August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Spark

by fullmontis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What if your existance lasted only for an heartbeat?

As a short lived spark of life, navigate through the body of a man, aiming for the heart. Use the arrows to move.

Sorry for the barf graphics but I was extremely late and had hardly any time for putting in the tileset (which I actually drew, so it is quite a waste) and proper game design. The ending is also missing so when you reach the heart you can hang out with it for as long (or as short) as you wish.

Hope you enjoy it.

Made with Love2d framework and Moonscript.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#508Mood2.79
#760Audio2.14
#890Theme2.76
#922Innovation2.44
#953Humor1.44
#1019Fun2.28
#1026Graphics2.08
#1088Overall2.38
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10am

Nice atmosphere: the heartbeat and darkening after 10 seconds work well. The movement is rather slippery though, which is aggravating. Pretty good overall though.

eckcz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:18am

With some audio, effects and more levels. It will be a fun game.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:24am

Very cool game. I got all the way to to bottom, and was stuck!

Oh well. This game could use more gui! Nice job! Solid controls.

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43am

Nice game, but here are my suggestions:
1) when you enter a new level, the room should relit itself, since you won't be able to pass it with the charge remaining from the previous level anyway
2) after you die on the green things, the respawn should be faster
Also, is the level with green walls all around the last one?

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Cool game, I like the idea. I like how death isn't that big of a deal so to learn the rules in the beginning you experiment.

I agree the room should relight when you first enter. Also I noticed some bugs, namely my character would sometimes start moving one direction really fast. Other times the spark would immediately fade out at the start of a level. They didn't happen very often though so it wasn't that big of a deal.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:38am

I enjoyed the old school quality. Reminded me of playing the atari.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:41am

Wow this one is not easy ;) I love the game but man I can hardly make it to the fourth level

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:43am

It's nice to play in a maze you kind of already "know". :D It's impressive how the sound of a single heartbeat can create quite an atmosphere.

fullmontis says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:29am

Thanks for the feedbakc everyone! I updated the game, now the controls should be a little sharper and bug free. I have still no clue what creates the fading at the start of the level since I was unable to recreate the bug :/

hoqjed says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:27pm

I know you were killing for time but some audio would have greatly improved the atmosphere here. Giving what the graphics couldn't do for the game in such a tight schedule. I liked the darkening of the screen, it reminds me of another game called "I CAN HOLD MY BREATH FOREVER" which is quite similar and what I can imagine this could have been.

Lets see... aside from that the controls were nice, but navigating the area wasn't very... "clean". The tiled approach didn't quite suit the organic nature of the body, and made traversing tight area difficult. That said, the game isn't too harsh on players so it's easy to forgive frustrations when it "respawns" you back on the same screen.

Would have been nice to see what you had planned for an ending to the game!

alts says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:40am

I did appreciate that changes to the maze would persist lives, and that the game wasn't punitive at all with regards to death. Nice work.

supermaximo93 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Good job! I really liked the feel of the movement, slightly slidey but not too much. I would have liked to seen a proper ending though

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:28pm

I liked the heartbeat sound, but the rest of the game was kind of lacking in entertaining challenge.

berkano says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:32pm

This is a cool idea, wish you could have had more time to finish it off! Nice job though.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:35pm

I very often get the following error message when going from one level to the next one:

An error has occured that has caused Spark to stop.
You can notify Andrea Montagna about this at http://fullmontis.tumblr.com

zzForrest says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Really interesting game. I immediately noticed how most of the levels are designed to look like organs, such as a heart and lungs and a kidney that I saw. The game was too slippery so it ended up being harder than it should have been, but very nice entry!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Like the heartbeat sound, the graphics are nice and fitting. Need a restart button, I spent a lot of time waiting for new life. Would have been nice with an ending. Also you get stuck if you exit the difficult screen to the right.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:17pm

In the screen after you introduced the green stuff (named "shot2" in your screenshots up there) it took me a while to understand that it kills me. I just thought that my sense of time is a bit fuzzy. It would've probably been clearer to me if only some parts were made out of green like in the later levels.

I really like the persistent switches that extend the current screen. It felt a bit exploratory :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]