August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Gauntenlet

by Waave - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I felt rushed during this competition, I had to take a lot of breaks due to other conflicts. As a result, there is no music and the sound effects are not up to standard.

Press M to turn off all sound.

Enjoy the game! I made it sort of hard, and I know you all don't want to spend ages on every game, but I hope someone finds it fun enough to play to the end!

--EDIT--
Ironically I just discovered a bug that means you can't beat the game after your first try. I will fix it at some point in the future, no time in the next few days.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#158Graphics3.66
#347Fun3.19
#365Overall3.25
#380Mood2.96
#420Theme3.31
#442Audio2.74
#531Humor2.26
#667Innovation2.81

Comments

djbriandamage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:35am

fun little platformer with good controls

nikkesen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:36am

Ignoring the bug, it's an interesting game.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49am

would like to fall faster, also I got into a bug, in the U lvl I got down, destroyed a wall by mistake and got stuck there

jprogman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03am

Would be nice to have more checkpoints between harder rooms. It does get quite annoying when playing two or three rooms in a row. Otherwise, nice game.

disdanes says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

Enjoyed the graphics and the levels. Neat little game!

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

No linux version sorry :(

The Jahn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08am

a few bugs but all in all a good game.

zzForrest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

This game was pretty cool, very fun and showed the theme well. It was solid, tight, and very capable of being one of my favorite entries yet.
Until that one level where you had to avoid the walls. 4/5 overall.

Waave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23am

My apologies, playing Dark Souls does things to people ;)

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:04am

Love the retro style

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Neat game! Specially considering you didn't have all the time available to you. Good job, i liked the visuals and although the controls could be a little tighter it's not like the game's unplayable or anything. Bugs aside, good game!

onzephyr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:21pm

nice style. controls rather well. nicely done overall.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Reminds me of the C64. I really enjoy retro games. Nice work!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:58pm

I really like it, and I don't think it's too hard. At least the first few levels (not sure how many there are - I couldn't get past the falling-through-the-ground one since there was no "coin" and in the end I was set back to an earlier level every time). I'm quite impressed by the graphical style, it looks very nice and fleshed-out and there's much more detail than I'd expect by such a game.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:24am

Love the audio style, the graphics, and the smoothness of the jumping animation. Great presentation! The illusionary blocks and changing mechanics were cool too. Bugs notwithstanding, I very much enjoyed this. Thanks for putting it together!

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:27am

Cool platformer! It gets quite challenging towards the end. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]