August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds

by rogueNoodle - Jam Entry

*** Check out the play-through video above! ***

A quick platformer built for speed-runs. Each of the 10 levels has 10 shards that must be collected to reveal the exit. Reaching the exit before time runs out will award points based on the time remaining.

Falling out of the level, running out of time, or landing on spikes fails the level, but the game continues until all levels have been played.

Beware of the time bandits - these skull-like baddies increase the rate at which time passes while in contact with them.

Each level earns you 1 point per millisecond left on the clock. If you have over 10 seconds left at the end of a level, you'll earn 10 points for each additional millisecond! That's exciting!

Controls:
Move - left/right arrow, a/d keys, or left analog stick
Run - left-shift or right trigger button
Jump - space, up arrow, or 'A' button
Wall-jump - jump while in contact with a wall


BEST PLAYED WITH AN XBOX CONTROLLER - seriously, you'll do way better if you have one...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#46Audio(Jam)3.70
#65Graphics(Jam)4.20
#92Fun(Jam)3.47
#118Overall(Jam)3.50
#214Mood(Jam)3.13
#240Humor(Jam)2.62
#255Theme(Jam)3.17
#475Innovation(Jam)2.47

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:44am

Nice game à la super meat boy ! Music is cool, graphics are nice ! The sound effects are a little bit loud but overall, great game !

jerombd says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03am

I like that the game continue even if you failed!
Great bouncy audio track!

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:28am

Very nice graphics and sounds I like it!

wine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:35am

I died a hundred times ... But there was a lot of fun )
Nice graphics!

Spotline says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:49am

Nice game with awesome graphic style :)

BenWhi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:28pm

I love countdown + collect platformers like this. Simple + lots of fun! Graphics + music look and sound great!

deammer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Convincing graphics, great concept and execution. Controls are super tight on an xbox controller. The fact that you keep going even after failing a level is really cool.

Would adding a "restart level" key break the flow of the game?

lesterpig says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Nice game but I'm stuck at 0 points o_o

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Thanks everyone!

@archaeometrician - Yeah, I agree about the sound effects. Tried it with some different headphones this morning and that airhorn was enough to drive me crazy ;)

@wine - Only a hundred? Great job!

@deammer - I'm glad you got to try it with an Xbox controller - it really does make all the difference. My original goal was to have two game modes - a mode for time trials, keeping track of each level separately, and then the one-shot per level score attack. Only the latter made it in though - ran out of time :P

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:00pm

@Lesterpig - I'm guessing you only have the keyboard to use? Yeah, it's a lot trickier, sorry :( Thanks for trying it though!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Added a play-through video on Youtube for the curious:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1evSPBzy70s

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Love the art style! Please add gamepad support. Overall, nice job!

Zuige says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Nice little game! :) The xbox controls haven't been mapped for mac unfortunately. There's no jump, but the left stick works. Keyboard worked just fine though. :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11pm

@IHateATMFees - Thanks! Any gamepad in particular? It works great with an Xbox controller on Windows 7, but unfortunately that's as much testing as time allowed for :P

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Beautiful, love the grafix, good music, nice one :)

vladimirdlc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Interesting graphics, I am curious about your approach to handle deads as you change the level even if you die or fall.
The music good and effects, but maybe changing the pitch or the volume of the louder notes may make it more pleasant.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:12pm

@Zuige - ah, will see what I can do about the Mac controls. Thanks for checking it out and letting me know!

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:18pm

I really like the artwork and that the game keeps going and there is no stop in play.

thanks for making.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Great design and music! Fun game!

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Very cool, very playable platformer. I like the concept with dying and still continuing the levels, but somehow being able to replay a level in the same run would have been nice.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Excellent in every aspect! The level design is simple and funny, and sound effects is epic! I really enjoy this game! Well done~

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Wow loving this. Great style graphics and a well done platformer! good work :D

blackotus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Nice graphics and soundtrack!
Solid and challenging platforming too!

Tifu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Very slidy! I think I only reached one level flag using the keyboard, tried again with Xbox pad and did a lot better :D
Though the game lists previous high score as "100,000" and I didn't get anywhere close to that :P

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:33pm

@Tifu - yeah, I messed up the scoring system. I meant to have 10,000 points as the starting point, not 100,000 :P It will start keeping track of your score if/once you get over that, though ;) Thanks for playing!

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Pretty much a perfect LD entry for me! Very enjoyable, will try again later with controller. Graded low on innovation but high on pretty much everything else.

Kudos & keep that stuff coming!

The Jahn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:04am

Pretty smooth controls. Well done.

REIN1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Very nice graphic and smooth controls~

targaciej says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Challenging gameplay. Great art and music. Reminds me of super meat boy. Great job!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Love the textures and the level design, how they are words. and the fact that when you die you go to a new level. I would maybe slow down things though or make the moving less sensitive, because i could only beat the first level, then kept on repeatedly dying after that.

Entity2D says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:07pm

I love the graphical style in this game, great work!

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:17am

Nice, very coherent experience. Oddly enough the first speedrunning based game I've found this compo.

Not sure how I feel about the level switching after death, makes it very hard to progress. Maybe that adds to the overall experience, come to think of it?

pereubu says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:48pm

as frustrating and enjoyable as a meat boy. I don't know if the restart countdown is was necessary. In a game where you can die so fast, it's probably more comfortable to restart almost instantly. What's your point of view on that 3: ?

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:03pm

SUPER frustrating controls, man! I don't know if it's me, but I really hated how the character controlled. Otherwise I liked the sounds, visuals, and level designs. Well done for 72hrs, but needed more testing when it came to the control :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:08pm

good job

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Such a well designed game. Not having to try again immediately the same level was such a good choice! Solid controls with very pleasing graphics. Some of the sounds were a bit annoying but I can forgive that when the game is this good. Great job!

Antidote says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:37am

I love the graphics :O the texture added a lot to it ^^

Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Very, VERY cute awesome game. I love it. I featured it in my Ludum dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yp9ky-3J3J4

Surrealix says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:35am

It would be cool if you could release a windows version for us poor souls who can't use the web player!

bassarisse says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 11:58am

Super cool! Loved the music and the sound effects.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Love the graphics and fun game play.

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:26pm

As archaeometrician has said, it does remind me of Super Meat Boy. It's hard to believe all was made within the 72 hours...

Neil says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:08pm

This was great! Cute graphics, responsive controls. Quite difficult, I am terrible at platformers :(

Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:14pm

This game is awesome. Great controls, art, and music! Very very solid entry. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]