August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Magic Power = 10x

by Koltiman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What do you do when you find yourself stuck in an abandoned facility, equipped with nothing more than telekenisis and a crate? You use your magic to move the crate, solving puzzles of course! Just watch out, your magic can only be used for 10 seconds! D:

This game is very short (2-5 minutes, depending on your puzzling skills), and completely written in Java, meaning the jar (should) work(s) on every OS.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#257Innovation3.40
#580Fun2.90
#640Audio2.39
#744Theme2.95
#811Overall2.80
#1016Graphics2.10
#1613Coolness30%

Comments

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Very fun idea! You can sort of get stuck on one of the levels (I got out by jumping and then moving the box) so perhaps being able to press R at any time would be good?

I finished it! Cute ending, I liked the cryptic message at the start ;)

Koltiman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Getting stuck on the box was actually a precaution to make sure players couldn't cheat (in earlier versions, you could stand on the box and move it around, thus defeting the idea), i should have mentioned it but kindoff forgot :P

CogComp says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Nice original idea

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Great work!

Sink says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:54am

Cool little game, the text was kinda tough to read but other than that it was very creative and I quite enjoyed it.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:34pm

I like the idea!
Could be executed better though...

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:18pm

This was pretty fun. I like the main sprite.

Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:35pm

This is a pretty fun game, love the idea! Great job for the time, however I also couldnt really read the text. Because this game is a small java window, it will not record with fraps. Therefore, I could not add it to my LD27 video compilation series... sorry

Antidote says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:36pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ud_oVfy87J4 - My first impressions of the game :D

Koltiman says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Yay, you did a video of my game! :D

Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Wow! original idea! :D great work :D now imagine this game with a lot more stuff *w*!!!

Koltiman says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Im thinking about doing a post compo with smaller textures and bigger window among other things.

dlowe says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Impressive. It was a little tough to figure out what I was trying to accomplish on the first level, after that it was pretty simple. Twist ending made me laugh :)

DissidentDan says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Neat idea. I got stuck on the level with the 3-block pillar. There doesn't seem to be any way to get past it. Is that intentional?

Koltiman says ...
Sep 18, 2013 @ 3:02pm

The level with the long pillar is intentional. You are suppoused to let the magic time run out and then "go back in time" ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]