August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Topple

by Travis Irby - Jam Entry

10 Second Topple is a physics puzzler requiring you to stack blocks to great heights! 7 challenging levels, reach the ring and make sure your structure stands for at least.... 10 SECONDS.

Controls:
Q + E to zoom. A+D to rotate blocks before placing them. Move mouse to screen edges to move.

Made with:
Unity
Chipmunk2d Physics

Hope you have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#107Fun(Jam)3.41
#152Overall(Jam)3.43
#183Innovation(Jam)3.22
#288Mood(Jam)2.92
#319Graphics(Jam)3.16
#328Humor(Jam)2.28
#386Audio(Jam)2.51
#418Theme(Jam)2.83

Comments

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:59am

Well, for sure I wont become an architect. Nice game though.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:00am

Interesting idea and good realization.

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:11am

Fun game, found the rotation speed to be just a bit too fast.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:15am

Nicely done game, implemented well and quite fun to play. Good job!

Supercannon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:17am

Good idea, difficult and entertainer. Solid work for 1 weekend.

Stryphe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32am

Nice Game I enjoyed it a lot!

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:33am

great game, great idea, played it for about half an hour!!
Found an easy way to win, if you keep clicking on the torus you will win eventually (found out while trying to stack all by gravity)

epiplon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:43am

Haha, too bad I'm not a good architect.
Had a nice time and won't complain about being simplistic, the gameplay handles the job.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:55am

Thanks a for all the comments! Will play and rate everyone really soon :D

Darn really Tork? Thanks for lettin me know, tested that a little but didn't think it was possible.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:18am

Lovvvvve that title screen!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19am

Nice presentation, really clean and slick. I had a relaxing time playing it.

@Tork is right, seems like keeping the ring happy for 10 seconds while spamming it with objects makes you win.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:20am

I want to play this so bad! But it doesn't run on my mac!

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55am

Thanks ddionisio, gonna try and fix that!

Sorry MunkeeBacon :( What version of OSX are you running? Are you getting an error message?

endlosnull says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:04am

I had fun desperately trying to build something and watching it crumble in my own failure. Cool idea to try and build something that'll reach a goal for 10 seconds. I found the rotation speed to be a little too fast as well though. Good overall though.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Nice entry - at first I was thrown off by the bounciness of the pieces, but it actually adds a bit of chaos and a lot of fun to it :)

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Cool physics game. A few easier levels at the start, like smaller heights would have been cool.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:54pm

need some work

SamC says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:57pm

you can just spawn pieces at the ring to get more time... was this intended?

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Had fun playing this, found the rotating of the pieces to be a bit too fast though.

4xisblack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:14pm

A fun little concept executed well. Nice touches on the level select screen; it looks quite striking. Given how large these towers need to get I may have appreciated a bit less delay between block spawns (and a bit finer precision on the spins).

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:24pm

I'm trying to think of something - anything - negative to say. And I can't. My favourite game of this Ludum Dare!

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Hahaha, very well done! Love the particular look of the graphics-- not really sure just what it is about them.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:01pm

This is a lot of fun! Inspires strategic thinking and objectives are clear and challenging.
But is it just me or does the colour, shape, sound effect and the fact that it involves a circular hole make it seem like dropping poop? I was stuck grinning like an idiot for minutes after realizing this :}

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:07pm

I spent way too long playing it incorrectly, trying to place as many shapes in a stack as possible. was at 70 when I realized I needed to get to the rings at the top.

THEN it got fun.

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Fun game! Nice use of the Unity physics engine.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:17am

Always enjoy physics games.

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:51am

Neat game, love the design!

vladimirdlc says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:37pm

This is really cool, I enjoyed playing the game, physics are nice and presentation is austere but attractive.
I would have liked a little more of background sounds or music (and ESC on fullscreen :P), pretty solid nonetheless.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Looks and feels really solid, though fiendishly difficult. The pieces rotate just a tad too fast, too.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:44am

I thought I had a winning strategy until I saw your other levels. Tricky! A neat idea, executed well. Nice work!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:56pm

good job

Generalgore says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:19am

Great concept, both frustrating and relaxing at the same time. I played for quite a while. good job.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:37pm

I can imagine one can play this for a really really long time. You'll either tear your hair off or find Zen. Good job :-)

Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:28am

Love this game, great entry! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GcXHrH6VSV0

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Playing on a Mac (OSX 10) and there was no time element at all.

Komradus says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:56am

Entertaining and difficult, solid game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]