August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Escapes

by DrHahn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Think if Thomas Was Alone was a rage game, and you're getting where I was going with this.

Made Possible Using:
- Gamemaker Studio
- AS3SFXR
- Photoshop

Controls:
- WASD/Arrow Keys - Move
- ESC - Go to menu/Exit Game
- R - Restart a puzzle
- G - Give up on a puzzle and move on
- B - Go back to the last puzzle.

Well, this is the first game jam I've successfully completed.

Since I used Gamemaker:Studio, I apologize for the install.
My play testers assure me it'll be worth your while. Also Mac Version coming soon.

My site: http://www.element105.com.au/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Overall3.96
#34Fun3.87
#55Theme3.91
#325Innovation3.30
#518Audio2.62
#618Graphics2.78
#756Humor1.93
#1477Coolness36%

Comments

ghostonline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:23am

I am very impressed by the number of mechanics you managed to come up with to keep each floor interesting. Nice solid game!

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30am

I liked the mechanics you came up with, and how they played well together. A few of the levels seemed a bit too hard, but overall there was a nice difficulty curve.

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:13pm

I don`t like downloading games, I rather play them online (easier), but I downloaded yours and I must say it is great!
Really nice work! :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Very nice, this is much more complex than I expected! Also the controls are very smooth which makes it quite a fun experience. It was indeed worth installing.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:26pm

This was so much better than I thought it was gonna be when I first started playing. So far the most addictive game I've played in the competition. I've made a couple of puzzle type games within 48 hours so I know how hard it is to get the difficulty right and I think you did a brilliant job with that.

The sound and graphics are simple but it does the job. I think another sound effect for when the time runs out would be good, rather than the same effect you get when you die. The constant beeping sound actually adds tension.

I prefer the gameplay of this to Thomas Was Alone. All you need is some beautiful music and a celebrity to narrate it saying funny things. : )

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53pm

That was pretty fun. I loved how you syched up the lasers to the sound of the seconds ticking down. It got ridiculously hard towards the end, and I had to give up on a fare few levels. The "give up" feature really saves the game, because without it I would have gotten stuck not even half way through the game. My only real complaint is that some levels felt like a battle against the controls rather than solving a puzzle, more so towards the end. It was hard to keep up with all the different colors of cubes. Still, it was a overall great game.

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:05am

Good game! Surprisingly large amount of content given the short amount of time you had. The pinging sound is pretty annoying, and I'm not really a fan of the rage-platformer genre (particularly messing up control order). Great first entry!

Endurion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:30am

Google wants me to register, sorry.

DrHahn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:29am

@Endurion I'm not sure why it would want that, all the settings should have allowed you to. If you PM me you e-mail, I can send a copy directly.

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:44am

Surprising amount of depth for a game made in 48 hours.

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Don't know what was up with Google (had the same issue with others too), worked fine now.

Awesome little game. The stages where you have the other boxes are really hard. Well done!

No installer next time please (or use the proper install path, e.g Program Files)

gamepopper says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Really cool game, I like the idea of one input controlling all characters. :)

Mago says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:14pm

I'm impressed how many levels and game mechanics you managed to put in this game. Very decent platformer

Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Wow, this gets really crazy as it progresses. Pretty cool though.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:49pm

I love this maze game! It is awesome! I featured it in my LD27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/FJWNdgd85u0

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:23pm

I really liked this! I am fricking stuck at the fourth floor, but I haven't tried hard enough ;) I like the sounds, and the graphics, and the idea itself.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]