August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hiccup 2

by tiffi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hiccup 2 is a time travel platformer

Had quite a few problems with the collision detection and the damn Dinos....
Without dying, the Game is about 1 min long.

Have fun!

edit: added a little counter to the top left side!

edit2: working on the webapplet

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#139Humor3.25
#372Audio2.86
#395Mood2.94
#508Fun2.98
#687Graphics2.68
#700Overall2.93
#940Innovation2.41
#1030Theme2.51

Comments

Xatulu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17am

I love the Dinosaur graphics. It was a bit hard to get all the jumps right, but i love the different art styles and the music!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:31am

The graphics are decent enough and yea there are some collision problems and other bugs. But its a fine game overall.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:26am

That is one hardcore dinosaur you've got there :-O Good job!

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:48am

Tux-Compensator? Nice one Arty McFry! Fire level was pretty tricky, and I felt like there should be checkpoint there... and a score ;) Great work though - quite addictive

Taffaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54am

Enjoyed the game but it was hard :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:55am

...I HATE THIS GAME!!! hahaha
Lack of checkpoints was quite annoying.. but It kept me playing for some time.. good job! ^^

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:58am

Interesting idea. Very hard to hit some of the jumps. Otherwise, a fun game, good job.

Impmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:03am

I thought that this game was really cheerful, and pretty funny, what with the sound effects and intro and whatnot. It's quite buggy, seeing as I sank through the floor quite a few times, and I could jump while falling. Quite funny to play with friends though.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:58am

Liked the little prologue at the start. :) Jumping is quite difficult due to high gravity though. The hiccup idea was really fun. I don't see how it fits into the theme though.

galman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:01am

Hehe, funny graphics and game :) Quite hard :P

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:08am

@ zuige, the hics are every 10 seconds, perhaps i should add a counter

rephus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09am

Original game but a bit difficult without checkpoints. @mrspeaker, in the fire part, you can wait 10 seconds so it will become ice =).

Nitrodeus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Good game ! but a little hard :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Was fun! Very hard though :D

Also the web version is pretty broken, i only got 7 seconds, there was no dinosaur and I just died randomly.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Very funny intro. The collision bugs sadly made the game a bit more frustrating than it should be, but it's fun and addictive nontheless. Good job. :)

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Very nice! The character moved a bit too fast for precision jumping, but the controls were solid and the concept was good. Very nice!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Nice music :)

lazyeels says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:55pm

I like the overall feel of the game, and also the fact that it has a story! Almost made to the fire level like 10 times, but yeah I died a lot. I see you had zero issues with making a platformer. Any tips for preventing the player from falling through ground tiles?

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Fuck this crazy dinosaur :D
I enjoyed this game.
Good job.

Sink says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:38am

Cool idea but nothing really changed, besides the graphics, when time ran out. The length was just right, and despite one or two difficult jumps it wasn't frustrating.

Darien says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:37am

Fun platformer! Especially appreciate the awesome dinosaurs.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Very glitchy but I love the idea. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GZNeIKxvyg

MuciojadPL says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Good job, not bad idea :D Funny and quite hard game ;P

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:54pm

that was actually really cool, the graphics were cool the style was cool, I love how you just got thrown into it! Very addictive. I would love love love to play a polished version of this with a few bugfixes (like gravity being acceleration rather than velocity, haha), and some sort of score. Great game! One of my favorites!

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Music sounds great!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]