August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Run You Fool, You're Gonna Miss Your Train!

by tiagosr - Jam Entry

Made with love, and lots of coffee =)
I thought I'd submit in time for the compo, but I still want to add a lot of things, and I'm here for making games, not competing, so this goes for the jam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#125Theme(Jam)3.47
#268Graphics(Jam)3.35
#367Fun(Jam)2.73
#430Innovation(Jam)2.60
#472Overall(Jam)2.69
#476Audio(Jam)1.87
#1672Coolness26%

Comments

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:40am

The train sound scared the crap out of me, but the graphics in this game and the pseudo-isometric feel are a nice touch.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:39am

Hehe cool gameplay, it remember me when I try to catch the subway ;) The train sound is a little bit scary !

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:46am

Fun! But too short..
The graphics are ok, but could be better (regarding colors and details). I missed an explanation of the controls. The sound which is played when arriving at the train isn't satisfying me at all.

CuberToy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:48am

Funny little runner, well executed. It's a one shot, well done. The isometric graphics are weird though and yeah, the train sound is scary !

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Nice job mate! A little more polish and more levels, and this could be fantastic!

tiagosr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Thanks guys! Yeah, I want to add some explanation of the controls, some obstacles and more stages before the deadline. And about the train noise, it's surprising that it is scary, but I bet it's not even half as scary as the door-closing-notice horn that inspired it - the one in Rio de Janeiro metropolitan trains =) But I'll see to that!

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Great idea, wish there were more levels. I like the graphics.

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:24am

I really liked the idea, but I think that the game needed more levels. Or people to push around.
The train sound make feel a Space Odyssey vibe and I thought that was going into a existential train trip. :P

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:17pm

What there is is good. But (like other commenters) I'd like to see more levels... will we be seeing a post-jam version?

tiagosr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:58pm

@PTSnoop - yes! I'm working on it right now, adding stages and some obstacles like other people and vending machines, and I'll post it up here pretty soon. Thanks!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:43am

Sadly, it neither works on my WinXP PC nor on my Vista Laptop. =/

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:56am

Well, that was short. Played it three times, just to be sure I didnt miss anything :D I like the pixel art. The beep of the train was horrifying! :P

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:58am

easy & short, i like graphics, dont have music and the sound of the train is bad :/. Good job about gameplay, intuitive and works fine. Good work

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:50pm

I wish there were different levels but I understand the time restraint. If you lose, you just sort of run over the area that the buss was at before it restarts... however, I featured it in my compilation video of Ludum dare 27 games, if you'd like to check it out http://youtu.be/PSym67k7zBg

tiagosr says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:42am

@ShellfishGames sorry about that - I packaged the Windows version with the standard version 0.8.0 of Löve (http://www.love2d.org), and the linux version is the .love package that runs in any of the OSes... Could you check if the standard install of Löve works with you?
@kristof, @Pixelfan Games - thanks!
@Jupiter_Hadley thanks for the feature! I'm sorry I couldn't fix it up in time for the compo, the stuff I thought would be quick to fix ended up not so. But I'm doing a post-jam version, I liked what I came up with and think there's a lot of potential!

tiagosr says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:45am

s/fix it up for the compo/fix it up for the jam/g
I guess there's some trouble with the character encoding in the text boxes, typing the o with umlaut does send the correct unicode character, but the site doesn't specify unicode encoding for it's text.

alts says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Excellent premise for a game. Nice way to incorporate the theme. Can you actually collide with the stands? Only suggestions I can think of are a satisfying splat sound if you hit the train after the doors close, and maybe replacing the green tiles with slow crowds. Well done.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:08pm

One level and no way to restart? :) Nice start. I'd work on it more. It has nice art and a great premise all can understand. You can add lots of things to dodge and jump over and have a really nice runner.

cardboard says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:54am

The graphics and player animations are wonderful. The train sound effect is interesting. I wish there were more levels to play, as it was quite entertaining to play and watch.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]