August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Armageddon

by 4xisblack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An art game that picks up right at the end of the classic arcade hit Missile Command.

It's a Flash game! You'll need Flash Player 10.3 or above in order to run it.

As you'll see if you play it, there is room for 8 little vignettes but I only managed to finish 3 of them. I've greyed the other ones out for you to let you know not to try clicking on them, so hopefully it's not too confusing!

As for what the game's objective is... that is a question that the game is asking you. There really isn't a way to 'win' at armageddon; it just sorta happens no matter what. There are 10 seconds remaining in the universe. You can choose how and with whom you spend them. How you should play, what you should do and what you should think/feel about it are up to you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#65Theme3.86
#150Mood3.39
#231Innovation3.46
#249Graphics3.45
#592Humor2.18
#729Audio2.22
#800Overall2.81
#1091Fun2.09

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19am

Ohh, artsy :). Love the idea, this could be nicely extended

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Love the concept and the stark graphics, but I got confused and wasn't really sure what to do. Looks like it has a lot of promise.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:21am

I don't know what to do in this game. But I really love this theme. Very well designed artwork... now I need better instructions about what to do in the game ^^

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:05am

Really great, new and interesting idea. I like to read some people stories and if player could interact with each of these person to do something then it'll be great.

Great job.
Cool graphic, btw.

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:40am

I think I get it... oh... wait... I lost it. WAIT! There it is. Nice "out there" idea dude.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Cool graphics and nice idea, I liked it very much and its too bad you didnt get a chance to finish it, I featured it in a compilation video on Ludum Dare 27 games, if you want to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y3_qdYR_Vswbit confusing to understand but I do like the game loads, if only you had time to finish it :P Regaudless,

Boodog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Cool game! Good job :)

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:39pm

an interesting "game" i havent really played anything like that before but was an interesting walk through some narrative points, and the animation and execution were flawless so can safely say good job =D

Yoni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Wow, what an idea. Too bad there isn't more to explore...

panuo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:41pm

makes me want to read xkcd

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45pm

That was an interesting experience. This game really shows you how short 10 seconds can be (especially since it's not enough the read the text on the first run). A bit depressing, too. Great job! Very unconventional.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Very cool game. I really like the art direction and general premise. Good job :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:23pm

I like the art style! The premise is odd but kind of neat, focusing on narrative instead of gameplay challenges. Good job.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:22am

Very artsy, but I wish there was more game to it. Maybe if there was a correct sequence of discoveries that explained what was going on and possibly how to stop it (I know you explain it in your description).

-Strega

(This is a team account)

Inertia says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:31am

Holy wow that was cool. I hope you add more stuff post-compo!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:17am

I am the ass of history. I like it!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Cool art! Game is scare me a lot! Good idea!

bitowl says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:41pm

quite atmospheric game. would be cool if you added more content so you really have the feel of having missed something

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]