August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Leveling on borrowed time

by Xatulu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE 27.08.2013:
Added additional Keybindings for Arrow Keys + CTRL for shooting + Movement
Limited Rate of Fire
Enabled Lazymode (keep Space pressed to shoot - no more RSI)

2d sidescrolling RPG Zombie Shooter based on Time Survival in HTML5 with impactJS.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#300Audio2.99
#517Humor2.28
#580Fun2.90
#676Graphics2.70
#724Overall2.90
#726Mood2.50
#1051Innovation2.19
#1126Theme2.16

Comments

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:52am

Nice game! Cutesy graphics style and fun gameplay. I love the particle effects for the blood and stuff. I'm just not so sure how well it fits into the theme.

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:25am

Interesting game! WASD and space is a little bit awkward feeling, but otherwise nice attempt.

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28am

Spent more time talking to the old man than the actual game

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:31am

It took me a while to figure out that I had to upgrade my weapon. Doing this during combat was a bit annoying.

The music is really good, reminds me of Doom.

Infernal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32am

my poor space bar!

cy4n says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32am

Looks nice, but not really fun..nice try though!

qrunchmonkey says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33am

Good graphics and great audio but it doesn't really fit the theme.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33am

Fun game, with catchy music. I liked it. But I failed to find a relevant connection with the 10 second thing. I had A LOT of time to do my business (killing the baddies). Only after killing the big guy, I remembered that I could use the 1,2 and 3 keys. I found the intro level a bit too long...

Other than that, the game ran smoothly on Firefox (on Arch Linux 64 bits). I liked it.

jwolf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38am

Not bad, pretty fun.

Is there a preferred browser that you'd like this one to be run on? The audio was temporarily cutting out on me whenever I took a shot (in Firefox).

Xatulu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47am

Thanks for your comments.

Towards the "disconnected from the theme" - critiques: Yeah, you are right, and i apologize. I had more features planned which would be more centered around 10 seconds, but i failed to implement them, so i am sorry to disappoint you guys.

@jwolf: I'm running Chrome28 without problems, but i will try some different browsers and check back with some findings!

Xatulu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50am

Oh and @lulzfish_4:
Well, i would really call it an "upgrade". The Pistol is a good "all-around weapon" that scales well into the boss fight. (Boss HP increases at the same rate a pure damage pistol users damage would increase), Shotgun has a closer range and slower bullets, but scales stronger, while the faster and more fun RocketLauncher actually does less damage then the Pistol from Level 7 onward.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39am

The time limit seemed a bit pointless considering how much time you could get

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:17am

Really catchy music, and pretty fun. A little glitchy and a bit too easy to grind, but those can be overlooked for a 2 day game. Overall pretty great :D

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:27am

Great music, but pressing space bar is kind of annoying to shoot.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Cute, kinda fun. Didn't get my weapon first time, and I was a bit confused, but replayed it and played it right.

autlos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Good game, but the music is a bit annoying and the game doesn't fit the theme at all.

Cheers ^^

Diventurer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Oh. My. God.
I freaking love this game. The music is just AWESOME. I spent all my experience on damage+, so I freaking owned those zombies. One thing that bugged me was that when you spawned, it was sometimes hard to move forward, as zombies would spawn on top of you. But that's just a minor thing. Again, you did a great job! Don't worry about the ending screen, it was well worth it. :)

immanuela says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Played this for a lot longer than I thought I would from the title (this was before I understood the title - good job.) Gotta love pixellated blood :)

lazyeels says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Nice work, I enjoyed playing, loved the 8-bit graphic style.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Nice nice!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Very fun! I loved the audio and the blood particle effects.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Good game, I love the animation and retro-style. The music is decent too.

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:31pm

I did have fun as Alex Kidd in Doom with Daley Thompson Supertest levels of RSI.

Small bug note: After beating it and pausing my spacebar hammering to read I died. A bug on respawn occurred where the player spawns in a zombie and collisions ensue.

davidwparker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10pm

How did you like impact?

Didn't really make it very far, but well done.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Not bad at all. I found the tutorial too long, and I also found myself disregarding the panel on the left completely, but neither of that prevented me from having fun shooting those zombie things :-)

Xatulu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:48am

Thanks for the feedback guys!

@davidwparker: Well, impact sure made a lot of things very easy, especially hit detection, and i don't really have any problem with it per se, my problems with it stem from the lacking of OOP for JS (even with the hack) and the abmyssal Syntax. Overall nice, and i don't regret buying it, but i will most likely not use it again (unless i don't find time to work with libgdx until next LD)

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:11am

Fun game, but it could use a little polish. I was constantly closing my window using ctrl+w ;P

madk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:17am

I shot at the big bossy guy for a solid several minutes before losing patience and quitting. Is it even possible to fell him? Also, the controls are bad. My fingers ache from shooting.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:53am

Nice work!! Really fun :)

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:24am

Need a way to shoot by keeping the spacebar pressed, and a fix for the sound.. In fact, if i press the space bar too fast, the shooting sound break, and can't be heared anymore.

Interesting idea of killing monster in limited time, and nice upgrades too.

Xatulu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:44am

Well, based on all your input, i will throw in a quick fix for the repeated space tapping later tonight.

truiton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:54am

Fun little game ^^

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:08am

Bit too much buttonmashing for my taste :P

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:35pm

A fun game. It would have been nice to be able to hold down the fire button though, especially for a game where you fire thousands of shots :P Overall the game was okay, but I failed to see the connection to the theme. Well you had 10 seconds initially, but at the rate you earn more time, the effect on the game is non-existing.

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:44pm

i think i developed new muscles playing this, the big guy is just too uber.

nice work on the atmosphere, the controls feel nice and responsive but it seems as if the jump could be higher to avoid bigger mobs and groups of smaller ones. and less space bar mashing please :D

thesunnyk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Overall, the theme was very loosely adhered to. The sound and graphics were nice enough. A huge problem was the game balance -- there was a jump button but you could only just not jump over the zombies. They also took too many shots to take down. There was a gun but it had a "200" over it and I had no idea how to pick it up, and a "tunnel" which you went into when you basically ran into zombies and died.

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Nice graphics.

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Nice game!

raoz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:09pm

ervion: Great Music! Intro seemed a bit long, but game itself was rather good.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:49pm

I love the music and particle effects! Well done :)

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Like game experience system. Well done!

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Nice music and good looking minimal retro graphics. Love the pixel blood by the way! :)

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:20pm

<3 the graphics and gameplay!

Pacing/balance could use a little more work.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:34am

Cool game! Love the way it's easy to learn how to play! The instruction at the begining is a very good idea!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:05am

Cute, and nice intro, but pretty basic game.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:41am

Was pretty amusing! Liked the music!

Ailin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:50am

Nice game. Audio is however a bit repetitive

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Nice game, but a bit confused, it seems complicated.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:10pm

I really enjoyed this game, it was quite fun :) It seems to me as though the weapons weren't balanced very well, and the first weapon is better than both of the two you can buy. Still fun, though.

blay09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:29am

Nice little game and good music, overall it was a bit easy, but that's still better than being too hard :)

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:25pm

The music was brilliant in this :) great job on the game.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Very nice :) Had fun while playing.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:03am

Quite the interesting game. I loved the music, but I couldn't find where the 10 second theme was implemented.
Good job nonetheless!

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:09am

Well done! I like the killing-for-time mechanic, but it's made a little pointless by the sheer number of enemies that appear.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:21pm

I liked it a lot! Fun XP-based game. Could've used a continuos shooting function by holding down the spacebar, but was still fun.

Xatulu says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:40pm

BenWhi, I actually included that later on, should be working :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Nice)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:07am

Agree with most all the above comments. Nice job for 48 hrs. I'd work on it more and polish it up.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:54pm

pretty good and fun for a 48 hour comp. controls and physics felt intuitive. nice in adding the rpg elements.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]