August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Potato Lagoon

by rezoner - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Oh my. Oh my.
Singing potatoes.
But why. But why?


WAIT 10 SECONDS IN MENU

--

[Spoiler]

You have to shoot - things - all of them.

If you can't get past first level - try playing with your hands instead of feet.

Cucamber is a douchebag.

--

I'd like to say sorry to everyone having a game in Unity - I cannot play your game - I am on Linux.

--

Javascript (with CanvasQuery)
FLStudio + Audacity (no autotune/pitch - I really sang it like that - hope nobody heard me)
Gimp, Ubuntu
CocoonJS for Android APK

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
Audio4.51
#5Overall4.22
#11Fun4.04
#19Graphics4.34
#21Humor4.01
#30Mood3.89
#116Innovation3.71
#420Theme3.31

Comments

queader says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:08pm

As always, awesome!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Wow. Just wow. 1h of my life is gone in hapiness and CARROT CARROT

Deltapigeon says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Wow release the soundtrack please

sittaman says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Amazing!

disdanes says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24am

The soundtrack and the graphics on this are incredible, I love it!

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:36am

I don't what this is but I like it.

Ghandhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:57am

Badger badger badger :U

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:32am

Fascinating stuff. Very energetic.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:56am

I love the little voices! where did you get/how did you make those XD

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:03am

Awesome soundtrack! The game is very fun to play. I like the colors used as well.

targaciej says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:24am

Great style! + 10000 points for crying cat. Music amazing as always.

Toshiro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:47am

Just... FUCKING AWASOME !

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:49am

This game put a smile on my face. Very charismatic characters, great music and sound. The mouse controls are a bit strange, but I got used to them after a little time, and I can see it working better on a touchscreen.

Oxydam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Awesome grphics soudtracks and fun. It's maybe a little bit too easy.

CMahaff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Incredibly polished for 48 hours!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Beautiful graphics, and music. Loved the choir voices. Definitely the most stylish game I've played so far. And the person who said it was too easy, must be a lot better at it than me!

Flai says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Great game! Awesome graphics and music :) !

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Very very very good! Great game! Tomato Tomato Tomato!

Caotico says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Amazing man!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Aha, this is so good! Love the pixel art and music, one of the best games I've played yet! Very well done for 48 hours. :D

sanojian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:46pm

This game just makes me happy. Great production values and very cute. I like the indirect control of firing too.

Sherun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:54pm

http://puu.sh/4bsRT.png

RealMSHB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:24pm

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW
this is fantastic
Tomato tomato tomato :)))))))))))))))))))))))))))

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Fantastic art and audio, and the gameplay was very engaging too. Somewhat weak thematic interpretation, but that's easy to overlook when everything else is so strong. Side note: I tried to go to your soundcloud page via the link in the game but for some reason I'm just getting a blank page with the soundcloud toolbar at the top, and it still happened even when I took the s out of https:// or typed in the address manually. I wanted to follow you. :(

Anyways, great work!

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Nevermind, it finally loaded!

Eddy93 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Awesome game! I like the mood of this game :)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Oh great, now the theme song will be playing in my head for the rest of the day :)

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Is there no way to make those lil veggies eternally happy? >__<

Great game! Both the graphics and the sounds are awesome! :D

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:20pm

:D so fun. Music is great, and your art is sexy :D Fun game play as well

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Wow, this is the best compo game I've played so far! The graphics are so beautiful and the music is awesome. The vegetables are hilarous too. Amazing game, really. :D

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Oh great, now I'm going to have this themesong stuck in my head for the rest of the day! :D My interpretation of the lyrics: 'Yar gunny demon baby John, David made a gun show me'

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Very professional. The graphics and sound is really cool. For my skill it is however a little too hard. Maybe I'm just too tired from the weekend.

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:41pm

How on earth did you make this in 48 hours? I'm very impressed, This is the best entry I've played so far!

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:49pm

How on earth did you make this in 48 hours? I'm very impressed, This is the best entry I've played so far!

I just noticed that the veg start to cry when you die :D

This is brilliant!

aschearer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Neat art style. Not as excited about the gameplay. Aiming in particular felt overly difficult for no reason.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:20am

Love the music, love it. Nice graphics too, really enjoyed playing it

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:01am

Sooo much fun.

nhmllr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:27am

you win

fullmontis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:30am

Lovely music and fun gameplay!

MidCry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42am

Very Very Fun

BNeutral says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:52am

Weird controls. Amazing game. Cucamber is a douchebag.

lazyeels says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:53am

Very polished, nice work!! Might need to adjust the controls for android slightly, so your fingers do not obscure the player.

ncannasse says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:37am

Great soundtrack, controls are a bit hard to master (I didn't :)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Awesome!

domrein says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:36pm

I love the graphics and the sound. The atmosphere of the game is just great. I hate the controls.

Hitagi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Love this!

Steve says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Strange and very cool. Unusual control scheme. Made me pretty confused, but don't take that as criticism!

Nice sounds, nice music. Overall, rather nice!

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:11pm

As was said before, the audio and graphics are amazing. The game has a lot of personality and that sets a really nice mood. The controls could use some work though.

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Fantastic work! I love the graphics and the soundtrack. The aiming is kind of awkward for a sidescoller. It would make more sense if you were defending something in the middle with enemies appearing on all sides. Lots of character and fun to play though.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Man, you are a FREAK! This is sooo good - that shooting mechanic is sick! Annnd great tunes as usual.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:55pm

A lot of fun!
Really cute graphics.
Would play again.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:41pm

This was amazing :D

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:53pm

This is awesome man! Like the last time :)
Keep up the good work.

rxi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:25pm

The music, the visuals, the game play, the cucumber... Good lord.

Carduus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:31pm

tomatawesome bro, i love your music !
LD all stars for sure !

bassarisse says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:30pm

OMG, this game made me scream every time I lost!

Great graphics, sound, everything! Good job!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:56am

Score: 4320 :D

I don't think I am very good at this game, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. The best motivation to stay alive is to keep the music going, and to keep seeing the funny random mission texts :P

The difficulty was certainly high, but after I got used to it I don't think it was unreasonable.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:39am

What else is there to say? Charming, super-polished, fantastic fun.

Zelen3d says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:50am

This is so epic! Best thing I ever seen. The mouse and shooting is a bit hard at the beginning, but the game is so good and random, that you just keep playing it. Plus, your game has so many extras that you don't find out at first.

Also, people: once the game is loaded, don't play right away. Wait at least ten seconds!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:26am

You have a talent for creating unique games with a distinct art style that are very clean and polished. Music great as always. Highest scores so far. Bravo!

Valandre says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:29am

One of my 3 favorite games of this LD. thanks a lot for the android version. your music and sfx are just crazy!!!

deepnight says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Excellent game :) The controls are really strange and don't feel natural at all, but I guess it was intended.

The music & sfx are perfect :)

bnhw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:11pm

The best I've played all competition!

Unfortunately, the level stopped scrolling on my best run (though I could still shoot and move the butterflies): http://i.imgur.com/5017QsX.png No errors in the JavaScript console.

Vaalen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Really funny game with a great and particular mood.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Not bad!
Like the main concept is good. Controls are interesting but needs to polish. Good visuals and sounds. Well done!

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:20am

The gameplay was pretty difficult to get used to, but I really liked the art great style and music. Pretty cool overall.

drkrunk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:52am

As expected rezoner your games are always awesome.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:51am

Awesome game, the aiming is a little awkward but everything else is fantastic. I absolutely love the music and the bouncing vegetables and fruit.

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:57am

amazing. the gameplay is great, the music and art was fantastic, the game has a great personality, and I GOT TO PLAY WITH VEGETABLES!!!

farmergnome says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:20am

One of my favorites if not favorite, so much polish! Well done bro.

Zccc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:17am

I didn't really find it fun to play, but it has amazing graphics and music :D

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Not sure what the hell happened but it was hilarious! Great game, interesting control style that takes a moment to get used to, but plays pretty well. Great soundtrack! Nice work!

Musashi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Where do I go to buy the soundtrack? :D Simply amazing!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:54pm

OMG hahahahaa I'm still laughing at the potatoes planting themselves. Ok, this is SUCH fun, top marks!!! Very retro and very contemporary at the same time. Thanks for making it!

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:16am

Awesome shooter! :) I love vegetables, they are very cute! :)
I really like the indirect system of aiming, even though at the beginning they looks uncomfortable.
The track is awesome! :)

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:43am

Extremely fun game! Nice work!

xhunterko says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:21am

Wow. Just wow.

justi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:30am

The funniest Ludum Dare game ever :) I'm impressed your music and graphics. Well crafted professional work.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Love the funky feeling of this. The aiming and movement took some time to get used to, but I liked that you didn't go the usual route. Also this is the first game that made me nod my head to the music. :) Great game!

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Potato, potato, potato! *****. You deserve 6 stars for the audio though...

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:31pm

good job

rpmoura says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:25pm

One of the best I played so far!

Gnux says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:53am

Fun game, sweet music.

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:25am

Awesome soudntrack, graphics... A 5 stars!!

ign says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:47am

Nice one, but little bit hard to aim enemies.

pereubu says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:21pm

hehe nice art and audio here.
The game got frutrating-ishly hard for me, maybe it's my slowy slowy compter 3:
Awesome job overall

wine says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Mother of Potato ... Great work! )

Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:26pm

hahahah so much fun, i love graphics, music, sounds. Awesome job. i love it!

BrothersT says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:26pm

brilliant. only problem I had with it is that when you mouse off the browser the cursor stops. Apart from that, flawless.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:51pm

...What did I just play?

Whatever happened in the past half hour, I like it. Soundtrack please!

My highest rated so far :D

GreyShock says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Wow! Amazing, very funny! I love the music :D

BrothersT says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Just got a bit further and it gets very choppy in the harder levels. I have a pretty powerful setup. Maybe it's just a limitation of flash?

kazukishida says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Awesome work man! Loved the art style, the sound (haha were those recorded with your voice?), and music! Hope you'll release it on Soundcloud too! (or maybe you already have but I've yet to check) I was a bit confused at the movement and aiming controls, but I eventually got the hang of it.
Great game! :D

Erhune says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:44pm

I wish I could give 10 stars for the voice work...

neekobus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Very good graphics and sounds.
Very smooth.
I don't like the "auto fire".

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Lovely entry, completely addictive! The sound is amazing, I love the opening song, you did an awesome job.

lalanl says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:11am

Excellent.

Andrewves says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:54am

Interesting concept and great graphics. Good entry.

Shivers says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:38am

Awesome!!! :D

Neil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Nice gameplay, good graphics and excellent controls! Very bizarre, but fun!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:39am

Ooh! Just realised, the menu without the words would make a brilliant screensaver :D

Jesse Freeman says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:21am

Loved the artwork! Found it a bit hard to wrap my head around controlling the ship but very interesting concept once I got it.

koe415 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:27am

The music and overall audio in this game is fantastic! Just the main menu music on loop is enough to win me over on this! Great job!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:11pm

The jumping characters are great :D

Game is a bit hard to figure out though

lesterpig says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:57am

All 5 for this AMAZING work !
Can't stop playing !!!

Pierrec says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:52am

I can't get used to the controls, impossible. But it doesn't prevent me to play this game over and over...this is good dope! really good dope

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:30am

Quite addictive even if the aiming control is not so intuitive.
Cucumber Cucumber Cucumber!

wilbefast says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 11:38am

Linux user high-five ^_^ awesome game :D Very polished, very finished, and the audio is great (potato, potato, potato)... Not my favourite control scheme of all time, but somehow the humour (crying vegetables) and sheer insanity mean that I don't really mind dying at all :)

Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Very nice game, simple and classic but new. The music is great! Also i love vegetables.

motty says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 12:30am

Woah. I have no idea what is going on. I don't care. I love this.

aquilicoco says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Great game as always

smash ball says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Well this has definitely become one of my more favorite games I have played thus far.

Sestren says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Cool graphics and music. I really liked the voices on the vegetables.

vladimirdlc says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:33am

This was cool and quick fun, good use of js, it worked perfectly on my android

loxo says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Great game! I like the simple and clean graphics, the hilarious voices and the great atmosphere. I don't like the white rectangle after destroying something, it looks like a glitch to me.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:34pm

This is sooooo addicting!! Weird as hell and super addicting D:

X-0r says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 7:33am

You should have totally scored #1 on audio =)
I read in one of the above comments that linking to soundcloud through your game is not working correctly, maybe you can open it in a new tab rather than creating a new window? Not sure if it works, though ^_^

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]