August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Streaker 2013

by ashdnazg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

All them fancy football games never included the important institute of streakers.

Since running nude in a football pitch and avoiding security personnel is quite important, I've decided to simulate it in this humble game.

These are your 10 seconds of fame, use them well!

Arrows: Run.
Space: Wiggle!

P.S. The headlines in the end screen are based on amusing situations, if you didn't get "Police Brutality" you're missing half the fun :D

EDIT: Four changes in the bugfixes+restart version:
1) Instead of exiting, the game restarts.
2) Prevented memory leaks.
3) Fixed a minor bug.
4) Added a readme. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Humor4.64
#14Fun4.02
#70Innovation3.85
#82Theme3.80
#103Mood3.50
#120Overall3.61
#135Audio3.35
#377Graphics3.20

Comments

Jicken says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:14am

This was hilarious, and fun.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56am

That was really awesome. The sound effect when you press the dance button made me crack up out loud.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06am

Extremely funny idea and fun to play! =D

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12am

The first thing I did when I woke up this morning, was to seek out this game. I tested it a few times last night, and couldn't wait to see the end result. - This game is so fun, and yet so simple - It's really amazing - High grades from me :-)

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:03am

Thanks everybody for the kind words!

@Josh: You have no idea how much I laughed during the development :D

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:56am

Very funny game! Awesome idea, too!

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:58am

AHAHAHAHAHHAHAH
nice nice :P

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:19pm

lol =D

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Haha, love it. Back of the net!

mackthehobbit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Haha, a very humourous game, liked the take to the theme.

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:23pm

WIGGLE! I know the theme was 10 seconds, but I kinda wish it lasted for longer :P

garygreen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Crazy idea and fun too. Loved it. Nice one.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:50pm

I just play it once and another O_O. I love the idea it's reaaaaaally fun!!!

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:55pm

HAHA HILARIOUS!

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:16pm

I won! That was awesome.

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Great concept, was fun to play and very funny.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Hahaha. I had a fantastic run, all the security dorks stumbled, fell and i had 2 seconds left to wiggle myself to international fame.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Oh god, this is amazing. :D Giving you a hypothetical amount of 7 humor stars.

3ndo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Genius.

Could do with a restart option, but great otherwise.

mirzasan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Da best Ever

andreyin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Loved it hahaha, really cool that the officers can tase the security guards!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Pretty damn funny, a retry button would have been nice but other than that awesome game *wiggle*

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Still laughing..

infernet89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Pretty short, but very well executed! Nicely done!

everblind says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36pm

haha!, awesome game! :)

EmptyFlash says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Funny game, kind of short/easy, but fun.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52pm

@Everybody: Thank you!

Following the suggestions I've added a version that restarts instead of quitting. Have fun!

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:43am

Bloody aight' mate, good on yah then.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:11am

Haha, love that the police can tase the players.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Simple but funny. Reminds me of sensible soccer! This is a good thing!

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Simply awesome. That's how games should be, I just played several times, just to try out different scenarios/tricks.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Very funny, awesome game. I featured it in a compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVjNz61S5Vg

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:42am

Lets go streaking!

Fififox says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:54am

Funny little game! Especially loved the very small pixel art and the security jumping on you. :D

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:09pm

when football is showed to me I just loose my mind ... love love love it dude

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:20pm

u done this in real life didn't you

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:10pm

@Jupiter_Something: Thanks! though you didn't sound too enthusiastic on the video ;)

@mutilator: Please abide your local laws regarding indecent exposure.

@Arrow-x: Quite the opposite! I made this simulator so I don't have to do this in real life. :D

Yell0w says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Very funny! Lets go streaking!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Funny as hell! Wiggle wiggle wiggle!! Well done, nice entry :)

Tigro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Terrific idea for the theme. Good job :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:04pm

The yelling people sound effect was quite annoying, but I absolutely loved the wiggle sound effect.

mutilator says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:52am

la la la la la la la *thud*

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:28am

Ha, this made me laugh. Sound effects were great.

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:31am

"Nana nana nanaaaana!!" Hahaha Loved the humor and how you used the theme. Short but very fun. Please make a version that lets the player run forever (until caught). :D

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:04am

XD this is so awesome!!

Steve says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Hilarious.

However, no particular goal except perhaps "surviving" the time limit, which is pretty brief. But that's the theme, so not much to do about it I suppose.

Avoiding being caught is pretty easy.

Graphics are very minimalistic, but they fit, they work, and I like them.

In the end, I guess the humor factor is what really makes this game, but that's not a criticism though.

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Hilarious! :-D

Beerman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Genius!
The concept is awesome enough in itself, but the little wiggle dance and the different headlines really make this special :D

Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Such good fun, it really made me laugh and it was satisfying to dodge the police. Great work

panurge says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Ha! Whatever happened to streakers? You don't see them around half as much as you used to and I think that is society's loss... Anyway, I really enjoyed this. It was funny, nicely put together and very enjoyable to play.

Dry Tree says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:39am

Short and sweet though a couple of plays is never enough - this had me hooked :)
Good humour and great use of the theme!

ashdnazg says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 8:36pm

@SanguineTheSecond: Yeah, I'm not too satisfied with it either, but considering I had to record all these tracks, it could probably be far worse :P

@hbocao: If you aren't caught after 10 seconds it's quite probable that no one is chasing you, so the game isn't very interesting anymore... (and I'm not going to implement spawning any time soon)

@Everybody: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :)

T1 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Funny and brilliant idea :) I really like that there are multiple types of people in the field, and that they react to you differently :D

Some minor issues (i was trying the original, so sorry if they were fixed later):
Running horizontally or vertically works fine, but if you hold down multiple keys, the diagonal running is slower and jittery. I'm guessing it wasn't intended? Should be easy to fix or disable it though :)

And the other thing is, sometimes at game over, the black screen is not properly aligned over the field.

Overall: Simple yet fun idea that was executed really well! Nice graphics and funny sounds on top of that. Definitely worth the time to try out :)

ashdnazg says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:01pm

@T1: Thanks for taking the time to write this comment!

About the diagonal running speed, it was my first attempt at doing isometric graphics, so movement wasn't handled correctly. :(
It won't be fixed in this game, but I've certainly learned something for next time!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]