August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Greed Run

by Elrobo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Run Through endless gold filled caves attempting to survive as long as possible taking the most gold to the next tier.

Once you press any key the lava will start to rise, and you've got 10 seconds to collect everything and get to the next stage.

Controls are tank/snake like, Up/Left/Right or W/A/D to move forward and turn. Space to jump. R or Right CTRL to Reset immediately (jam it if you want to see the levels generate).


Plan your movements carefully. Jump pits, keep moving to avoid boulders (they are safe once they land).

Tips: Let off the move key right as you hit the exit (you slide ever so slightly). The next levels lava won't start to rise until you press a key (this also stops you from diving straight into a pit). You can change directions mid air so if you're feeling gutsy you can get floating treasure from corners.

Well it's definitely not the most original thing, I'm happy with parts of this, but I definitely had some brain drain on what to actually make. When I finally did I overdesigned something that wouldn't get done in time.

Made in Unity Free. Models in Blender. Sounds from SFXR. Only non free thing used was NGUI for Unity, but if you remove the two references to it in the level control code it runs fine without (sans scoreboard).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#187Graphics3.58
#191Humor3.04
#356Overall3.26
#362Audio2.89
#425Fun3.08
#465Mood2.84
#603Theme3.13
#622Innovation2.87

Comments

Jhelle says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Great graphics! Feels like a upgraded and hectic version of snake. Great job :)

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:07am

Interesting idea. Those aren't exactly tank-like controls, since they're cardinal directions only, but it was still fun. What I would have liked was the level spawn to have movement (not necessarily turning as well) disabled for a small period right after spawning. As it is, you can fall into a spike trap immediately after spawning from the previous level, if you're not careful.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:48am

Dude - when that first boulder fell on my head I nearly chocked on my coffee. So fun!

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:59am

Website that hosts unity game is not rated as safe, maybe you should switch to dropbox. By looking video of gameplay, I can tell that game is good, sound is good, graphics is good. Idea is good.

lekochen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Additive! Highscore: $771.

Elrobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:32pm

as3boyan Did the website itself flag in the browser or do you mean when you download the zip file? If the second that's just a generic warning on zips with executable (at least in chrome it is).

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Nice graphic style!

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:36am

Interesting concept. Having the level reset when I die rather than making me wait the full 10 seconds for the lava to come up would be better. Also, it appears to goto the next level even if I don't make it to the exit. Love the boulders by the way. They're smashing!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Will post video review.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:43am

Live video review: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2830784

porglezomp says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:44pm

The boulders are a bit harsh at times, but this was great!

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:48pm

The sound effects added alot to the gameplay. I kept wanting to play. Falling boulders and pits seemed to be more of a hazard to me than the lava.

olafurw says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Hahaha this is brilliant, sound is great and the graphics are awesome!

Nick Cash says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:44am

Really fun little game! Took a few tries to get the hang of it, but once you know what you are doing it controls quite nice. The level variety was nice, and it looks really good for an LD entry. Sound effects were a great fit also! Very nice entry.

CuberToy says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:14am

Nice game, found it hard to master though (maybe cause I'm bad at it ? :D). But nice job overall.

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:17am

Really enjoyed it. has that great, "I'm going to die!" feeling that makes so many games great

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:40am

Really bad at this game, but it's pretty fun, actually. I'll try harder :-)

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:54am

Rather funny game. Rubys kind of defeat the purpose of collecting individual coins, when you can have a whole 150 for a simple jump. Also, you can get a funny situation if you drop a boulder on the spikes and then jump on it.

haxpor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:32pm

I died a couple of times before I get used to the control scheme, good way though. Nice graphics and level :)

mamoniem says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:34pm

I liked the game, but i think if the movement with mouse clicks it will be more funny and friendly. Good luck.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Really good fun. Love the graphics. One thing I would like is to be able to keep trying the same level when I die rather than getting a random one.

Danvil says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:08am

The controls are a bit couter-intuitive to me.

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:25pm

I enjoyed the graphics and that you have generated levels. Controls are very difficult. Great start keep would love to see a more polished version.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Cool game, very fast paced with the level loads, that contributed quite a bit to how much I played.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]