August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Seconds of Thrust

by flarb - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: The FIXED link has fixed the bug in Windows where landing wouldn't cause the level to advance. Also you might notice the music is louder at the bottom since for some reason taking the collision box off the endzone (which was the original landing hack for Windows) makes the music louder--go figure. I added the collision box around the sound object at the end to try and fix the windows bug at the last minute which kind of muted the music.

Anyway--I'm not sure if this is breaking the rules so I've kept both up, the Web link and the new fixed web link--which technically isn't adding any content I don't think. You can check the HG repository.

Unity3D. cfxr for sound. Spritegen for tiles/sprites. autotracker.py for music. HOTwen, 2DToolkit for Unity plugins.

Press up, down, left, and right arrows to thrust. Pick up capsules for extra "Energy Time", safely land on the bottom to go to the next stage.

You can only land safely when the HUD says you are at a safe velocity (upper right)

Stages are all randomly generated....how many can you clear?

Speaking of which--turns out on Windows landing doesn't trigger the next level screen...only on OSX. I've tried a few hacks to no avail--I have no idea why this is. Seems like a Unity bug.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#404Fun3.10
#569Overall3.04
#571Graphics2.86
#594Audio2.47
#600Humor2.17
#646Theme3.08
#745Mood2.49
#804Innovation2.64

Comments

flarb says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Still a few more hours to go. I'll probably add some polish.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56am

Darned good fun!

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57am

I can't get the bloody unity web player to install grrrr I really want to play and rate this one. Sorry! :(

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58am

Nice! The thruster sound is a little too intense though.

andreyin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00am

Really weird bug you've got there! Still, good game.

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:03am

Pressing the list controls did nothing. However, pressing the arrow keys did! Very fun little game.

tiooonnn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52pm

TO MANY SPACE FATALITIES!! SUPER FUN.

flarb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Oops, yeah U,D,L,R means Up, Down, Left, Right arrow keys. I should have just said arrow keys.

Thanks for the comments! If I fix that Windows bug I'll probably just put up a separate link since I'm not sure it's allowed.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Beat the first level. Doesn't let me go to the next level.
Pretty good game though.

Nights57 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Thought the U,L,D,R were for the keys, not the arrows lol. Fun game though, I could never beat the first level : (

flarb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Yeah if you don't go to the next level, let me know what OS/Browser you are using. As far as I know, it works on all OSX browsers, but this bug always happens on Windows. (Which is weird since it's Unity!!)

Entity2D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11am

Pretty fun game, let's hope you fix the Windows next level bug :)

Erkberg says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:26am

Nice gameplay. I can't get to the next level too, using win7 and chrome. I would suggest leaving the music on during the level. Good game!

larb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:42am

On Windows/Chrome, and it doesn't trigger the level. Darn, looks fun. Love the pixel graphics.

Raiyumi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:18am

Pretty cool game! The instructions at the start.. I literally thought it meant U,D,L,R. haha.

Adjotur says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:19am

Awesome game :D. I love just going all out and dropping straight down without putting any upwards thrust into it, but I always seem to splat on the bottom when I can't slow down in time.

moonmagic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:52am

I really like the blocks and the ship sprites, and the sound effect for picking up fuel. The thruster sound was a bit too harsh for me. I found myself thrusting in the opposite directions sometimes because I expected the keys to correspond to the thruster. Would have been nice if the thruster graphics matched the rest of the sprites.

I wasn't able to get the next level to load; using Chrome, running Windows XP.

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:07am

Good game! Nice controls and pixel art! But I got stuck in level 1 too.

flarb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:37am

Yeah I totally should have used a block sprite for the thruster particles.

KeinBaum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:24pm

nice

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Decent enough Lunar Lander :) The levels were longer than I expected, and there wasn't much challenge involved.

One thing that would have made it more challenging would have been a time limit on how quick you could get to the bottom, and you'd need to dodge random platforms and not splat against the bottom. That's kind of fun to do right now, actually :)

flarb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Wow, Unity tech support is fast--they found the bug. I guess the collision normals are inconsistent between Windows and OSX. I'll probably put up a link to a fixed version once I figure out a different way to detect landings.

flarb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Yeah if you are able to get to the next levels, basically they sort of raise in difficulty by putting more obstacles in the center of the path, and less time boost capsules. I had plans for moving enemies and other obstacles as well.

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Liked the art and idea, just wish I had gotten to play more of it due to that level change bug.

flarb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Yeah I might fix the bug today, I know what it is now. I'll probably put up a 2nd link with the fixed version, so that purists can consider the submitted one, but others might want to use the bug-fixed version.

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Very cool concept, though the handling was a bit tough to master... I didn't know if I could land on platforms? Or just on the ground at the bottom? Didn't seem to progress to new level either way...

Good game and good luck!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Got to the bottom with 6 seconds of spare fuel, but didn't get a next level / ending screen. Aside from that, it's a pretty fun lander game you've got there! Some 8bit graphics in the game suited the mood fairly well. Just wish there was an ending / extra levels, congrats on getting music and sfx in the game too!

flarb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:56am

OK--so I have put a link to the FIXED version for Windows (well it works on Windows and OSX).

It turns out, the normals you get back from collisions not only are inaccurate, but inconsistent between platforms. So instead I'm using the position of the collision points to detect landing.

I took the collision volume off of the endzone object which also makes the in-game music louder. There's a sound source at the end that gets louder as you get closer. When I added the last minute hack (a box collider) around it, for some reason it made the music super quiet.

So I'm not sure if this is breaking the rules or not, hence I've kept both versions up. The WEB version is the original and FIXED WEB has the landing fix. Thanks!

AmyDee says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:33am

I kind of made it into a game of "launch yourself into the ground at as high a velocity as possible". Fun!

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:28am

By "U,D,L,R", I didn't get that you were referring to Up, Down, Left and Right and now I feel silly. Fun game!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:53am

Space Fatality! Good fun.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Fun game! Always loved lander style games since the old Atari arcade game. You can add a lot of polish to this and work on it and toss it up on the app store. Nice 48hr effort.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:08am

Nice job. The satisfaction of pulling off the landing with 0.5 energy left was stellar :0)

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Great to see someone else make graphics with my sprite generator. Your game looks good and plays well, though it could use a little more challenge. It appears almost everything is procedurally generated, I like that.

flarb says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Yeah I love your sprite generator!!!! I could suggest a few improvements, but it's really awesome.

Might as well list some improvements here:

* Ability to specify size of the sprites/tiles

* Ability to specify hue range of tiles (like, I want a bunch of green-ish ones)

* Ability to specify naming convention. Like ForestTile-X.png and then X ends up being the tile number or something.

Makio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Very hard but get fun :D

tigerj says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:30pm

I really like this. Did you ever play work time fun? there was a job on that game called Pollinator that pretty much had the same concept but not as developed as what you have here.

Nice entry!

flarb says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:34pm

I LOVED Work Time Fun! My favorite was "Let's Protest!" which was kind of ripped off on the PS3 with "The Last Guy."

fferro234 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:58am

Nice game. The thruster sound is a little loud but not that bad. Nice randomly generated levels.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:32am

It's got that awesome oldschool feel to it.
Spacey physics and solid mechanics. Very nice!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]