August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 second roguelike

by jackyjjc - Jam Entry

You are trapped in a dungeon which full of monsters. Can you survive for 10 seconds?

The game was initially designed with leveling system and inventory system which is like a proper roguelike. However since I was busy moving to the new place I rent during the weekend therefore I don't have too much time to finish it. Instead I turned it into a short and intense survival game. Hope you enjoy :)

Control:
Up, Down, Left, Right.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#255Theme(Jam)3.17
#356Graphics(Jam)3.00
#418Fun(Jam)2.61
#446Innovation(Jam)2.57
#450Overall(Jam)2.74
#486Mood(Jam)2.31
#1477Coolness36%

Comments

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:45pm

I'm hitting enter but nothing his happening.

DaVince says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Thought the game was broken until I learned that you need to press space to start...

Gameplay is very simple! I managed to win after a few tries, but after that the game just kind of restarts. Could have had several levels, just to give the player a feeling he's getting somewhere, and to make us a bit more competitive to post our scores on here. ;)

I like the gameplay. You basically have to scramble as soon as possible to get a sword and shield or you are doomed. I like that. Takes some figuring out and some quick thinking. But still, this could have been much more, I think!

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:54pm

@Noah Sorry it was a mistake I made. I I already fixed it

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:59pm

@DaVince

Thank you for liking the game :D This is my first finished game since i learned java game programming and the weekend was pretty busy for me but I still managed to put in a lot of hours into making this. I totally agreed with you I could have done more and have more levels. I will continue working on the game after the Jam :)

Tifu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Good idea, would be nice if you could change which goblin you are attacking, the game seems to just assign one that approaches you, but sometimes you want to kill the one that is blocking your path to a pretty open area. Would have made the game more strategical.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Yeahh I survived the game for 10 seconds at the first try.... but it was luck... i tried not to fight... i tried to run like hell... success :D Cool game

bitowl says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:43pm

really cool game, that makes you feel how long ten seconds can be. Would like to see a post compo version with more levels and stuff <3

Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Nifty! At first I thought it was almost impossible to win, but I finally did! Kinda addictive, and very well made!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Really hard game, but very addicting. I like it. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1OMEshCeQ0

Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:17am

Haha good old clusterf***.
Some abilities other than movement would have been fun, like aoe magic attacks and such.
Really cool!

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:50am

I couldn't win in many attempts. But I can see that is a good simple idea. Just needs polish.

hbocao says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:37am

I won on my first try! Then I lost FOREVER. This was the last straw: http://i.imgur.com/J5zKeVX.png I hate you! hahaah
Very cool entry. Loved the graphics.

Terrabyte says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:12am

I CAN'T WIN THIS GAME!
Awesome nonetheless! :)

bassarisse says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:50am

What a hard little game, ut took me a while to figure out how to kill those damn goblins! haha Well, maybe a separate button to attack would've been better.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]