August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hot Potato

by Tater_hater - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Get ready for fast-paced, cartooney action! play minigames and complete them before time runs out!


controls: mouse and arrow keys.

Twitter: Tater_Hater2

Credits: Construct 2, clip art, and that's about it.

Enjoy! - Tater_Hater

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#198Humor3.03
#552Audio2.56
#800Theme2.89
#842Fun2.57
#846Mood2.34
#1043Innovation2.20
#1094Graphics1.91
#1116Overall2.31

Comments

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21am

Minigames are fun and the music is so funky.
Although, a bit buggy on Chrome and Firefox.

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Neat minigame collection. Shoot the Jay-Walker was probably my favorite. A timer showing how much time you have left in each game would have helped. Sometimes I got the same minigame twice in a row as well.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:48am

I love the minigames but, in jet phase, the controls are shit, i must spam arrow, i dont like that :/ and get a lot of bugs, but i like the idea. Good job :)

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:56am

The minigames are interesting. I like the music and the idea. And your potato looks so cool! Nice work!

Croze says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Game was pretty cool, could have made it feel less "Warioware"y while keeping that minigame style in, but either way it was still pretty cool.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Hard as fun :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:27pm

the game didnt run well in my browser and made the music chopppy but it was hilarious that way! so now Ill try again haha nice game : )

Latcarf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:29pm

I found this game a bit boring, especially given that you get the same minigames over and over again.

Nangie says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:04pm

I can't find Walker DD8 but really nice and funky !

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Cute minigames. :) I liked the sad game-over music. ^^

Amber says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:51am

The music is great! I think it's a little buggy in Chrome; one time it froze up on me when I lost, the next time I got a game over and replay button but nothing happened when I pressed it.

Some kind of visible timer and an algorithm that keeps you from getting the same minigame multiple times in a row would help, but overall it's fun, and the music does a great job of giving you that frantic feeling.

TheDreik says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Feels like Wario Ware and my own entry. :D
Have bugs, which already commented here.
Will be more fun if you add more mini-games.

kcpunk666 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:57pm

controls were bad, but I always love the surprise of these types of games. not bad!

Antidote says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:13am

Not sure where the 10 seconds theme fit in this game. Neat potato though.

X-0r says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:56pm

A neat Minigame collection... Too bad you can't choose what to play (also, I had to play the spam-E-key 3 times in a row... not my favourite...)
Win/Lose conditions weren't always obvious, and the pilot-cloud-avoiding could have had smoother controls, and the yes/no buttons of the "dress" girl shouldn't jump THAT fast. That's just my personal preference though. Solid entry!
Still, must have been quite some work putting all that together

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]