August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time and Shapes

by woftles - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a magical polygon and the evil squares are out to get you. Under a curse, you may only live for 10 seconds. You can extend your life by defending yourself with your magical polygon projectiles in this fast paced two-dimensional arcade game.

Development logs are included in both the source and game zips.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#52Graphics4.11
#121Fun3.54
#131Overall3.59
#134Audio3.36
#173Humor3.11
#212Mood3.26
#488Theme3.25
#735Innovation2.74

Comments

cbear_wallis says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:47pm

love the visual style!

UnAdmin says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Very neat with the shapes.

Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Could you supply a 32-bit version? It looks interesting, all those beautiful polygons.

woftles says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52am

I was fairly sure that was a 32 bit version uploaded, but I'll go repackage in a bit. If anyone on Mac can comment on whether that version works, I'm not able to test it myself.

andreyin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24am

Loved it! But it sucks that you can't shoot in a direction while going to other direction. Apart from that it's pretty cool.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26am

Wouldn't run for me on OS X :/

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27am

Absolutely loved the style and graphics and sound effects!

I would have loved a keyboard control to move and shoot differently though, but

Game was done extremely well!

Rhinoceros says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:28am

http://25.media.tumblr.com/4ef985a44fc034570a5858901cc4d744/tumblr_mms33egqjn1qzewkno1_r1_500.png
Image is related.
Made me lol.

kidder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29am

love the synthesized voices. very challenging and fun to play.

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31am

Nice clean graphics style. I liked that you could only shoot forward, that makes the gameplay a little more unique.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31am

The bullet-time effect was really smooth.

woftles says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:33am

Any errors given Zuige? I don't have a mac so I can't test my packages.

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36am

The clean polygons and computer voice enhanced the shooting and dodging that alerted me. If you continue to develop this, have you considered exploring another powerup?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36am

This is really fun. Doing badly is just as fun as doing well. Thanks Obama indeed.

woftles says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53am

The game is definitely packaged for win32. Make sure you unzip it before running. If you have any other problems please comment away and I'll get it sorted.

Ethankennerly, I have considered more powerups that alter your projectiles in more interesting ways that statistics.

arcticleaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:32pm

pretty cool, the visual style is good

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:39am

I got an error.

TimeAndShapes cannot be opened because of a problem.
Check with the developer to make sure TimeAndShapes works with this version of OS X. You may need to reinstall the application. Be sure to install any available updates for the application and OS X.

Click Report to see more detailed information and send a report to Apple.

NMcCoy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:06am

Heh, the screenshot makes it look like a long lost cousin of my own entry. Nifty game!

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:08am

My favorite thing about this one was how the moving and aiming were using the same control, which totally messed with my usual way of playing this kind of game. I didn't find myself using bullet time very much... The difficulty wasn't with everything happening too fast, but with the speed I can shoot, I think.

woftles says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:06am

There's no limit on how fast you can click and there are powerups for bullet speed. Bullet time can increase your overall fire rate if you want to use it as a volley strategy.

Laelien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:23am

Okay, I should probably stop playing now, or I'll stay up all night. Loved it, 'nuff said.

joelrobichaud says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:30am

The graphics and sounds somehow pair up very nicely. Had fun playing it!

Danex317 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:28pm

I wish I could have moved in a different direction than I was shooting. But I loved everything else.

EvilObjective says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Couldn't play on OSX :(
Error: TimeAndShapes cannot be opened because of a problem. Check with the developer to make sure TimeAndShapes works with this version of OS X. You may need to reinstall the application. Be sure to install any available updates for the application and OS X.

woftles says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:28am

Alright thanks. I'll retry the port ASAP.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Score: 729, 144 seconds and yes I feel proud! Watch out for this magical polygon!

I like how you have to be strategic in which enemy you're moving towards/aiming at. Very smooth controls, and clean audio/visual design.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Very stylish! Also, haha - 1000+ fps here.

Terrabyte says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:56pm

I really like the visuals and idea! It gets quite addictive after a while :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]