August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tensed Seconds

by triforcespark - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Time's running out.
Can you give yourself some extra moments before the deadline?
Your life is time itself.

Tensed seconds was done on Game Maker v.8.0(art and programming.) Music was done using PxTone Collage, and sound effects using SFXR.

Controls:
A/D to move left/right (or left and right buttons)
Space to jump
Left-click to shoot projectiles.

Initial time to finish the stage starts at 10 seconds.
Cyan gems extend time by 5 seconds.
Blue gems add +1 attack power.
Yellow gems reduce time penalties by 1 second per point.
Multi-colored gems increase starting time by 1/2 of a second.

(c)2013 ChronoRose Soft

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#281Audio3.03
#466Fun3.03
#471Graphics3.03
#732Overall2.89
#772Mood2.46
#842Humor1.76
#954Theme2.67
#1067Innovation2.15

Comments

ranf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:01am

That was quite cute. I never really got used to the controls though.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:05am

there was a big up/down/twisty part that seemed unnecessary and annoying, right next to a big boss dude. jumping seem odd(too floaty/high?) collision of boxes from below are a little off?

Overall I enjoyed it a fair amount! I love this style and approach to games! Gold Star!

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:12am

Enjoyable, very cute, and sometimes frustrating. The problem lies in the twitchy overly fast movements and jumping, especially given all the small platforms you have to jump onto. But I did like the game!

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:46am

Very enjoyable with nice graphics and art. I wish when you lose you didn't go back to the beginning of the game though. It was discouraging to have to replay the entire game if I lost on a level. Would have been great to start right back at the level I died. Especially since extra time doesn't roll over. At the end of a level I could have 30 seconds left then I start back at ten and am rushing because I don't want to have to play the whole game again. I really liked that you had extra challenge collectibles though.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Good game, but it didn't do much with the theme...

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:20pm

I liked replaying the earlier levels to find all the hidden collectibles, but it would be nice to have a choice to redo a level instead of starting from the beginning. Also, this might just be nitpicky, but your art had different pixel resolutions, which looked weird to me. Overall it was fun!

whiteravens says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:59am

The controls are quite difficult. I suggest putting the jump on W instead of spacebar, and shooting can be better at the Spacebar (if you want it all keyboard).

Nice try for LD Compo though :)

Ossi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:18am

I didn't mind that jump was on the space bar but it definitely makes more sense on the W key in this case. I really like the art and layout of the levels and the variable jump height is a nice touch even though the acceleration on it's peak seems a bit too fast. I wish you played more into the 10 Seconds theme, seems like you bypass the time limit with pickups. Perhaps a negative item that resets you back to 10 seconds if you touch it, or the closer enemies get time moves faster. Great job though, shooting those enemies is satisfying!

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53am

Fun game, really, but the odd jumping mechanics make it quite hard. The fact that you start over from level 1 tend to make people not want to play more than a few times, and that's a shame, 'cause you've got a nice little game here.

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Enjoyable!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:57am

Nice platformer, don't like how the levels repeat after you complete the last one. Would have been better without the time mechanic.

thegrimace says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:08am

I thought it was pretty fun, but the jump mechanic felt really odd to me. I had a hard time landing on platforms. The music was enjoyable.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:49am

Jumping seemed a bit wonkey. Graphics were rather nice and simple.

Lancey says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:57am

The jump is really floaty, but I liked the progressive character. The AI wasn't threatening enough to make it withwhile and the game started looping for me, but I enjoyed it nonetheless!

Endurion says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:20am

Very nice, but the controls are annoyingly floaty.

GFM says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Nice game! :)
The song was great!!

But jump felt a little too floaty.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:26pm

I liked this game, and managed after several atempts to reach the level with all the high-hp bosses, which was where I got mauled!

Sep 9, 2013 @ 12:57pm

i liked the cuteness, and the idea of extending time to keep to the theme. controls a bit tricky, but the fire in any direction model obviously needs the mouse.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]