August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Switch

by Deep Water Games - Jam Entry

Well, this is the first ludum dare we have actually completed. We used C++ and SFML, plus a tiny codebase(about 100 lines) to load files slightly more efficiently. This game switches between two similar levels every 10 seconds, and your job is to complete the puzzles and jumps, and kill the zombies to get to the end of the level (The other door).
There are currently 6 levels, but I plan on adding more later. Notify us for any glitches,errors or bugs.
Controls:
A: Left
D: Right
Space: Jump/Climb
Click: Shoot
Note: If you cannot run this, please leave a comment to tell us the error. Hopefully, we can help you fix it!
If you have an error about a dll such as MSVCP11.dll, you have to install the visual c++ runtime:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#348Theme(Jam)2.95
#498Innovation(Jam)2.40
#566Graphics(Jam)2.10
#589Fun(Jam)1.90
#594Overall(Jam)2.20
#1359Coolness42%

Comments

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:45pm

man, time to get a DropBox or SkyDrive account...

Boodog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Nice game, good idea! :D

Croze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:57pm

MSVCP11 or something like that was missing, so is unplayable for me :(

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:10pm

You need to install the microsoft visual c+++ 11 runtime:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679

johnfn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Mediafire is asking me to watch videos and solve captchas. You should upload the file somewhere else, like a public Dropbox link.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Awesome, not a bad idea!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:13pm

yeah, I probably should

johnfn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:19pm

This is a really clever idea and I know it had to fit the theme and all, but honestly 10 seconds is far too long to wait for a level switch. A single death can undo minutes of work! Still though, if the theme had been like "3 seconds" instead, this game would be really enjoyable, and it's still a neat idea.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:46pm

I changed the link from mediafire to dropbox. Those ads were incredibly annoying.

murilo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:40am

Windows version error before anything appeared, something about needing a 32 or 64 bit version. My Windows is 32 bit.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:47am

yeah, i never compiled a 32 bit version. I can make one if you are interested in playing it, but I figured that there aren't that many people with 32 bit computers.

Serishmus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:19am

Super cool way to use the theme!

Beanalby says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:23am

Couldn't run, missing MSVCP110D.dll You should probably distribute a release build instead of debug, people are more likely to have it.

Also, holy CRAP those are some big textures. I was wondering what the 80Mb zip consisted of, mostly just a couple of 10Mb pngs :)

namrog84 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:39am

I liked the backgrounds a lot

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:57am

I installed the vc11 redistributable, but still missing msvcp110d.dll? :-/

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:57am

Is msvcp110d the debug version?

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:10am

Sorry to all of the people who are missing msvcp110d.DLL, it is in fact the debug version and I will get out a fix shortly.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:52am

I just fixed it, put in the release build

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:56am

Could you make a smaller file size version? Maybe remove music or lower textures? I'm not sure how many people will download this due to the short attention span of most LD users for rating games

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Aww, the idea sounded quite good... http://puu.sh/4drnC.jpg Try to not delete/move files you link to ;D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:40pm

I know i just fixed it the link should be back up in a few minutes

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:46pm

The download should be back up! Not sure why Dropbox deleted it.

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:53am

Don't use PNG's for textures like those. JPG is a better format for those kind of pictures.

It's not a horrible idea but maybe there could've been a way to skip the few seconds because the pace is a bit too slow. There was also no music playing when there should be music playing?

Aslai says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:56am

Do we really need 2048x2048 PNG textures? Can't you maybe downscale them and save them as jpeg? :(
Simply making OrangeDiamond.png a high quality, 1024x1024 jepg dropped it from 10MB to 300KB

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Felt really slow paced, like I was waiting for the timer more than moving

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]