August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Maze

by Bjeaurn - Jam Entry

Put in about 12 hours total, because I used an pre-existing engine I wrote for another game. I had a blast! Will probably be entering the next Ludum Dare and go for the actual 48 hours competition!

The game is called "10 Second Maze" and as the title suggests, you have to complete a set of different mazes in less than 10 seconds in order to complete the game. There are slight RPG elements in the form of upgrades and little puzzles!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#203Theme(Jam)3.31
#380Fun(Jam)2.69
#489Humor(Jam)1.38
#507Mood(Jam)2.20
#512Innovation(Jam)2.35
#517Graphics(Jam)2.42
#547Overall(Jam)2.50
#1337Coolness44%

Comments

paradoxa says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:20pm

good job!!

Bjeaurn says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Thanks! Did you manage to complete the game? :D

Animated says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Pretty good, but this collision detection is slightly off and I get stuck on walls a lot.

Ice says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Need a better job in collision,
some music, some basic animation and it can be fun =]

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:04am

I seriously enjoyed this. Glitches aside, this is nicely done.

gigitrix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53am

I like the idea, once I figured out that the timer resets in the safe zones!

borden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:45am

needs a little polish, but most of them do, don't they. The record setting feature is a nice touch.

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:09am

I really like the game. Good job!

lightsoda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00pm

I like that it has some progression, and added mechanics to keep the player interested. Some slidey collision would probably have been preferred over getting stuck in the walls.

Todnut says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Fun game! I didn't like the penalty for failing. I liked the store.

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:01pm

I love the game

Infin8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Kinda hard to figure out at first, but great overall! Collisions...

joekinglake says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Great use of the theme, i'd love to see the game further developed with animations, music, etc. I like the style of the graphics so far. Good stuff!

TeamBob says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Some problems with collisions, but the game concept is cool!

DarfnageL says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06pm

This is a very enjoyable game, I love the record feature!

Sloth Jesus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:07pm

I can tell there was effort put into this.

someone says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Nice game, Collision felt a bit buggy though.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:18pm

So, a series of time challenges, combined with an (albeit pretty tiny) overworld and an upgrade shop? Pretty cool concept. I also liked that there are part of the levels that change other parts, like the triggers.

What I didn't like though was the penality for losing. You need upgrades to win, you need money to buy upgrades, and you need to win to get money. So - if you lose money, you can't buy upgrades anymore, and winning is highly unlikely if not impossible in certain passages. You can't go back to old levels either to get more money. So you are basically stranded: You can't go on, but you're not game over. Stalemate, and it's up to you to quit the game.

The graphics look nice - I like the little dude.

Why's there no music or sound effects though? If you're in the jam, you really have no excuses - there are so many pages to get those from. For sound effects, freesound.org is pretty good. For music, I love incompetech.com, and newgrounds.com/audio is superb too. Since you want participate in the compo next time: Try out abundant-music.com - it's a music generator with a surprisingly high quality.

Congratulations on finishing your first LD entry! I hope a lot more will follow :)

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:55am

Yay I did it! Not a bad game but there were a couple of gripes I had with it. Losing money meant that some of the levels then became impossible to beat so I had to restart the game. Thankfully after I learned about the safe zones I didn't have too much to worry about. I did feel the panic created quite a good mood to the game. Only other criticisms were the collision was a bit off, and that my character spazzed out sometimes after going back to home or a new area. I think this could be really good game with a bit more work/polish and it stands itself apart from the normal maze-game genre.

Bjeaurn says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:39am

Oh wow guys! Thanks for the feedback. I will be upgrading my collision detection in the engine for the next time I'll use it and add a second tier pixel perfect collision detection to prevent further problems with it.

I simply didn't feel like adding sound or music, so I guess that was a little silly of me since it's usually just part of a game. I didn't really think about that so I'll definitely add that next time.

Thanks for all the nice and constructive responses, I'll surely join in again the next time!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:52pm

This game was fun to play, but I also found it very challenging, over all- great job!! I featured it in my LD27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/FJWNdgd85u0

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]