August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Whodunit

by Nezzhil - Jam Entry

Hotfix 28 August:
Ok... when fixing the bug i created other WORST: the clock was stopped. :(.

Please, anybody downloaded the game that day, I encourage to redownload it. Sorry for the inconvenience!

WHODUNIT
(Ludum Dare Jam #27 edition)

- Requeriments -

Java 7
A keyboard

- The Game -

Someone has killed the grandfather of the family and all of you are trapped in the mansion with the killer! Whodunit?. Search the clues, press the suspects and find the murderer before he or she kills everyone!.

Every 10 seconds one person inside the mansion will be killed by the hidden murderer. Try to unmask him (or her) before are you alone.

Win the game discovering the murderer, but it not the only... Save more lives to win with better marks!

- Credits -

Desing:
Victor Perdomo Pastor
Antonio Perdomo Pastor

Programing:
Victor Perdomo Pastor

Graphics:
Victor Perdomo Pastor
Antonio Perdomo Pastor

Audio:
Freesound.org (sfx)
Garageband (music)


- Controls -
Esc: Quit the game
Cursor keys: Move (game screen), select clue (inventory screen)
Spacebar: Search, Talk
L. Alt: Point a suspect like the murderer
Enter: Enter and exit of the inventory screen

- Gameplay -

Guilty chart: show your top five suspects.
Clue: show your activated clue. Use it to interrogate the suspects.
Timebar: show the seconds before another suspect is killed.


- Pro-tip -

Be very careful pointing the suspects, one error and you are dead! Try to break the most alibis as you can to make the Guilty Chart more reliable.

Like a true detective, take notes is a must! Take notes about the clues that don't break the alibi of a suspect.


- Final words... -

Thanks to our family and friends for their support, and the Ludum Dare's organization and users for made this possible.

We are very tired after 72 hours of (funny) work, so excuse us for the typos :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#22Innovation(Jam)3.86
#32Mood(Jam)3.89
#32Overall(Jam)3.86
#50Theme(Jam)3.71
#50Audio(Jam)3.69
#57Graphics(Jam)4.23
#137Fun(Jam)3.32
#183Humor(Jam)2.84

Comments

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Bufixed: If someone downloaded the game a hour ago before the endline. Please, redownload it. :)

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00am

How does one run this puppy? Trying java -jar Whodunit.rar and getting the ole "Invalid or corrupt jarfile"....

turnA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20am

I've got this error message when entering the main game scene (tutorial is okay):
Exception in thread "LWJGL Application". No uniform with name 'colorFilter' in shader
My OS is Windows 7 with JDK 1.7.0_07

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:54am

pretty cool game :)

-ENDESGA

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:48am

@awesomesauce You need to uncompress the rar, but if you can't, I added a link only with the jar ;)

@turnA Thanks for the info, I think is fixed now.

raincole says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53am

The graphics is really great, but I have no idea what I am doing.

ElisaDG says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:08am

Great Game!!
Make Sure you read the tutorial before play :D

manabreak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:47am

This. Was. Awesome!

At first, I was a bit confused, but after 30 seconds (and a couple of murders), I fell in love with this game. This is so awesome, and the interpretation of the theme is really cool!

If you continue on developing this (and I really hope you do!), you can take the 10-second limitation out, maybe replace it by 30 minutes or something. Please, make a full-fledged detective game like this! :)

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:54am

I really liked this game. It's incredibly difficult and took me a few goes to work out. The music and timing help make the game feel very frantic. Reminds me of "Where's an egg?" By homestarrunner. The art was really good, the interface is confusing, (eg. characters are described by name, but you can only see their images). It's workable.

Overall very good work.

kannas says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:06am

aaaand the first dude to take 5 stars out of me iiiiiis you! :D really loved this game. the art is awesome. you chose the right music, and most than anything theidea is genial . i agree with manabreak, we want an indepth development of this game, i would be the first buyer :D

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:07am

Interesting take on the 10 seconds theme! The game provides quite a challenge too.

Trying to go up/down the stairs and standing at the right spot to pick up evidence was somewhat hard, along with the evidence selection.

evilentity says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Pretty fun. Quite original

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Whoa, great way to use the theme! Really liked the setting, the graphics fit well, and the audio helped to set the mood. Great game, overall.

Zekyon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:06pm

At first I don't understood part of the mechanic (my fault, I hate the tutorials xD) and it was a bit tricky, but in five-ten minutes I discover what I'd to do and the game became really beautiful.
The graphics are awesome and I love everything that has to do with detectives, so, this game has been a good discovery for me (and for whoever that play it, I think).

Congratz!

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Great game! I love the pixel art graphics

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Real cool graphic indeed. I can't figure out what to do though. I found clues, but i don't know how to raise suspect... i will try this again later!

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:06pm

@Lidfrid You only need to be sure that have a clue selected and press the spacebar near a suspect. If the clue is related with him, the suspect rate will go up.

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:17pm

I love the art and lighting effects.

I really like how you put all this together it has excellent mood and is a fun play.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Amazing game, was very fun!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:18am

Wow, this one's a keeper. Looks, sounds and plays wonderfully, I'm really enjoying this. you should definitely do more with this one.

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:22am

Awesome entry! Hard too. If it was easier to go up and down the stairs I would have stood a better chance.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:06am

It's a great system, and fun to navigate! The pressure is really turned up with the amount of information that I need to sift through. So far I've had no luck connecting clues to suspects, and I don't tend to know who is in the house or where, so the gaps in my understanding are a serious barrier against my victory. However, that doesn't dampen my fun too much, as I'm sure I'll figure it out eventually!

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:31am

I have reuploaded the game fixing a crash dump caused by the "maid" and "thief" when they appear together.

Thanks for all comments and we're preparing a version of 20 seconds of time and slower movement. :)

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Ok... fixing the bug i created other WORST (the clock was stopped :(). Please, anybody downloaded the game previously today, redownload it. Sorry for the inconvenience!

SlayerEXE says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Amazing. This game is awesome, and the theme... omg, I want a full game of this plz.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:51am

I love it, great art and music! :)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:18am

This idea is awesome, and the game is beautiful. I would definitely play this game if you developed it further (and maybe increased the 10 second timer drastically :P
Very nice interpretation of the theme!

Capro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:27am

This is awesome. It's well realized and very fun to play. Great job!

PhiL Blunt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:44am

Great graphics and idea.

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:25am

this is a fun game but is hard

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:33am

Investigating and interrogating takes far too long in my opinion. Takes away from the otherwise (great) frantic mood.

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:56am

Wow, that was really good!!

imef says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Nice graphics! I'll have to play again to find out the murder.

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Beautiful artwork, animations and music, really atmospheric. The mechanic is excellent too - I only wish the 10 second limit could be extended! I hope you develop this further - it has heaps of potential.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:36am

Incredible work! The visuals are great, and the idea itself is pretty unique. I think it's too hard to try to figure out the mystery with people dropping every 10 seconds :P pretty fun nonetheless tho! I'd love a post compo version with a more relaxed investigation period!

Mesene says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Awesome! I enjoyed it a lot

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:52pm

I can't play because I'm on a network that blocks dropbox. It looks really interesting though, and shout out to a fellow libGDX developer!

Shameless self-promotion: I offer free Java hosting at http://StaticVoidGames.com if you're interested!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:05pm

This is probably one of my favourites in the jam. My only problem was finding out how to climb and descend the stairs! Great use of the theme, some solid detection mechanics and the fact that it's randomly generated makes it soo replayable! Fantastic work guys!

Antidote says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Pretty nice graphics and gameplay, although I don't think the "10 seconds" theme worked well with this genre. Good job.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:11pm

I really like the graphics style although the fonts could be in a higher resolution. The sound is also very athomsheric. I don't like the 10 second time limit. It makes the game hectic.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Very energetic! Wow!
Condensing a whodunnit mystery into 10second chunks.
I felt so guilty everytime a new person was murdered :)
Fantastic graphics and mood, kudos!

canvapps says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:35am

hahahaha everyone dies!
It was hard to figure out what was I doing, but the game is awesome for the time available.
Great work!

Nezzhil says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:33am

Thanks again for the feedback. We're working in a new version post-Ludum Dare. :)

BNeutral says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:38am

Very nice. I wish you had a bit more time though.

urth says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Nice game but does not fit the theme at all.
10 seconds to investigate is ridiculous.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:20am

that's a redoncoulous amount of pixel art to do in one day. super hard through.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:15am

Very well done game, amazing graphics, sort of on the hair side though. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WX5erHA1DPE

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:31am

Really nice game, love the mood (especially the shadows). The 10 sec make it very hard thought :)

mklee says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:34am

Really solid idea, just wished it wasn't so finicky to investigate or talk to people, it's a little annoying trying to stand in "just" the right spot. For such a fast-paced game the interruptions when talking/examining break up the flow a bit too much. I just really wished it was a rapid-fire sort of crazy investigation game. Still solid stuff.

AlexFili says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:07pm

The graphical style is really good and the idea for the game is great. I would say that it's quite a difficult game and there's a lot of trial and error. There is quite a lot of confusion and misdirection on the part of the suspects which keeps it interesting. Very fun and challenging game!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:24pm

I couldn't manage to suspect anyone.. I used the web version. I need to click on the portraits to suspect someone, right?

gmaker says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:43pm

sounds are very very awesome!!! artwork too! it's FIVE i think!

Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:10pm

LOVED IT. IT's awesome! Didn't manage to solve the case but the game is certainly well done, it's fun to play and definitely sets the mood!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:21am

Awesome game, max points for innovation.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]