August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Duel

by zlowrance - Jam Entry

Duel is a round based multiplayer 1v1 duel game. When you click "Duel for honor" you will be matched with a human opponent("Him"). If no human opponents are available, you will be matched with an AI("It").You can choose one Pose and one Shoot Direction per round, and these are played out simultaneously when the round timer finishes counting down. Each round is 10 seconds long. Have fun and good luck out there!

UPDATE - 8/27/2013
All updates only apply to Kongregate link. Dropbox link will remain the original.
-Added "Allow Bots" button so you can choose to play against bots or only play against players(NOTE: if you choose to not play against bots you could be sitting in a lobby for quite awhile do to low traffic)
-Improved matchmaking functionality

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#92Audio(Jam)3.51
#130Humor(Jam)3.04
#153Mood(Jam)3.28
#191Fun(Jam)3.17
#192Overall(Jam)3.34
#214Innovation(Jam)3.15
#245Theme(Jam)3.19
#308Graphics(Jam)3.20

Comments

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:46am

A fun little game, though mostly luck it seems. Would have enjoyed trying multiplayer, but no one was available.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:29am

Simple controls yet a very fun game =D

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:57am

i really like this. is it actually working with matchmaking? great job

Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58am

A really cute idea! I like the UI for choosing your moves and the music.

Adjotur says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:59am

Fun game, got to play 1 multiplayer game but I guess the guy didn't know how to play, because he never shot back :(

Fervir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:00am

Really cool game.
Very nice asthetics and presentation.

Finn Stokes says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:01am

Cool concept, I like the use of semi-synchronous multiplayer.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:04am

Well done! Fun RPS-like gameplay. Also I'm amazed to see online multiplayer in a Ludum Dare entry. Since I'm guessing most people are playing and rating games alone, that's a killer feature for a multiplayer-only game.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Great game!

zzForrest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:56pm

3/5, nice entry. It was pretty fun, but unfortunately, matchmaking seems to not work. I didn't really like the graphics, but the sound was pretty nice. The theme wasn't well implemented to me, but that's just my opinion.

CuberToy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Funny thing is, this is not the first duel game I've this for this ludumdare an they're all different. Great little game, nice to play, really cool overall.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Took a while :) But nice idea

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Thanks for all the great feedback guys! For those having trouble with the matchmaking, I have made some improvements to it in the Kongregate link. The original did work but there were very small areas of time for you to actually find a player if you were playing against bots. The addition of the "Allow Bots" checkbox has alleviated this problem. If you Disallow bots you are guaranteed to get matched with a player eventually(if there ARE other players in the network, that is). Please be patient though if you choose to turn off bots, low player traffic could cause the waits to be a little long.

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Kinda like a cooler rock, paper, scissors. Coulda used some animations for gun shots.

EncryptedCow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:09pm

It was an okay game. It seems to be based on luck and I ended up only playing a couple rounds.

johnfn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Clever idea, nice graphics and nice music! Though if you fire straight while jumping, aren't you actually firing up? :D

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Music is the best part :D Graphics are also dope. game is fun. All in all win win win

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Interesting concept!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:47am

This is a lot of fun, really like the style and the spaghetti western soundtrack. I've played a few duel games by now, and it's great that everyone's put their own spin on it. Great job!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:44am

Was a very amusing game! Music was great

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:36am

Really like it, but it's too much luck based and no skill at all.

bombjack says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:26am

Great time waster! simple but fun !

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Awesome music and nice graphics. Gameplay is a little bit lackluster, but it's certainly fun in multiplayer.

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Nice idea and concept. You could work more in the game play.
But well made.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:42pm

I like the concept, really nice !

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Great idea! :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:09pm

good job

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Awesome and fun! Good job.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:52pm

That was great, perfect music and nice game play.

tchem says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:29pm

good work man,,,, graphics, atmosphere, sound, !!!!

panurge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Cool soundtrack and a nice mechanic. It could have used some shooting sounds and animations but it was fun to play.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Fantastic job on the art and music! First time seeing the tumbleweed roll by was great :0) Not sure if it was the AI (I assume so), but making sure the AI does not pick combos like duck and shoot down would be good. Again, Great job!

immanuela says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Haha, I like this idea. I've seen a decision type game but not quite like this and the controls were much easier. Great job!

whiteravens says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:22pm

The feel is really good, very simple variation from Rock Paper Scissors. Maybe some hints on what the AI will do next will make it better! :)

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Good game when you have someone to play it with. Nice entry!

boneloaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Excellent, high drama with very atmospheric sound and music (and horribly brutal violence).

flavio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Nice work !
Loved the mechanic of it, simple but efficient :)
Nice design and sound

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:00am

Really nice game here, very well polished.. seen a lot of these dueling games and this is one of the better ones. I rated highly. :)

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:01am

Clever game. Loved the duel music + trying to figure out which combination to make.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:23am

Too luck-based for my taste, but still, well done.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:37am

Rockin fine game! You just made my best of LD27 list!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:12am

You Swine!! good job!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:20am

Nice implementation, interesting to see that there is so much that can be done with the duel idea. In the end it is just a bit more complicated rock paper scissor though.

truiton says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:36am

A cool game, luck is a big part of the gameplay, but controls are very simple :)

alvivar says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:31am

fun++

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:58pm

I really liked the concept for this!! Although it sucks I couldn't find a human opponent to play against : ( Cool idea!

Andrew says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:17pm

It would have been nice to have some indicator to your remaining health/number of rounds. If there was one I missed it.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:29pm

I love the music! Couldn't play multiplayer, but the VS. CPU mode was pretty cool.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Good game !

mboaj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Really nice! :) I enjoyed it a lot. Unfortunately I did not catch up with a player but had to use the "AI" :) I guess that there is not much reasoning in the AI brain right for such a quick reactive game :D

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Awesome music! Interesting gameplay as well. Sadly i lost defending my honor :(

esayitch says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Stylish graphics and appropriate sound... Fun little diversion :D

odeckers says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:00pm

The multiplayer is a cool twist. The music and graphics give a great atmosphere

Makio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Best music and soudn design so far ! fun game , i wanna see it on ipad / iphone :)

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:03am

Totally brilliant. Double rock-paper-scissors.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:45am

Very neat idea. The music and art style meshed very well.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:41am

The game's very cute. The music provided a great atmosphere. I didn't get any player's to shoot against, but yeah it was still fun trying to predict the AI's moves. I love the trash talk they indulge in before the duel.

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:43am

Nice idea to expand on the classic rock, paper, scissors formula. The ten second timer felt just right. However, it seemed like I was able to win (or draw) most of the time with the Duck/Fire Forward combo.

mklee says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:40am

Really great execution! You really nailed all the small details here. The only thing I wish you would have added was some small "tells" for the AI characters to know what their next move might be.

ShitAndSon says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:18am

The gameplay is cool and the online can be cool.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:51am

Haha, duel games are always fun. This one is pretty simple and there's not much to it, but good job regardless.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:59am

Even with the randomness it's enjoyable to play. The audio is very minimalist but well picked.

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:36am

Nice luck-based game! wondering what jump+shoot up is for... :D

Capro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:33am

Great music!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Great idea for a dueling game. It seemed a bit too much based on luck and playing against AI wasn't that fun. Loved the music!

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:27pm

All in all quite fun. I didn't like that I couldn't change my mind once I'd clicked a card, but that's life. Well done.

Webravenz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:15pm

fun game ;)

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:33pm

This is fun! Must be pretty cool to play with another human player, too!

Nice job!

parrotlord says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Loved it!

tigerj says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Yomi comes to mind.

really cool concept. It would be neat if some of the abilities had cooldowns and some worked better than others against different types. for example jumping and firing does less damage, and ducking takes lest damage than standing or jumping.

overall a real fun play. nice game and good job.

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:54pm

I like the idea of the turn based rock-paper-scissor-like gameplay. The music is awesome!

gravyhands says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Really nicely presented, though not much reason to keep coming back.

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:14am

Great mood, specially with the music. Too bad I didn't find anybody online to play with. Sound even more fun. You did a very nice job. I've been saying this to a lot of games, but I can totally see this on mobile. "Challenge your friends" "Buy clothing!"

nolann says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:35am

Great but I didn't get to do multiplayer

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:47am

Great music and art. I was confused for a while as it wasn't obvious that the blue cards were for me, so I never knew how to shoot. Putting them on that side of the screen made me think they were for the other player.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:24am

This game feels too luck-based. Maybe it's cause I'm not playing a human?

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:07am

Great idea!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Sound wondiful! Cowboys is pretty cute! Multiplayer is so fresh, good job!!

Antidote says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Nice game. Love the idea of multiplayer :) The ten seconds wait to choose cards might be too slow, though. I'd rather have a faster pace for this kind of game.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:30pm

I died defending my honour! Nice twist on rock-paper-scissors style of game, but inevitably luck based which I'm not too big a fan of. Nice art and the music/sound was very good, particularly for the setting. Also liked the little taunts.

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:26pm

This is an extremely nice concept that is also very well polished. It's like an advanced version of Rock Paper Scissor.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Pretty fun game!
Good graphics and music. Need to read the mind of your opponent.

infernet89 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:54am

Awesome game! Love the card-based looks you gave to control system! Too bad that some combination are totally useless (like duck and fire down, for example)

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Was allright, seemed rather random thouhg

Snail_Man says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Nice game! The AI seemed to jump way too much though, and I couldn't figure out how to hit him when he was.

jijaweb says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Nice concept. Simple but great.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Being multiplayer is impressive, wish it was a bit more complex.

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:58am

Wish more were on multiplayer, really fun!

rujo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:28am

great entry. I love the idea and I love the style.

cappelnord says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:06pm

nice take on rock, paper, scissor. I really liked the music. It's also great that it's multiplayer (even though I played the AI).

Sestren says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:54am

Love the music. It really adds a lot to the atmosphere of the game. The heartbeat during the countdown is an excellent touch, as well. Great game.

DuFF says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:38pm

One of my favorite entries. Simple. Great audio. Very well done.

Merudo says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:40pm

This is like Kongai except with a different theme, worst graphics, fewer options and no strategy (everything is 100% luck based).

Moreover the relationship with the theme feels quite weak - shooting a gun does not take 10 seconds.

Merudo says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Also 10 seconds is too much for a turn, it doesn't really work well.

Ossi says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:01am

Simple and really fun! Fantastic concept! I love the dialogue between the two guys and the potential depth of the pose and direction you shoot really gives the game a lot of strategy. The only downside is since you can't really pair up with someone you know it feels a bit random playing against strangers or the AI. Having some sort of way to identify players allows for more mind games. Also the art style is really neat, great job!

Mesene says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Was nice! did you implemented some statistical IA?

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Really nice! Multiplayer was a nice touch. :)

REIN1 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:00am

Is this a real multiplayer game? Good job!

zequack says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Simple, sober and nice :)
I really like it !

Jason says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Cool idea. I like the idea of using cards to pick action. I tried to do something like that in my game, but it was too random and didn't work out as I pictured. Also liked your rock paper scissors thinking!

X-0r says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Rock-Paper-Scissors all the way ^_^

Would be nice, if it was possible to change the decision, if you misclicked (then again, the hole in the cards make it even *look* like a final decision^^)

Nice background music, btw =)

Mekuri says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:09am

A fun little game. Maybe a bit too much wait time, but I had the same problem with my game :P I really liked the mood and the graphics. The music was fun. The tumbleweed in the background was a nice touch.

Good game!

stenol says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Very funny game. Love the music and the idea. Good use of the theme. Great work !

char68 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:59pm

The graphics and audio were great, but the gameplay felt a bit lacking. It kinda felt like rock-paper-scissors, except sometimes scissors doesn't beat paper because paper was ducking, you know what I mean? :)

frogmaster says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 10:35am

Best music ever!

porglezomp says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:41pm

The music and art are great, but the 10 seconds felt too long, and it felt like quite a lot of luck.

Grafter says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Simple, good, enjoyable!

wbobeirne says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:46am

This is the essence of LD. Short and simple, but brilliantly done. Loved it.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:28am

That was really fun! Loved it :D

Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:38pm

A very basic but well executed idea. Cute graphics, and awesome music. Nice job!

ENDESGA says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:34am

hahahahaa, very fun :)

-ENDESGA

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]