August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Escape of the Alien

by Hexadecima1 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game in which the player must traverse a randomly generated series of platforms in space in 10 seconds.

Arrow keys to move. The 2x box doubles your score, adds 7 seconds to your time, and gives you 5000 additional points. Make sure to plan where to go before you start the level!

If you have any feedback please share!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#881Audio1.73
#987Theme2.60
#1023Fun2.27
#1077Innovation2.13
#1133Graphics1.80
#1136Overall2.20
#1773Coolness20%

Comments

garygreen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:39am

I enjoyed playing that. Straightforward and fun. :-)

f345an says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49am

Some levels were impossible, either that or I was just bad at the game, haha. Other than that pretty good game.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:03am

Fun game! The simplicity of the core mechanics made it pretty intuitive and smooth to play, and re-play. The 'pre-plan your route' idea was a nice way of balancing the short time limit and I liked the 'dizzy' effect when you touch the bombs.

The random level generation could use a little more work though, I had at least one level that didn't have an Exit (maybe it was behind something?) and two levels where I started with a brown-bomb right on top of me.

Overall, good job!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:32am

hahaha fun game bro! nice work! :D

Unept says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Good start for a platformer, and the randomization kept it interesting for a bit. I would work on the graphics, especially how disruptive the shaking and star thing are. I definitely panicked as the clock ran down, so good job there!

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:18am

Like the random generation of the map. The game itself needs some more to make it stand out more. But getting random level generation stuff like that working is not easy in 48 hours. Good work

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:00pm

straightforward, pretty fun, needs a little something though, I'd love to play a polished version :)

Andresh says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Nice work! Enjoyed it very much. Add some background music to make it even better and to improve t he feel of urgency. Really liked that you have to plan before starting and deciding to go for that 2x power-up is a really big decision.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]