August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Forage

by Nucleartree123 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Forage is a game about collecting coloured cubes. You play as a circle and can move around using the arrow keys on your keyboard. There are two types of cube to collect. One is full and one is empty. You get points for collecting the correct type of cube. The correct type is dictated on the top of the screen. You only have ten seconds to get the highest score you possibly can. You can push h to get to the help menu and r to restart any time.

Forage is a bit primitive because I was on holiday in Portugal during the weekend of Ludum Dare. I had to use the computers in the internet bar. I was limited to notepad, Google Chrome and Microsoft Paint. I would have added some graphics if it wasn't for the fact that I had no access to a real graphical tool (however my drawing skills aren't the best). Also the keyboard was in Portuguese and all the useful keys were really hard to get to. I made this in about two hours so I really hope you enjoy playing it.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#944Theme2.68
#1076Mood1.47
#1139Fun1.89
#1182Innovation1.73
#1187Overall1.89
#1188Graphics1.40
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

frogcheese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:10am

I've got to give you props for managing to make something under those circumstances, because that sounded very tricky. I'm guessing pure JavaScript? While I won't say that this was one of the best entries I've tried of LD#27 it's probably the best game I've played that was made in two hours ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:21am

As a man with limited soft - you did well!

shard123 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:30am

With all your constraints I think you did a great job!

MvdLaar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:41am

Really awesome that you delivered something, that's a true game developer right there. Props!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:50am

Whoa! Nice game made in 2 hours!

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Woah! It was difficult!
Great job!

awppy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:22am

Would have preferred the collect type only change once every five seconds, or only on some special trigger as opposed to every second, but other than that, it's more than I'd be able to do in 2 hours!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:05am

I think the ball moves way too fast (but I guess that makes it a challenge). It's a nice entry for being done in only 2 hours with limited tools.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Good for only two hours!
I wonder what you would have done under other circumstances...

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Pretty nicely done for just 2 hours on your hand. The gameplay is probably a little difficult, I think if you added a cube that reset the 10 second timer it would be really addictive to play. nice job anyway.

Laelien says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:42am

Hey, don't you think it's hard enough to make a game with the usual conditions, you want a better challenge ? :P
For a two hours job, it's kind of great actually !

Sheep says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Could use some more work. Too bad it doesn't keep track of your highscore.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]