August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SpeedBall

by Ascelate - 48 Hour Compo Entry

!!! I have noticed a bug where you cannot accelerate properly by only pressing the forward and jump key in the beginning of the first level, so to accelerate properly you have to press one of the keys for the side movement once (default: A or D; left or right arrow) , then it should work fine !!!

Haven't found the source of this bug yet, but I will do if I find the time for it.

My tools were:
-Unity3D
-Paint.NET
-Soundation

You can see the rules and controls on the info screen of the game

BTW: If you want to unlock or lock the cursor just press escape


Update#1: If you're stuck on a level you should play the updated version on the web, which let's you skip levels by pressing 'n'

Update#2: A new level has been added so if you want to try it play the updated version on the web. Within the updated version you are now also able to mute the music by pressing 'm'

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#426Audio2.76
#538Fun2.94
#584Overall3.03
#752Theme2.94
#769Innovation2.69
#833Humor1.78
#876Graphics2.35
#941Mood2.17

Comments

anjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Very fun! I need to improve my skills so that I can beat it!

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Interesting game. The first level (never got past it) feels too harsh.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Its really fun to play but I think u should add some textures to it (not just materials). Great work!

FoxFiesta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Cool ! It's very classic but effective. :) I like the music but I'm not sure it fits well with the game.

dudsen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Fun thing, harder than i thought... JUMP LITTLE BALL, GODDAMMIT!

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:40pm

It's a good concept. It's kinda weird how jumping makes you so much faster... Also could be a bit easier.

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Cool, took a while to understand that jumping makes you faster... Also, didn't move the ball over the second X :|

elementz123 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:59pm

This is a fun mechanic, but the level design could be a little easier for the first few levels at least. I also think it is a little weird how jumping makes you go faster.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:32pm

The difficulty is insane! The level design is great and gets really interesting on level 3. Really fun to play, only problem is the music which I don't like at all...

Ascelate says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Thank you guys for your feedback!
First: Well maybe it's just me, but I kind of don't really see how jumping makes you really that much faster; I see how it makes you faster, yes, but not that much. Due to your feedback I will of course take it under consideration and think a bit about it.
But what makes you really faster in my opinion is moving diagonally(cause a^2 + b^2 = c^2). It was actually intended not to set any boundaries to diagonal speed, but apparently it makes you a little too fast ;)
Second: Yeah, the levels are obviously a little too hard for test playing, but since I kind of played the levels like felt 100 times I considered them to be even too easy for some people :D
In near future I will try to add more levels and easier ones for the beginning.

mutuware says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Quite fun! Strange music. Would be nice to add some extra visual pizzaz! So that you feel you are whizzing along.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:38pm

I liked the music. It sounded like a techno psychopath on drugs! :)

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Cool game, was a bit hard haha I might also add a repeating texture to the ground or something to help with the sense of speed. Good entry though :D

Unept says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Cool game, but hard. I couldn't get CLOSE to beating the 2nd level. I would probably create some "tutorial" levels, just to ease players into the game. (Also, mute button please.)

Fun game overall.

TheDreik says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Pretty interesting, but too hard for me on rotations. I don't understand how not waste too much time, when you need move just right or just left.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:41pm

That was pretty hard! Also, I'm not sure but I think holding both W and Up at the same time made you accelerate twice as fast?

blackotus says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Nice concept, fun, speedy gameplay.

Nice entry!

Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:12pm

loved the music. physics was a little weird and if you ran into anything it was a dead stop. kind of reminded me of sky runners or whatever that game was i played oh so long ago. lol music woooooooooooo

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]