August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

It's Faster with QWOP

by HELLO23 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My game is a little board game.
The board is 9 * 9.
You play with the Q,W,O and P keys.
Each has it's own purpose, Q and O are opposites, P and W are opposites.
Your goal is to get you (the blue triangle with a smile) into the goal (the tile with the triangle hole), by moving.
The circle with the rectangle inside is a block. You cannot step on blocks.

In every level pack the movement done by Q,W,O and P is slightly different.

The connection to the theme is that you should try to finish each level pack in under 10 seconds for each level, or a minute for each pack. (don't panic if the timer shows a negative number, it's a feature).

I am not sure that you can actually finish the second level pack.

Have fun :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1166Overall2.00
#1188Graphics1.40
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:41pm

This is pretty confusing, to be honest... I never really feel like I understand what's going on or how to control the guy. At times I think I know what each key is doing but then I press one of them again and it seems to do something completely random it didn't do before...

mort96 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:34pm

As zedutchgandalf said, it's very confusing. Assuming that's the idea though :P

whiteravens says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:06pm

It's confusing, it'll be great to give some tips and consistency on how the controls affect the movement.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:39am

Found this game to be sort of confusing, but it looks pretty interesting. I featured it in my video compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/J-5j5_FYNQI

HELLO23 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:54am

It is quite confusing, I admit. The rules for the first pack of levels are : Q and O are opposite and they move the player diagonally (Q to the bottom-right, and O to the top-left). W and P move the player like in a mirror (for example if you stand on a tile which is the second from the right, by pressing P you move to the second from the left). Since W and P are designed as opposites they essentially do the same thing. Of course you will not be moved if you pressed a button that leads you to a block (the circles). The second pack has slightly different rules. One more thing : when going through the edges of the board, understanding where you go is quite simple - think about where you should have appeared if there was one more row or column, this is where you are going to appear just from the opposite wall. I hope this makes it a bit clearer (though English is not my native language).

triforcespark says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:57am

Good potential for puzzles, but it'd be nicer if controls are intuitive.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:53am

The idea is great, however packs are not long enough...
Just when you start to get it , the pack is over :(

Connors says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:04am

Yeah it's pretty clever.

Where the eff did you get that wizard sprite? Cause I think I know exactly where it came from. Do you have an account on the GMG?

HELLO23 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Actually I created all the assets (tiles, background, player,etc..) by myself using Paint.Net. I don't know what GMG is.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Good game, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]