August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Robot Suicide

by GlennBrann - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Robot Suicide is a platformer game about a robot who just wants to kill himself to get out of his chambers. The goal is to kill your self by hitting the spikes located around the map.

this game is completely programmed in pure java no 3rd party libraries.

use A - D or LEFT-RIGHT to move
use W or UP to jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1806Coolness17%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Not bad! Reminds me of Karoshi Suicide Salesman. The game has an issue after losing, restarting doesn't reset the 10 second death timer.
Great job finishing!

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:03am

Cool game with smooth controls! The levels could've been harder I think.

Bjeaurn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Alright game, controls were a little off here on Mac. Played well though, good job!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:40pm

The concept totally reminds me of Karoshi.
Anyway, this really, REALLY needed more variety. And it's WAY too easy. I didn't even fail once. :|
Overall, nice job though.

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Good concept! I think you need more (difficult) levels with more gameplay variations (for instance fading platforms, stuff that, if you touch it, teleports you somewhere, etc.)

I liked the graphics and the movement :P Good luck!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:40pm

The concept totally reminds me of Karoshi.
Anyway, this really, REALLY needed more variety. And it's WAY too easy. I didn't even fail once. :|
Overall, nice job though.

johnfn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Alright, so there were a few collision glitches here and there, and it would have been great if there were more features, but it plays very nicely already and I played all the way through with no problems. Plus the concept is pretty funny. Nice stuff - and doing this with 100% pure java is impressive ;-)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:22am

This is a pretty cool idea! I got stuck in level 3 under the blocks, loved the graphic but it didnt look like a robot... Also, fraps wouldnt record it, so I couldnt include it in my LD27 Compilation video... sorry

VeloSpectre says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Not bad. Simple idea. fun to explode into pixel blood.

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:24am

Nice game! I reminds me of Karoshi.

cwkx says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:26am

Awesome little pure java game, I like the way the robot explodes xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]