August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Timestopper

by CmdBrewsky - Jam Entry

Well, we finally made it.
This is our first Ludum Dare game jam, and we did quite well. The lack of a UI artist clearly shows, however we believe that the gameplay has potential. We intend to continue working on the idea as I believe that this concept can prove to be fun to play on a mobile platform.

Basically, the point of the game is that you use the "Fire" button to spawn a copy of yourself stopped in time. You get to spawn two such copies which fire a laser after the 10 seconds have passed. Use the copies to defeat all the enemies to continue to the next stage. Use the reflective walls to reach hidden enemies.

Good luck!

P.S: Future updates are planned in order to fix some of the issues which have occured due to lack of time (or lack of planning more likely. Shhhh...) :)


---Controls:
Use the left mouse button to spawn a copy that is facing the same position as your char. You can only have 2 copies each stage.

After 10 seconds pass, the copies will fire their reflective shots. Try and predict where the trails will hit and try and destroy all enemies.

If you fail, after 15 seconds the game returns you to the first stage.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#398Audio(Jam)2.47
#449Innovation(Jam)2.56
#463Graphics(Jam)2.65
#495Theme(Jam)2.61
#530Overall(Jam)2.53
#537Fun(Jam)2.22
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:29am

Nice concept. Great job on your first jam guys !

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Good idea, interesting sounds too. :)

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:12pm

nice work for a first entry.

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Good concept, graphics and sound (although a little repetitive). I don't understand the smooth movement much. Didn't you forget to rotate character's feet? Reseting the game after every failure makes it a little frustrating. Explosion looks really well! I got into third lvl.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Great graphics and sounds but I didn't understand in game what I need to do.

dkilford says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:06am

I really don't understand how to play this. I'm not seeing any enemies, and the timer has gone below 0 several times.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:55am

The sound is good but I haven't understand the concept.

foumart says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Good concept with a room for alot of additions. The enemies are a bit outside the screen so it's hard to play without zoom of some kind. Nice graphic effects by the way.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:10pm

An interesting concept, great jam. where can we go for updates?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]