August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries


by disease - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Speedster is a platformer where the main character has some novel moves to make the game fun - they also come in handy for beating the levels within their 10-second time limit.

Edit: Added a link to a Mac OS X executable. If you download this please let me know if it works or not. Thanks a bunch!

Downloads and Links




ben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:16am

You should consider making an executable that doesn't require installation, you'll get alot more plays.

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:18am

This is a very well done game, nice job :)
You add some flare to an otherwise drab platforming genre. Thanks!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:22am

Giving the player a start menu would really have helped this game. More often than not I found myself frustrated because the game would have started and I wasn't ready. Thus, I lost time and was unable to make it to the fiery hoop.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39am

Nice job. Cute little platformer with a bit more charm to it than the usual stuff.

disease says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42am

I changed the "Windows" link to point to a zip file that contains the executable. If this doesn't work for any reason you can try downloading the installer at:

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50am

This one is very cool, loved the way we combine the character abilities to go through the stage within the time limit. Congratulations!

Radnen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52am

An intriguing platformer. I found myself not attacking enemies, but trying to dodge them creatively.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:01pm

+ The fast sliding/running was fun
+ good sound there too
- Music does not replay
- Broken Controls

bassarisse says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:35am

OSX build isn't working here, it just says that the file is damaged.

Joxno says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:14am

Cute platformer,
although sometimes the controls wouldn't mess up, a jump not registering and such.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:21am

Game seemed good at the beginning but the controls are really buggy. Sometimes when you dash you get stuck in the floor. The attack works in mysterious ways. Air dash combined with double jump sometimes work sometimes doesn't.

disease says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:13am

Thanks for the feedback everyone, this is what LD is all about! I couldn't replicate the "jump not always registering" on my machine so I googled it and it turns out combinations of keys like "UP ARROW + LEFT ARROW + SPACE" can cause an issue called "Key Ghosting" that happens with many non-gaming keyboards. To test this I dragged out an old Dell keyboard and suddenly had a hard time doing double jump into a directional air dash. Too bad - I will have to learn more about this and maybe give alternate control schemes in the future.

And I DID know about sometimes getting stuck in the ground as well as weird activity when jumping around block tiles. I think I know how to fix them now but I did not have enough time in the competition.

Thanks again everyone, I'm sure this info will make my next game much better!

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:27am

Nice little platformer. I tried the OSX build and works fine. I don't know if the game is meant to reach an infinite level, but I got to one with no enemies and no exit point, so I could not continue playing... Thanks!

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:33am

Cool little game! I think the music doesn't really go well with the game...

Tommislav says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:27am

Missed the controls the first time because of the 10-seconds limit to read the help screen, which made me think that the dash-level (3 or 4) was some kind of killscreen. Only reading the comments here made me realize I might have missed something and tried again.
It is a good game for the 48hrs compo, but I find the controls very frustrating. Having to wait for the character to fully land (and then a few frames) before being able to jump again killed me a number of times. I also found it difficult to execute the dash. Good work anyway! =)

MuciojadPL says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Nice platformer! Some of levels are very hard :D Nice job ;)

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]