August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Frantic

by Joritan Cety - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Join a frantic run with time and enemies!
Kill or avoid your enemies and reach the exit before time runs out.

You are on an island and have 10 seconds to get to the exit. Otherwise you return to the start of current level. The islands are invaded by enemies, that will kill you if you get close to them. You must balance time spent clearing the island from enemies and running.

Description and controls are in "help" menu.
Arrows - movement
Space or left mouse button - attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#94Theme3.76
#101Audio3.46
#105Fun3.57
#188Overall3.48
#265Mood3.14
#352Humor2.63
#498Graphics2.97
#582Innovation2.92

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:24am

Hey nice little game ! Music and sound are good, the difficulty is just perfect.

Kevlanche says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:28am

Nice! The music and level design was good. The color palette was excellent! The only thing that felt strange was the hitbox when you attacked. It felt kind of small (compared to the animation).

Lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:45am

That was by far the most satisfying sword swing for pixelated player!

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Fun game! I loved the pixelated grass, and like the person above me said, the sword swing just felt right.
My only complaint is that it was too short! :)

ben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Cool idea, I really like the look and feel though the bird noise was a little annoying. There needs to be some way to get health back because it really sucked being stuck at one health.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:51pm

The game looks really nice, but you should improve the collision a bit... (I just want to finish the game! :O)

Great job! :D

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:54pm

The game is nice, especially the music. hitboxes are a bit frustrating but it didn't make me rage quit :)

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:55pm

I was a bit astonished about the rather large filesize for a small game - then again, you used .wav as a soundformat. That explains it :D
It was extremely fun to play through the levels. The hardest one was I think 2 before the end, where you actually had to move diagonally and only had one opponent.
Nice go for a minigame!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Liked the sound effects a lot! The sword swing was good, but as Kevlanche said, the hitbox felt off.
I think you did a good job on the characters as well. They're pretty cute.
And yeah, very nice difficulty actually!

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Quite hard but it was fun to learn how to master the timing of the knife attack.
Level 3 or 4 (the first time where you have to go around the top) I finally beat in arounr 9.999 seconds :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Nice work!!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Nice game, like the music and the levels really explore all aspects of the game.

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Great game!

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:51pm

This kicks ass! More levels please. It's a swashbuckling hotline Miami.

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Completed the game :) I enjoyed it quite a bit. The game had a very cool fast-paced feeling to it and was very smooth and responsive. Also, the feel of the sword swinging was excellent! The runs could get quite intensive at times, and I feel there's much potential for making more puzzle-like action scenarios within the levels.

I do have one complaint when it comes to the controls though. The collision of the sword hitting enemies felt a bit off and random at times. Sometimes I didn't hit the enemies at all when I felt it should have, so that did cause a bit of frustration on the levels with a lot of enemies.

Another thing I found fun was the seemingly mix of feelings I got them the menu of the game versus the gameplay. The menu had a very sort of dark and horror-like music and graphical style going, while the actual gameplay seemed more colorful and the music more action-packed. Not really a criticism, just a note I found to be quite funny :)

All in all though, the game was very enjoyable. Good job!

Riley Hume says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Fun game, but incredibly difficult due to the crappy hitboxes. Lovely audio though, I loved the music!

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:52pm

nice work, fun game, and nice application of the theme

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:58pm

That was fun! Sounds and music are very nice and the difficulty is good. As other said, I just found the hitbox quite buggy (bigger than the actual sprite).

urth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Played it through.
Nice game!

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49pm

5 Stars for graphics, love that style. hitboxes are a little off, but after a wile I ott it

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Good work!

Omnus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17pm

I won! Definitely some tough levels in there!

irl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Excellent game. Did the first few levels OK but then ran into trouble beating the four-in-a-row. It seems I was dying too easily. Loved the sword swing animation and sound effects.

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Overall, I liked this game - just very hard =)

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Nicely polsihed Game and very well done :) but I got stuck at one level, simply wasn't able to make it to the exit in time. Overall a 8/10

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21pm

A bit chaotic at times (just timing strikes is painful sometimes), but very fast and quite fun :D.

ezolotko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Fun to play

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:28pm

nice little game, I was disappointed by reaching the last level, wanted the fun to continue :)

choqaae says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Great game! I like the sound and graphics

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Game crashes as soon as I open it...

bufbot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Very Nice work ! The music, the level desingm the menu, very fun !

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Very short but fun!

Tegu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:44pm

This is fun! The sword attack hitbox was a bit weird at times, so backing and swinging was a good tactic if straight running didn't work. I liked that you could take multiple enemies down with one swing.
I tried to make files named level9 to the level folder in hope that the would load it, but it didn't. :( Would have been fun to add levels. Ofc that can be modified on the source if wanted to.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:59am

Pretty good, especially sound and music. And thumbs up for the options menu! :D

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Great game! I really liked the concept, and the execution was great.

The only thing that feels bit off is the hit detection.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Nice idea. The graphics are simple, but the color palette makes it very beautiful. I loved the sword swing animation, it was just perfect, and the sound for it was awesome.
It was a bit confusing to hit with the sword though, it didn't quite fit the animation it seems.
All in all, a good game. Good job!

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Fun game, but has some issues. For example, you can't hit enemies that have walked inside of you.

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Very nice feel to it.

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:50pm

The clock image ruins the overall pixel-look :-)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42pm

hey joritan its really cool seeing a lwjgl entry. I enjoyed it, your right about the title I have to really time my attacks

Canobie says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:43am

Definitely one of the best games I've played so far! Good job!

neekobus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:07pm

That is really simple... but efficient : I just wanted to finish it (and I did) :)
Looks like the enemy can hurt the hero a bit too early.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Excellent game! Simple and playable. Well done!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:22am

Fun! The collisions were a bit off, but it was really satisfying to get a feel for the timing of your attack. I found it was sometimes a better idea to avoid enemies instead of engaging a big group. The front-end menu is a really nice touch, too. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]