics. The instructions are pretty terrible and it's incredibly unclear what is happening. There are typos in the interface as well, and the unskippable cutscenes make the game a lot more frustrating than it needs to be.

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:55am

Hey I'm on a mac and I don't have a keypad also I don't have a num lock... lol

I might suggest changing those to WASD and the arrow keys...

Otherwise though, everything else (art/sound) is great!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Nice game, i really laught with the face when receive the hit hahaha. So fun, i like it, good job.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:52pm

interesting plot concept and great cinematics. but why would you ever waste time on two-player mode? it's just pointless. such art deserves better gameplay.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:42am

Lol, my poor monk. Fun and some great animation for the beatings :0)

Oxygamer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:43pm

O MY GOD!!! YOU ALWAYS BEATS THE BOY. I TRIED TO HELP HIM, BUT SOMEONE AGAIN BEAT HIM ))))

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:24am

Never knew zen could be so trippy. :P
Would be cool to see harder NPC and "distractions".

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:25pm

My brain just exploded a bit. What is even happening?!

Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:33pm

strange game but pretty unique, I could see some funny videos come off this. good jam badger!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]