August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Fractured Day

by srimech - Jam Entry

Time has become fractured and you seem to be experiencing it in short, random bursts. Try to ignore that, though. What's important is that you have to find your ID card and get on the boat before it leaves at 7pm.

Use the arrow keys to move around. Once you've picked up some items, you can use them by dragging their icons on the bottom left of the screen to parts of the world near your character.

This is a change of tools for me, I've gone from PyGame to Javascript/HTML5 and Perl CGI, so it is not well coded. It is very easy to cheat by calling the web scripts manually.

I've tested this on Chrome (OSX, Windows, Linux), Firefox (Linux) and Safari (OSX).

It doesn't work on Internet Explorer or any Android browser at the moment.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#509Graphics(Jam)2.47
#533Theme(Jam)2.47
#541Innovation(Jam)2.27
#587Overall(Jam)2.27
#595Fun(Jam)1.80
#1738Coolness22%

Comments

tamat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Interesting, maybe the collision are too harsh, I got stuck in corners all the time.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Not really sure how to win, but I like the art

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:10pm

I can't seem to to drag the items.

srimech says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Thanks for the feedback, it probably is a bit too difficult. I didn't get a chance to get anyone to play test it before submitting.

srimech says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:16pm

There's no visual feedback on dragging, and you need to be standing quite close to the thing/person you're dragging to.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59am

As srimech said, a visual feedback for the dragging would be nice

davidwparker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:38am

Yeah, I couldn't figure out how to win either, but interesting starting point...

tokw says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:37pm

i beat the game and it looped there's a bug though you can get behind the cars to the right from there you can access the boat good game though brilliant concept nice job

canvapps says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:38pm

It looks interesting, but I'm trying to figure out how to win. I think I'm going to bookmark it, to play any amount of time it takes to find the solution! :D
Nice art!

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:32pm

I like that is all made out of symbols. Dragging didn't seem to work for me, or maybe is the missing visual feedback that srimech said.

Andresh says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:00am

Couldn't grasp what i had to do or if there was a pattern in the screens after 10s.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]