August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Droplet

by TaleLore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Droplet is a game where you control a thirsty water droplet who is doomed to evaporate under the harsh light of the Sandpit and must delve deeper into the earth to find somewhere dark and damp enough to survive.

Control the water droplet with the arrow keys. The longer you stay out of water the more you evaporate.
Going to a water pool replenishes your hydration bar. If the bar goes down, you have to restart the level.
Injuries cause you to lose some liquid, but you can survive if the injury is minor.

Hint: When you are a small droplet, you can use your size to your advantage.

This game was created using python with the Pygame and Tiledtmxloader libraries.
The levels were designed using Tiled.
The art was created in both graphicsgale and gimp.
The sound effects were made using bfxr.
The music was created using sunvox.
Packaged using py2exe.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#338Audio2.93
#373Innovation3.22
#420Theme3.31
#432Mood2.88
#459Overall3.15
#463Graphics3.04
#587Fun2.89
#693Humor2.00
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

Jicken says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46am

The concept of this game was amazing, as well as the execution.

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:04am

Great work. I like the idea and the scattered messages.

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:12am

I like the idea of finding most optimal path so you don't die. In this case water.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Nice work and great idea :)

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:51pm

I found the collision detection with the projectiles a bit inaccurate leading to some painful deaths. Other than that I really enjoyed this game :)

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Some parts are just Hard, but i like it!

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Good game! Very frustrating at some points...

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Really neat take on the theme, although challenging this is quite fun. :) Nice pixel art too, rated highly. :)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:57am

Nice concept. I like how you used theme in there.

Clavus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Pretty nice game. The collision detection on those pointy projectiles seems off though. Music got a bit annoying.

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:23pm

You made quite an atmospheric game within 48 hours. I did not find the levels too difficult. A bit more graphical variety would further increase its sightseeing appeal, even if just different background-wall tiles for each level. The collision needs to be tighter. The music became grating after awhile.

mutilator says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:25am

This is a fun game, with good graphics and sounds.

thegrimace says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:31am

The collision detection was a bit wonky, but otherwise it was alright.

phaed says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:42am

Super creative idea. Great level design in an LD timeframe.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Cute Game! For some reason it wouldnt record in fraps though :/

Solifuge says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:45am

When I heard the name, I thought it was going to be sideview, with you as a droplet sliding along ceilings and dropping down into space below. Very neat concept and execution, and I liked your interpretation of the theme! Thanks for putting this together.

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Nice game! With a bit of polishing it can be even better! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]