August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Infinitinsanescape

by Chronodrax - Jam Entry

Infinitinsanescape is about you, in a train, doing everything you can to prevent it from derailing.
Access the cockpit and adjust the tracks in front of the train through the computer, to avoid a horrible, inertia-less game over.

Minimum speed will increase every 10 seconds... up to INFINITINSANE speed.
Good luck.

Update(08/31/13): Re-uploaded win/max/linux versions with the alpha bug on notes corrected. And with complete credits.

- WASD / arrows to move
- mouse to look
- Pg.up / Pg.down or Left/Right-click to change speed
- E to switch the next lane
- R to retry

Credits:
- Chronodrax (game design, art, background code)
- MZ (code & tracks gameplay)
- Music : BoxCat_Games_-_10_-_Epic_Song (from freemusicarchive.org)
- SFX made with : as3sfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#41Innovation(Jam)3.78
#46Mood(Jam)3.73
#99Fun(Jam)3.44
#105Overall(Jam)3.53
#115Audio(Jam)3.39
#146Humor(Jam)2.96
#151Graphics(Jam)3.78
#311Theme(Jam)3.03
#1359Coolness42%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19am

I cant pass 565 meters ;) Very nice concept I love it ! Great work, beautiful graphic, interesting gameplay. Cute way to show the instruction.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:10pm

919 meters :) nice game! it can be nice to choice the next rail

KeithE. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Not loading for me. Seems like a cool idea though. I'll try again later.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:06pm

2976 Yeah! Nice entry. The control are hard to understand, for the next players think to read the post it instructions and the screens control.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:19am

Awesome :) Couldn't find a retry button though, so I had to keep reloading the browser window to try and improve :)

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Oh man it makes you wanna go with the speed of light - but tracking the track... oh boy what a challenge :D

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:55pm

502 meters D: Awesome idea, great graphics and the mechanics were fun! Good job!

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Cool graphics, pretty hard but a fun game once you figure it out

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Great idea! Love the concept and the fact that you made it all take place in the game world, even the game over screen.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:56pm

So good I wet my pants the first time I died.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Only problem is the paper on the walls doesn't have any transperency

deepnight says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Very nice game and really original gameplay!
However the theme relation is a little tight.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:09pm

GREAT use of unity. probably the best I've seen so far in a jam game.
great idea with cockpit walls.
great visuals.
great choice of music.
great sense of speed.
on top of that, it's addictive as shit. please make a full game out of this concept.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:32am

Great game. The concept is simple, but you made a world and a mood out of it with audio, graphics, gameplay, etc. And that's what i like.

haxpor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Wow, totally nice idea! Fun game!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Very nice game. The idea is great and sometime really hard.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Very fun game =]

BrothersT says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:55am

2255 the first time I played (and understood what I was doing ;) )

Very nice! it's a really fun, heart-pumping game! Great mood.

shatley123 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:06am

nice

Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:46pm

JESUS CHRIST

The first 6 seconds are TERRIFYING. Empty ghost-train? Manic scribblings on the wall? Dystopian sci-fi cityscape devoid of human life? Unnatural Thunderstorm-cover? This is heavy.

Then the ghost-train starts moving and you don't know what's happening, oh god oh god oh god. In this punishment for something? Why am I here? Is this hell?

The music takes the kick out of the atmosphere, when the "actual" game begins.

Nice work with the display-controls! Makes it really feel intense. A bit of a shame you end up looking at the dashboard instead of "forward".

5 Stars Mood for dystopian hellish cityscape

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:02am

I love this! Awesome game. I crashed once simply because I was jamming out to the soundtrack xD

My best was 876 meters (its creepy cause this number was written on the wall)

I guess I didn't quite get as freaked out by it as Matthias down there, I loved the art and the mood!

Though I hope everyone reads the description, as that's the only way I could figure out the usage of the theme.

You should rate more games so you can get more ratings on this great game! :D

Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:05pm

words cant do this justice to be honest. 1600 meters. very good game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]