August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

2-D Alien Invasion

by Hackingroelz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WASD to move, P to switch dimensions. Aliens have stolen the third dimension for some reason and for some reason you can go back into the third dimension for 10 seconds every level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#959Innovation2.38
#1051Graphics2.00
#1160Overall2.07
#1170Theme1.80
#1177Fun1.67
#1613Coolness30%

Comments

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:42pm

OMG finally some innovate idea :) I like the mechanics, aliens are sometimes hard to avoid, you have to be clever ;)

lesterpig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Can't play to this game ...
org.newdawn.slick.SlickException: VERTEX_SHADER compile log:
Vertex shader failed to compile with the following errors:
ERROR: 0:1: '' : Version number not supported by GL2
ERROR: compilation errors. No code generated.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:45pm

I liked the music at the beginning, I'd like to have heard it playing during the rest of the game too.

choqaae says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:47pm

I can't run it...

HunLyxxod says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56pm

I can't run the game on one of my PC. I have only a black screen with a music.

Hackingroelz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:56pm

@lesterpig try the new version uses an older glsl version. Also added an OS X version and added a batch file to the windows version so you can see the error.

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42pm

the osx version does not work :(

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:05am

There seems to be quite a lot of dead ends. Decent platforming.

GigaBass says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:54am

Cannot play: just a black screen!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Just have to say: Best running animation ever. :) One critique though is that the sprites could use smaller hit areas.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Glitchy, but cool to! Didn't get the use for the third dimension however...

thetheodor98 says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:24am

Broken on windows, black screen with music

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Couldn't lauch the game with windows.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]